We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Our stay at Palace Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Resort to your Saves list
The Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 35% off Spring!
Ranked #98 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Thomasville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at Palace Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

While most of the staff was friendly, I was disappointed with what I actually paid for. I booked an ocean front sun suite and it looked nothing like the photos on the website. Also, the headboard on the bed was broken and rattled horribly. Just image trying to have a romantic weekend getaway with that!!!!! Lastly, we had to walk completely around the building to get to the beach. The first floor doors were all blocked off limiting access as if construction was going on but there was none. We also had a broken chair we couldn't sit in and the room apparently used to be a smoking room because it reeked of old stale cigarette smoke. We will never return to the palace resort.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
I am saddened to hear about your stay at the Palace Resort. I am disappointed to see we fell short of your expectations during your stay with the condition of your room. I have made a note of this and will make sure we address these issues and do our very best to prevent this from happening again. Without feedback we sometimes don’t have the opportunity to hear directly from the guest. I welcome you back to Palace Resort to see the ongoing improvements we are making to better the guest experience.


Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    215
    111
    107
    271
See reviews for
352
237
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The room and view (2102) were amazing. Beautiful, charming decor. Had recently been painted so there was a bit of a smell from that, but not really bothersome. 99% of the staff was insanely helpful and friendly. They let us check in nearly three hours early. The hotel common areas were not spotless, but were acceptably clean, and our room was impeccable except for a few dust bunnies under the bed. The kitchen had what we needed as far as pots and pans/dishes.

we only had a few issues, which i had read from other guests before i booked: the balcony was definitely small, but at least you aren't sharing a wall with your neighbors--lots of privacy. The queen bed was actually a full, so next time we will opt for a king room. It was also a bit uncomfortable. One staff member was extremely rude to us over some confusion of being able to smoke on the back patio (under renovation), which several staff had told us was okay. The hot tub on the 22nd floor was not hot. It was more like a warm bath, and the jets were very weak, and it didn't look particularly sparkling clean... we also had an unfortunate but somewhat comical experience of the housekeeper coming into the room before we were dressed.

However, all in all, i would recommend this little gem to any of my friends visiting MB. I fully intend to book again. Absolutely loved this hotel. I really can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with us again very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Resort staff was placed in an awkward position by upper management not allowing guests to be advised that the entire pool deck & beach access is closed for renovations. Once completed the entire area will be awesome!

We have returned numerous times & are always warmly welcomed. The stay includes a daily buffet breakfast for 2 & the staff are efficient & work hard to guarantee that you enjoy that part of your day!
Make your reservations early! It's a great location & great value!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. I will like to apologize about the renovations being done to the pool deck causing an inconvenience for you and your family.The pool deck is finally completed and all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, hope that you will book with us again very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great hotel. I would stay here again...the pool was not open. There was maintenance going on which caused noise. The breakfast here was AWESOME! If your looking for a quick getaway I would say choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the best option in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your comments and I hope that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Myrtle Beach. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered here at the property. It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to apologize about the renovations being done during your stay. Unfortunately the only time that we can do big upgrades to the property are during our slower months of the season. Your comments are very important to us and your concerns will be addressed as soon as possible. We hope that you and your family will decide to return to the Palace in the future when the renovations are completed. If there is any way we can assist you, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is our 2nd year taking a spring trip to Myrtle Beach and the Palace. It is a great place to stay. Great accommodations at very reasonable rates, a friendly staff and a great location right on the beach. We can't wait to come back next spring!

Room Tip: The ocean view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony W, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with us again very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I found the Palace three years ago. I returned to the Palace in March,
staying in Room 1011. I always ask for that room as each unit is
individually owned. This unit has a fantastic view and is continually updated.
I can see the ocean from every room in the unit.
The decor is elegant, comfortable and has a "coastal feel".
The Palace itself is finally getting some needed improvements.
The pool deck was just completed and looks fantastic...
I highly recommend and will only stay at the
Palace Resort whenever I come to Myrtle Beach!

Room Tip: Units should be rented through Palace Resort and front desk for better service and free breakfast. U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with us again very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.

Ebony Washington
Front Desk Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I would rate the view from the 19th floor as excellent, but the one bedroom condo was much as it was when built 30 years ago. I would rate the housekeeping as excellent and very attentive. The staff in the restaurant and bar was very good, when open.

The entire pool area was in repair and you had no where to even sit outside. The bar was only open Fri and Sat and the restaurant only served a minimal breakfast buffet. In the resort web site showed many pools and hot tubes but all are closed. The web also alluded to the bar and restaurant being full time.

Upon arrival I was told the pools would be closed until spring, when I will be departing and I was not told about the limited bar and restaurant service. I was told they have a hot tub on the 22nd floor, but it has been closed for repairs for a month that I have been here.

The elevators (only three) for the entire resort are very slow and difficult to get. It's like the old saying, "You get what you pay for". I do not intend to stay here next winter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your comments and I hope that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Myrtle Beach. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered here at the property. It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to apologize about the renovations being done during your stay. Unfortunately the only time that we can do big upgrades to the property are during our slower months of the season. Your comments are very important to us and your concerns will be addressed as soon as possible. We hope that you and your family will decide to return to the Palace in the future when the renovations are completed. If there is any way we can assist you, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Robert Dowd
General Manager
Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Address: 1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professionally managed by Myrtle Beach Rooms for Rent, Palace Resort Luxury Suites is a beautifully designed ocean front contel resort with indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpools, sauna, steam room, exercise room, guest laundry and wonderful ocean views from your own private ocean front or side ocean view balcony. One or two bedroom condos with amenities that include fully equipped kitchens spacious interiors elevators ample parking in private on-site parking garage with covered access oceanfront restaurant and lounge...And immediate beach access from large sun deck. This wonderful contel resort is just perfect for the active family wanting to get away from it all and still have it all anyway. The kids will love the video arcade room and the adults will love the fitness center and the golf putting green. Our check in office is located directly across the street at 1600 S Ocean Blvd within the Wave Rider Resort Rental Complex. You will need to pick up your keys and parking passes at this location. Minimum age to rent a room- 21 years old. FOR CHECK IN AFTER 8PM, PLEASE CALL DURING NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.