We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Poor Management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef at South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Reef at South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Reef at South Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Richmond
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Poor Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our room was great, a little dated but very clean. The pool was large and clean as well. The upper arking deck was reserved for motorcycles only! Which meant that even though we paid just like them we had to park two blocks down and across the street in the other parking deck. The night time lady manager was very rude to us about where we should park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear great hotel, poor management.
Thank you for staying at the Reef. We appreciated you noting that your hotel room was great and that the pool areas were clean. We regret that we did not meet your expectations in regard to parking. During bike events, the hotel is full, and we attempt to reserve bike parking to maximize the parking spaces for everyone. By doing this, two bikes can occupy one space. We also require the towing trailers to be parked in a different lot, again, to free up spaces.

All of the staff and manager's at the Reef are there to assist our guests, and again we are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    75
    32
    40
    70
See reviews for
150
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to mytle beach and we stayed here all three times. We love this hotel, the price is great. The hotel is a little older, but we are not there to stay in the room. The rooms have always been very clean and the staff goes out of their way to help you. The last time we stayed we had booked a room with a pull out sofabed, when we arrived they said the washing machine was being fixed and they were short on pillow cases and linens for the sofabed. We asked to speak to the manager explaining we did not bring sheets with us. Jeff the manager on duty apologized a couple of times and immediately upgraded our room to one with 4 beds and a full kitchen. Lets just say we were very happy and it saved our vacation. we stay here whenever we are in myrtle beach. If you want a cheap,clean oceanfront room with freindly helpfull staff this is the place and we can't wait to go back. Hope this helps someone, The Kershner's

Room Tip: All rooms are great, If something is wrong don't hesitate to ask the staff they always try to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear love this hotel,
We truly appreciate your business and thank you for returning to the Reef again. We apologize for the inconvenience of not having sofa bed linen in your room. Thank you for acknowledging the staff member who promptly resolved the issue. We hope that you made wonderful memories during your vacation, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We recently stayed at The Reef for a long weekend. I must say that the staff was great! The kids had an awesome time and the Manager often asked how we were enjoying ourselves. We will absolutely be visiting The Reef on our next trip to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Had a Blast,
Thank you for choosing the Reef Resort, and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we sincerely appreciated your business. Thank you for acknowledging the staff, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlet,NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My son is on a baseball travel team and we have stayed at alot of hotels. I must say my stay here was the BEST yet! The staff there was very friendly and greeted you every time they passed. Managment was also very, very friendly. My first stay here the manager showed us where the pool was and the game room, you don't find that often in managment. They really made us feel welcomed each time we stayed there. I will be staying here again when I come back to Mrytle Beach. Thanks to all the staff at The Reef!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Loved Staying at the Reef,
We appreciated the opportunity to earn your business, and thank you for staying with us. As a traveling parent with a sports team, you stay in a lot of hotels, so your review was very meaningful for the entire team. Thank you for letting other sports team parent's know that the Reef has a gameroom and an indoor heated pool that is ideal for youth teams. We hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoy coming to the beach. Everyyear I have a girls weekend this year we really enjoyed everything. The rooms are spaciious enjoyed the kitchen area. The view of the ocean is perfect couldn't ask for anything better. Each employee has been very nice to us an I plan on coming back here each year with my girlfriends. Value, spacious rooms, friendly employees, pool, hot tub, sitting ocean front you can't ask for anything better.

Christi Craig
Lexington, SC

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Awesome Place,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. The entire Reef team loves being a part of celebrations, and how lovely that you and your friends could come to the beach to celebrate friendship. The oceanfront views from the private balconies provide the perfect setting. We hope that you and your friends will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The room was very nice and clean. They staff was extremely helpful and very kind felt very comfortable and felt like we were at a home atmosphere. The management (especially Aaron) was very helpful and answered every question we asked and more...we would definately go back again and again...
This was our second stay,,,things were in walking distance and parking was great...we were quite impressed by the heated pool and hottub (which was indoors) since we were there for the whole month of february, they also have an outdoor pool which will be nice for a summer visit.
We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony.....a 5 star rating from us

Room Tip: 9th floor was great which is where we stayed both times
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Slivy502,
Thank you for spending the month at the Reef Resort. We hope that you left revived and relaxed. We appreciated you taking the time to write a review and thank you for acknowledging the team and Aaron. We are fortunate to have a customer focused team at the Reef. Sometimes, we are remiss in mentioning that our location is central to many attractions and restaurants. Thank you for pointing that out. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We checked in March 1 and stayed for the month of March. We have previously stayed here in March for several years. The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. Our 1 bedroom suite was clean with new furniture and stove. We really like the central location of the property, the ocean front balcony and nice pools, also the proximity of the parking lots to the elevators and rooms. You don't have to walk a huge distance to reach any amenity. We have already booked for next March. If you're looking for The Ritz, this isn't it. But we've always found The Reef to be clean, friendly, helpful and affordable. We are already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Diana C.
Thank you for spending the month of March at the Reef. We appreciate your business, and thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. While the Reef is not the newest hotel on the oceanfront the staff takes great pride in it's cleanliness and the guest experience. Thank you for acknowledging the staff and their efforts. We'll see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reef at South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Address: 2101 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#91 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#91 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef at South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.