We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Get Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Conway, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Winter Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Great value for a weekend get away. Plenty to keep a 5 year old busy even when it was cold outside. More people should visit off season. Family friendly resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    514
    175
    91
    117
See reviews for
853
433
31
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Mountain, NC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I am not a Myrtle Beach fan because of the traffic and the crowds. Springmaid is beside the state park which makes the setting perfect! I loved the unspoiled, quiet location. I also love the pier, by far the best pier I have ever been on. I was disappointed in our room. We booked on line through hotels.com and we were not given an ocean front room. In fact many of the rooms at this resort really look across at other rooms. I went back to the registration desk and requested a better room. We were given first floor in another building which was better but our view was obstructed by palm trees. I was told there were no other options but this was off-season and there were tons of unoccupied rooms the entire time we were there that we would have been much better satisfied with. The rooms need upgrading quite badly. Some of the staff was okay; some rude. The restaurant was not open even though we were told it would be. I would go back but would be sure I got a better room and I would hope that some of the remodeling would have been done beforehand.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. However, the only way in which we grow as a company, lodging facility, and place of employment is by feedback from our guests. With the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guests, I can assure you that when you decide to return; your stay will be one with positive memories. We want to thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at Springmaid. We stayed in the three storey building - Cypress. We were offered an upgrade to Palmetto, but turned it down. we were more than happy with our room. Housekeeping (Karen) was very friendly. We also required maintenance one day and our problem was fixed very quickly. (Problem was my fault). It would have been nice if the big lap pool was heated, but it was no big deal. Overall a great holiday and plan on staying there next year, hopefully, a little bit longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

When I go to the beach, I don't care what kind of hotel room I have. I'm there for the beach. When I saw how inexpensive the room was going to be for five days, I didn't really expect much. The room was great, the view was fantastic! (all their rooms are at least oceanview if not oceanfront). The housekeepers on the fifth floor on the Palmetto tower were so friendly. The only drawback to this hotel is it's location. It is at the far south end, near the airport. It is nowhere near the main drag, and so there is less going on, on that end of the beach. Overall it was a really pleasant experience. I will definately go back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington,dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

really the only thing good was the staff was friendly , bud everywhere , mildew rooms and showers dirty rooms i really dont know what else to say that was my experience it was off season and we had to stay here by choice was a family reunion was not my choice soo there you go i tried not to go back to the hotel until it was bedtime because i couldnt stand to look at the rooms !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. Had we known about the condition of your room, we would have done our best to rectify the situation as soon as possible. We appreciate your feedback and work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay at. We want to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Went for a brief stay in early August 2010 and enjoyed it. We got a good deal and could have been disappointed if we paid full fare, $100+ and expected something more.
The beach was great - busy, but away from the hustling, bustling parts where it gets crowded.
The on-site pier is wonderful for a stroll or to watch fishing - wish we'd brought some gear to fish ourselves.
The pools were fun and it was nice to have an indoor-connected pool in case of rain or too much sun.
It's a little older, a little run-down, but it has a family feel to it from check in and the story you can read about in your room and that's kind of cute.
Our room had a microwave and fridge which was nice esp. if we'd stayed longer.
We have two boys, 6 & 9 and they were quite happy there.

Bottom line: if you don't need to have a new property and have a realistic sense of value for money tradeoffs, then if you find a price that looks attractive relative to other beach-front offers, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear Past Guest,

I am happy to hear that you had a good time while on vacation at our resort. We feel our property is unique in its design that most tourists don’t venture down past our pier, so the beach in front of our property is less crowded than the rest of the strand. We want to thank you for staying with us and look forward seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I travel to MB 2 or 3 times a year to visit my kids and grandkids. I've stayed at Springmaid quite a few times and have never had a bad experience, although I'm glad to hear that they are replacing the tv's in the rooms. After a day with 3 grandsons 4,3, and 2, a couple of cold beers and some tv is the best way for me to unwind. In 2009, I was staying there in dec and my tv was shot. The maintenance people showed up within 10 mins of my call to repair it.
My only reason for not staying there this year is that their rates keep getting beat by some of their competitors. I will be in MB on Halloween night to visit the triple threat ( one of my nicknames for the gorgeous redneck boys my daughter and her husband are raising), and I'm staying about 5 miles north of Springmaid solely because of the price. Maybe they should start a frequent stayer program.
Other than that, the staff is always very friendly( I once had to leave 2 days early due to a fire at the chemical plant I work in( I'm a Fire Dept LT. there) and the manager went out of his way to see I wasnt charged for the nights I wouldn't be there, the breakfast is always very good, and the view from every room I've stayed in has been fantastic.
Oh, and sorry about the redneck comment, its a family joke because my son was born in Massachusetts, my daughter in Washington State, and after 20 years in the navy(living the majority of that time well below the Mason Dixon line), I decided to retire back to Mass.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsimon, Front Office Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear Past Guest,

It is always wonderful to hear about guests’ stays and their reasons for staying at our resort. Being a mother of two kids, I completely understand your worn out status at the end of the day! We did start a Beach Perks program for our returning guests this past summer and we would be happy to add you to the list. Hopefully we will be hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

SMB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.