We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware-unwelcoming-dirty room w/broken doors-not worth the price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms
2500 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
xxxx
1 review
“beware-unwelcoming-dirty room w/broken doors-not worth the price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We drove 11 hours with our children only to find a dirty hotel/room. The check in staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming. As always we checked the room before we moved in and it was undescribably dirty, the bi-fold closet door was hanging off the hinges and the wood was broken. The sliding door to the balcony wouldn't open. The refridgerater was dirty/old like the rest of the kitchen and the bathroom well we just won't go there. The room, overall, was dark , dirty and unwelcoming. Their web site is totally false. The room was old and dirty and they don't have the amenities they claim to offer and we were told to use the neighboring hotel amenities, they won't know. Unfortunately we didn't read the reviews before we booked this hotel or we wouldn't have gone there. I listen to the reviews of others. We immediately turned around and got our deposit back and stayed at the Best Western next door which was fantastic. I wouldn't recommend this for a family/couples/business trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    51
    41
    30
    76
See reviews for
136
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

My family & 2 others stayed in room 902 this week. I couldn't be happier to be home. Our feet have been black the entire week from the carpets & the eggs I had for breakfast today tasted like seafood from the disgusting stove. Good thing one person backed out of the trip because he wouldn't have had a bed. The 3rd bedroom is a closet with 2 beds & a tv, that's it...no room even for your luggage. No pull out couch bed as advertised. The bathroom was dark & the shower was slippery. The dryer took forever and that's if you got lucky enough to hit the right button. Curtains falling down and table falling apart. Diswasher sucks and sink drips. No more than 1 person at a time in the kitchen or you'll want to scream. The odor rising from the bathroom sink made me want to puke everytime I turned the water on. Opening the balcony doors was a complete ab workout. All of our complaints were addressed immediately so that was good, but it would be nice to not have to worry about those things. Pool is small & kinda yucky. No room to lay out. Ronnie was a great housekeeper although after she left we had no clean towels/dish rags. Wendy was the ONLY person at the front desk with any compassion or knowledge. We called the night before arriving to ask about the $100 cash deposit and were lied to by Linda, who told us we wouldn't have to pay. That was $100 I didn't have to spend on my 6 mo. old daughter's first beach trip. We had a great trip but the only reason I would step foot in the door of The Palms Resort would be to say HI to Wendy! Do not order from Santino's Pizza, they are the WORST business in the world. They got our order wrong & after 3 hours & 5 phone calls we finally got our money back...with no wings!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

First, let me start with the good things. The bed was comfy, tall, queen size. The bathroom sink and tub were very cool and modern. The A?C worked well. The fridge and oven worked well. All looked new. It was clean. Now the bad. One elevator, very slow. Small pool area with only about 10 chairs. Dead palm trees in pool area. The bartender only knew how to make 2 drinks and the happy hour consists ONLY of $2.00 bottled beers. The ice machine requires your room key to dispense. The housekeeping staff were not professional nor attentive. The halls were loud with staff. The view was of the parking garage next door and if you craned your neck around the corner of your balcony, you could see a sliver of ocean. The parking was across the street and there are NO crosswalks nearby. It was a treacherous crossing for sure.
Whatever you do, avoid the Sea Trawler Seafood Buffet on like 12th Ave. It is not good at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I found the desk staff and cleaning staff helful and friendly. No shortage of covered parking just across the street. The pool and lawn areas were well kept. Here is the thing. It is spartan. And my penthouse 2 floor 3BR was really showing its age in many ways, including furnishings. This is not a posch stay (such as the Anderson Ocean Club just to the north) BUT IT IS PRICED ACCORDINGLY. They say you get what you pay for, I expected it, and got it, and was pleased because I was willing to sacrifice "niceness" for price. So I got a GREAT view, plenty of space, (comfortable beds), things in working order, for an incredible price, just not plush-ness.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewistown, pa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Spent just two nights at The Palms on the way from Florida back to Pennsylvania and it was very nicely appointed, centrally located, nice private balcony facing the water and very friendly staff.
Oh and did I mention a very attractive price for oceanfront? I would definitely recommend this establishment and I'll definitely visit there again!
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

My family and i go to myrtle beach every year and we usally stay at the sandy beach or the palace.but this year my brother and i wanted to try sum thing new.so we told our parents we wanted to try out the palms resort.it seemend nice and t looked fun.when we got there i loved the rooms and the sheets and every thang were fresh and the bathroom and kitchen was clean and fresh. it was just great. my favorite part was the pol and the view.the view was amazing it was like i was on top of the ocean. and this year thats where we are going to stay at!!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I didn't stay here however i wasted my time looking at there rooms filthy mess they give a certain rate for month of may when i got there you guessed it higher than advertised the lady on the phone when i called about prices was closed to being rude sure glad i didn't make reservation advice never make a reservation .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms

Address: 2500 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palms Myrtle Beach
Palms Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Palms to your Saves list