We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Place grew on me immensely” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Resort to your Saves list
The Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 35% off Spring!
Ranked #97 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Place grew on me immensely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Well the main thing here is that you don't see your condo until you arrive. Our condo was old and outdated. The bed spread had cigarette burns in it and the balcony's were very dirty. We had a roof top outside our bedroom balcony and it was very nice looking at cigarette butts all week and whatever everyone threw from their balcony's. Staff was helpful and the breakfast each day was a hit with the kids. The buffet is not self serve and consists of scrambled eggs, scrambled cheese eggs, ham,bacon, or sausage rotated each each day, the grits are very good and the biscuits and gravy. Staff does make you feel a little funny when you ask of two of something. The strange thing is, they feed the entire staff breakfast and seem to be able to have whatever they want.
Pool area is beautiful and looks brand new. Beach in front of resort is awesome! Parking is very good with many spaces to accommodate trucks, suburbans etc. overall I would not book here again without seeing my condo. I thought the price was good for the image I saw on the site, not for where we actually stayed. Our service attendant Tomeka was fabulous and catered to our every request. They are close here to being a very good place but just need some finishing touches. Like I said I would not book here again without knowing and seeing my condo, I recommend having contact with them before arriving.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your comments. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered here at the property. It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very important to us and your concerns will be addressed as soon as possible. We hope that you and your family will give our resort another try. If there is any way we can assist you, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    215
    111
    107
    271
See reviews for
352
237
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls,Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just left myrtle beach SC staying at the Palace Resort Ocean Blvd. Great ocean view ,kitchen nicely equipped but the bed in Room 801 was awful. My husband and tolerated it for 2 days
sagging into the middle of the bed/or my husband moving on the coach so I can have the bed to myself... most uncomfortable sleep possible. Then we moved to Room 901 hopefully for a better bed but to no avail. We hated it and left after 3 days. Breakfast sucked. No fresh fruit. Just scrambled eggs,buiscuts,grits ,shredded potatoes, all fats..Sorry..Wont ever return to Myrtle Beach

Room Tip: Don't go here..they are all condo's owned by ppl who don't pay much for mattress but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your comments. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered here at the property. It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very important to us and your concerns will be addressed as soon as possible. We hope that you and your family will give our resort another try. If there is any way we can assist you, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Road, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had to make an emergency trip to SC because our daughter was in the hospital. We wanted a nice place to stay but needed a good deal, too. I did a lot of searching online and The Palace met all our needs. The staff was both knowledgeable and courteous. The one room condo gave us everything we needed. The view from the balcony was wonderful. Gorgeous pools and several hot tubs, a sauna, and steam room were added bonuses. The only negative thing was a slight musty odor when the AC came on, but that dissipated over time. The bed was comfortable but a little squeaky. I still think for the price it was worth every penny and I consider this an excellent property!

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront sun suite and it was on the 15th floor and this meant less noise from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with us again very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Overall a good place to stay. Conveniently located. Could do with some upgrades in rooms but overall pretty good. Kitchen needed a lot more cooking utensils/equipment. Kitchen equipment situation was pretty poor compared to other places I have stayed. We stayed in an ocean view room and it did have a good view of ocean. We were on 11th floor. Not sure if ocean views would be as good on lower floors. Parking attached to condos which was great. Not across street like a lot of places in MB. We had to wait on elevators a few times. After talking to a few other residents the elevators are apparently a nightmare in high season - sometimes 20-30 minute wait to use them :(

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
I am saddened to hear about your stay at the Palace Resort. I am disappointed to see we fell short of your expectations during your stay with the condition of your room. I have made a note of this and will make sure we address these issues and do our very best to prevent this from happening again. Without feedback we sometimes don’t have the opportunity to hear directly from the guest. I welcome you back to Palace Resort to see the ongoing improvements we are making to better the guest experience.


Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The amenities were excellent but the room was another thing. The room had some issues; the room had a dingy smell, the bed was broken. I didn't sleep very well those nights we were there. I have been coming here for the past 10 years or so and this was the worst experience ever. I will still come back but just not that particular room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your comments with us. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered here at the property. Your comments are very important to us and your concerns will be addressed as soon as possible. We hope that you and your family will decide to return to the Palace in the future. If there is any way we can assist you, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Ebony W.
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had to get away from the winter blues in Pennsylvania. Walk in the sand and enjoy the fun life at the beach. Were dreams are wished to be able to stay forever. Maybe someday to retire to the beach .... OOooo the dreams

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with us again very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't even stay!
Had to dispute it on my credit card!
Horrible room like a dungeon though hotel is ok overall but rooms or the one we were offered was like a dungeon very small window!
Probe is I am used to OCEAN
reef and the likes so hard to compete...
Staff hard to work with but not rude just won't care much to make you happy...
Was not exactly a good deal..

Never coming back..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your comments with us. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered here at the property. Your comments are very important to us and your concerns will be addressed as soon as possible. We hope that you and your family will decide to return to the Palace in the future. If there is any way we can assist you, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Ebony W.
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Address: 1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professionally managed by Myrtle Beach Rooms for Rent, Palace Resort Luxury Suites is a beautifully designed ocean front contel resort with indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpools, sauna, steam room, exercise room, guest laundry and wonderful ocean views from your own private ocean front or side ocean view balcony. One or two bedroom condos with amenities that include fully equipped kitchens spacious interiors elevators ample parking in private on-site parking garage with covered access oceanfront restaurant and lounge...And immediate beach access from large sun deck. This wonderful contel resort is just perfect for the active family wanting to get away from it all and still have it all anyway. The kids will love the video arcade room and the adults will love the fitness center and the golf putting green. Our check in office is located directly across the street at 1600 S Ocean Blvd within the Wave Rider Resort Rental Complex. You will need to pick up your keys and parking passes at this location. Minimum age to rent a room- 21 years old. FOR CHECK IN AFTER 8PM, PLEASE CALL DURING NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.