We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“HORRIBLE PROPERTY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace Resort to your Saves list
The Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 35% off Spring!
Ranked #97 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE PROPERTY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at this "resort" from 4/1/2013-4/4/2013. Absolutely a horrible place. Old, run down, dirty. Non-responsive staff. It was so very bad that I have asked my in house attorney to look into some legal action against the property and it's owners. Their photos clearly do NOT depict the place and are clearly misleading. Please do NOT stay in this so called "resort"

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    215
    111
    107
    271
See reviews for
352
237
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our room was great. #504. The view was beautiful. The amenities was awesome. The staff was very friendly. The color scheme was amazing. I would reccomend this resort to anyone visiting. The only request we had was that housekeeping change the bedding every few days. Overall, we were completely satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

When we first arrived, there had been a computer glitch with our reservation. They worked quickly to resolve it, and all was fine! The room was great, and when we had a problem, the staff was quick to respond! The breakfast was good and staff congenial! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at the palace resort easter weekend. The only good thing about this hotel was the staff and the breakfast. The staff where very friendly and helpful, the room it self was old and it had a smell to it. This room needs to be remodeled the bathroom was old and the shower looked nasty. My own 7 year old said he didn't want to get in the shower because the way it looked. The elevator worked when it wanted to. I will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The best thing to do is actually go to the hotel and ask the manger could you see the inside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The view was great. The staff was friendly. Parking good in a parking garage but it was free. Lots of luggage racks available. Ocean Front room had a great balcony and view, but the room was a bit run down. Housekeeping was very slow or non-existent. Breakfast was great. It's the best free breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. Lots of choices with hot items such as eggs, biscuit and gravy, meat, potatoes, etc. plus cereal, fruit, juice, toast, etc. It was almost worth staying here just for the breakfast. No screens on sliding doors to balcony which was a real drag. All in all, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront sun suite, but get a "corner" one. They are set up much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Palace many of times years, ago, with great experience. Returned in March 2013, for a 7 night stay, but unfortunately had to leave due to health problems. We had paid for our 7nights, which is pay for 5 nights get your next 2 free. We only stayed 4 nights, due to illness, no compensation was given and the Palace now had the opportunity of use or room and make another income. We would not recommend the Palace, as we feel our experience was poor compared to way the Palace had been run in earlier years.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband, I and our 2 sons stayed in a 2 bedroom last summer. In our room the curtains were on backwards. I pulled a drawer out to put clothes in it and drawer fell out and landed on my foot. We had a <30" tube TV in our bedroom. The carpet throughout the suite was dirty and frayed. The boys' twin beds both had ripped comforters. One bed had to be fixed when we first got there as it was broken. Our bed was nothing but a slab of concrete and there were no extra pillows. No extra (non-ripped) comforters. When you sat on the couch you either sat in a hole or got poked by a spring. The decor was 1970's. The kitchen table looked like a garage sale special. The living room TV was a tube TV <20". The microwave and stove had burn marks. The counter-top was stained in the kitchen. The refrigerator was missing some shelves. The noise level wasn't too bad but we were on the 19th floor. Now for the rest of the resort....The only 2 elevators had a mind of their own. We never knew whether they were going to stop on the right floor or not. Plan on waiting 15 minutes for leaving and returning because of the elevators. The parking garage elevator was a little better which is good because you can never get a main level parking spot. The entryway was fairly clean and the staff at the front desk was nice, however the rest of the resort was dirty. The small fountain inside wasn't working and looked like it had not been updated since the 70's. The carpet was really gross all throughout. I ate the breakfast once and felt like I was eating cardboard-no wonder it's free. The concrete/stone in the indoor hot tubs were rough and cut my foot on. They also had lots of sand in the bottom and chalked full of chemicals to the point it made my eyes water. The pools on the ground floor looked dirty and also had sand in them. In the back of the resort there is no scenery to add to the beach experience. You look one way at the beautiful ocean and look back towards the resort and see "ghetto." We only stayed here because of family. This year we are returning to Myrtle Beach again and defiantly not staying here and hopefully not even visiting. The rooms on their website have to be from a different place, they do not match what you actually get.

Room Tip: Pick an oceanfront room because that is going to be the only good thing about the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Address: 1605 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professionally managed by Myrtle Beach Rooms for Rent, Palace Resort Luxury Suites is a beautifully designed ocean front contel resort with indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpools, sauna, steam room, exercise room, guest laundry and wonderful ocean views from your own private ocean front or side ocean view balcony. One or two bedroom condos with amenities that include fully equipped kitchens spacious interiors elevators ample parking in private on-site parking garage with covered access oceanfront restaurant and lounge...And immediate beach access from large sun deck. This wonderful contel resort is just perfect for the active family wanting to get away from it all and still have it all anyway. The kids will love the video arcade room and the adults will love the fitness center and the golf putting green. Our check in office is located directly across the street at 1600 S Ocean Blvd within the Wave Rider Resort Rental Complex. You will need to pick up your keys and parking passes at this location. Minimum age to rent a room- 21 years old. FOR CHECK IN AFTER 8PM, PLEASE CALL DURING NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.