We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Resort to your Saves list
The Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

Our family recently stayed at the Palace Resort, and there is no question that we would definitely stay there again and would not hesitate at all to highly recommend it to friends and acquaintances. The suite was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated, right down to the towels! I am very picky about where I stay, and this was as clean as my home! The beds were extremely comfortable with fluffy pillows that quickly led you into dreamland after a fun day in Myrtle Beach! The suite was spacious and logically laid out to allow adults and children to have their own areas should families so desire, and the common areas were large enough to comfortably accomodate the 6 of us, plus visitors that might come for dinner. The view was phenominal, with plenty of chairs, tables, and chaise lounges on the deck, and large glass windows and doors to watch the sun rise and set over the sparkling waters. Access to the beach was easy as the facility sits right on the beach. The welcome was friendly and accomodating, and the service continued to be so throughout our stay. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were a special treat, and our family made use of those facilities daily. The location is conveniently close to golf courses, shops, restaurants, and grocery stores, which met all of our needs. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    212
    108
    104
    266
See reviews for
345
230
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH CAROLINA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

Excellent hotel in a very good location if you want a quiet neighborhood. Room was very clean. Price was excellent. Shopping just a drive away. Convenient location to get to all major MB spots. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — view of the beach
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taylorsville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

Where should I start? Well as soon as we pulled in the parking area the security guard asked us what our room number was? Hmm we just got here, I don't know!! Well we go up to our room and I thought that is was pretty nice then I walked thru the door. The wallpaper was falling down in the bathroom over the light and it had burned the corners of it. The ceiling in the rooms was so badly mildewed that it is a wonder that we are not sick. The employees were so rude and would not even get up if you were standing at the check-in counter (LAZY). The pools were nice and warm because you know we did go when it was cold. There is a jacuzzi in the lobby of the 23rd floor. Every time we would go out for the night and come back in the guard would stand there at the door and ask us EVERY time, "what is your room number?" Dang don't you remember that you asked me that the first night we checked in. I am here to tell you that if you stay there you have to have patience and a good attitude. Of all the years that I have been going to Myrtle Beach, that has to be the worst place I have ever stayed. Good luck if you try to stay there is all I have to say. Our party made the best of it and that is what you have to do.

  • Liked — our view form our room was the only thing
  • Disliked — employees
  • Tips/Secrets — Do Not Stay Here
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

Well, it all started when we got there and there were no carts to take your things to the room. After we waited about 15 min. we ended up w/ a shopping cart which was not big enough for all the things we brought. No sense in this considering it was 12:30 in the morning. Then the security guard would ask every time we walked back & forth to the truck getting more things "WHATS YOUR ROOM#" ABOUT 10 TIMES. then he would give you the evil eye. When we finally got to our room it wasn't what we expected at all. the INTERNET lied and showed false pictures. It was pretty much NASTY bottom line. Old fridge, very old dishwasher that was falling apart, stained up furniture, hairs everywhere. YUCK!!!
Then the security guard kept coming to our room complaining about hearing a radio playing.Whatever, the walls were thin as paper. You could hear almost everything the people were doing next door & above you. Needless to say we stayed 1 night & left. NEVER STAY AT THE PALACE RESORT(NOT EVEN CLOSE TO A RESORT) IN MYRTLE BEACH,SC.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything Was Terrible
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't Ever Go There
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

OH MY GOD! Myrtle Beach in winter can be scary, I know this. But, the palace apparently rents winter monthly rooms. During our getaway weekend, it was dodge the drunk or the crackhead. Loud people, obviously out of their minds. The only reason I knew they were monthly renters is because I'd see these same people carting in groceries and/or leaving for work. I'm suprised some of them make it to work. Saw twice people getting arrested for domestic violence!!! No way I'll ever go back, consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

I booked this hotel based on friends that stay at this property all the time - looks great and clean on internet but what a joke! My husband had to go to the desk to get a broom as the floor was ceramic tile and was not swept once while we got maid service daily all she did was change the towels and make the bed! the Elevators at this property are very slow as we were on the 4th floor learned that the stairs were way faster - even with a child!
the hallways smelt everyday nothing smelt clean, pools were so cold you couldn't even stand it and of the 4 or 5 hot tubs only 2 worked. Also the hotel says they have internet service - its dial up!!! It took me 8 minutes to get email and i paid for 10 what a joke - would i stay here next trip to MB not likely i would go to a more updated property that is geared more for family!

  • Liked — clsoe to everything
  • Disliked — maid service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem NC
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed at The Palance for the Bike Rally in early October. 2006 We booked our room over the internet as upon calling the hotel, they had no vacancies....don't understand that. Upon arrival check in was fast though the clerks could be a little more friendly. They were not rude and it was 3 pm (check in time) and they were not busy yet....just rather passive. The room was loverly. It was clean and no odor at all. We did have to request towels as there were none in the room and my husband had to go get them but within 30 minutes more were delivered directly to us. We had a one bedroom suite with full kitchen. It was open and airy and colorful.....with our side view balcony we could see the ocean and hear the surf. Our room was on the fifth floor, room 511, and on the pool side and until later at night you could too easily hear the noise from the pool but that was not too distracting. Level 2 of the parking deck was reserved for motorcycles....the first day. The next day we were told to park on the ground level for security. That's a good thing. But when we came back to the hotel that night from dinner driving our vehicle we parked on the 2nd level (since the bikes are now directed to ground level). Here came two security folks making us move our vehicle because "level 2 is for bikes only"......ok...we moved. As we headed back to the lobby we saw TWO vehicles proceed to level 2 and they were NOT TOLD to move their vehicle. This was quite puzzling to us and did not make us happy as when we had to move to another level and the only place to park was on level 5. This was the only distasteful occurence during our visit. Maid service is great and they were very pleasant and cordial. All in all I would not hesitate to stay at The Palace again. Full sized refrigerator and stove in kitchen. Large TV in living room. Elevators are not the fastest on the planet but none ever are! You can meet the nicest folks in the elevator, too. Stay there. You will be satisfied, at least we were....would have preferred a room a little higher up for the view but my son and daughter in law were on the 10th floor and were not as pleased with their room at all. They stated that ours was much nicer and cleaner and more "modern".....some of their lights had no bulbs in them and wallpaper was peeling. So I guess it just depends on what room you get........we lucked out and were very pleased.

  • Liked — Clean room. Maid service very good....nice ladies.
  • Disliked — Parking arrangement
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Address: 1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.