We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Resort to your Saves list
The Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 40% off Winter!
Ranked #95 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

One room condos are not set up well if you have a disability. The bed is stuck in an alcove with less than a foot of clearance on either side. The room has tile floors that are slippery. There is no broom or dustpan if you break a glass. The resort has no ice makers, so if your refrigerator isn't making ice, you have none. We reserved a room on a low level, no higher than the 5th floor but ended up on the 17th? Not coming back.

Room Tip: Stay low. Single room condos are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
I am saddened to hear about your stay at the Palace Resort. I am disappointed to see we fell short of your expectations during your stay with the condition of your room. I have made a note of this and will make sure we address these issues and do our very best to prevent this from happening again. Without feedback we sometimes don’t have the opportunity to hear directly from the guest. I welcome you back to Palace Resort to see the ongoing improvements we are making to better the guest experience.


Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    212
    108
    104
    266
See reviews for
346
230
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very accommodating and professional. The entire staff was friendly and spoke when passing in the hallways. Tameka was very personable and did a great job cleaning the room. Our stay war a very positive experience and will definitely be one that will be shared and recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post such an awesome review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It's our goal to make every guest feel at home, and to provide the best service possible to make that happen. We appreciate your business, and your kind comments about our property, and staff. We hope that you will book with us again soon, and can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding stay in Myrtle Beach.

Ebony W.
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

It was a nice resort, and room very clean . The staff was great and very friendly at all times.The breakfast was excellent, just needs some fruit.A very nice Resort and I would come back soon and will tell my friends , also family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Every comment that we receive is valuable in helping us evaluate and improve our quality of service. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with us again very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The is the place to stay if you looking for a very secure and safe resort, none of the riff raff. 11 pm lock down for non guest and security patrols the all floors and parking day and night. So much better then some other resorts in the area.

Room Tip: 16th floor and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation here in Myrtle Beach.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was our first trip as a couple. We had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the resort. It was a weekend getaway for us this trip, however; we definitely plan on coming back to the Palace Resort very soon, so please keep us abreast of all summer specials/promotions. We will need a two bedroom suite on our next stay. Looking forward to our next trip!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we are glad to hear tat you booked again with us in July and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our 2nd visit (13 months later). We went with a 2 bedroom condo this time, we requested a room facing the skywheel and equal too or higher than the 18th floor. And we got it. The view from the 21st floor is amazing. Room was clean and smelled fresh. My girls (11 & 13 loved having a tv in there room) Breakfast was just as good as last year (though I wish they would offer pancakes from time to time) The pool area had been redone and was beautiful! The hot tubs were great too.All the staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with..........But the absolute best part of this resort is walking out the door & with-in 30 seconds you're standing on the BEACH!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with us again very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Enjoyed the get away for Easter weekend with the hubby. Great hospitality, room service and the room was nice and clean with front ocean view. A time to relax and enjoy our "Happy Place" even though it was chilly and raining, our purpose was fulfilled!!! Reservations made for July!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with us again very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.

Ebony W.
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Address: 1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.