We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at Springmaid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $149!
Ranked #28 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay at Springmaid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you are looking for a nice place to stay in myrtle beach don't stay here. This is by far the lowest quality resort I have ever stayed at. It has more of a cheap motel feel to it. Rooms are dirty and falling apart even though they are "newly renovated". The service is ok but not up to standards and the food at there award winning restaurants is terrible. Food is either over cooked or raw nothing edible. My wife's omelette was so raw it made me sick to look at, some award winning chef they have at Marlins. Barnacles on the pier has a nice view on the pier but that's it. I witnessed five food orders and all of them where incorrect/incomplete. The pools are small and overcrowded. Lazy river is a joke, might be a 100 foot circle. Last but not least you are right by the airport, planes fly directly over the resort all day, really nice when you're trying to sleep. If I could only stay at Sprinmaid when I came to Myrtle Beach I would never come back.

Room Tip: Don't pick one at this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear DeClarkJ,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. We appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we value your comments, feedback and your business with us.I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guests I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    519
    177
    94
    117
See reviews for
859
438
31
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was really impressed at how beautiful this hotel was. It has coffee and coffeepot in room. shampoo conditioner and shower gel in this big container that they fill to cut down on the mini bottles and mini soaps, so unless you have to have your kind of hair products and shower gel you don't have to bring any. Blow dryer in room full size fridge. Rooms were nice, view was nice. The staff did a great job. I loved the quiet and private beach feel to this area. All around everything was super. The only downfall I can actually say is the curb at the live oaks building parking garage right next to Marlins. When you are driving at night the lights in parking garage will blind you and you cannot tell where the aspalt begins and the curb so watch out or you will be like us hit the curb head on and end up with a damaged rim and flat tire. We ended up with all the I'm sorrys we could handle and the hotel isn't responsible to make me want to scream. We were made to feel like it was our fault and we were only after money. Which was not it at all. We didn't want another poor sucker to be in our shoes having to buy a new tire with no money. We suggested orange cones to alert the tourists because the whole curb was black from the many other people that hit it. Overall the hotel was great, but my husband has said we will not be staying again due to the way they treated us over the tire situation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Jakibear,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your vacation experience with us. We enjoyed reading your review and we value your business and patronage. We sincerely apologize about the damage to your vehicle, we are not responsible for any damage done to a vehicle on property with us. We hope this will not prevent you from staying with us the next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our first time at this resort and we will be back! Loved it! The room was great with comfortable beds, fluffy pillows and a full size fridge. The view of the resort, pier and beach from our room was spectacular. We did not have time to check out all of the amenities at the resort but we did enjoy the pool and pier. Next time we plan to do a little fishing! We are still talking about our trip... next time we hope to stay a little longer but we will definitely book this resort the next time we visit Myrtle Beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Suzy S,

We truly enjoyed reading your review and vacation memories with us. We are delighted that you were a first time visitor and you enjoyed our beautiful resort. We recently completed a major renovation and we always enjoyed reading from our guests who enjoyed there stay with us. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Awesome stay. Rooms were nicer than expected, everything was clean, staff was friendly. LOVE LOVE LOVE the dog walk. Great price for our family and 2 dogs. Quieter beach was nice also. Just wish I knew there was a limit of late check outs. Oh and we saw a 5 1/2 ft shark from the end of the pier! That was cool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Mapsypam,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We appreciate you sharing your vacation experience with us. Thanks for your comments on our newly renovated rooms, clean rooms, staff and beach areas. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a really nice place. Staff is really friendly and helpful. Came here for a business conference but also had a lot of fun. The breakfast is really good and the out door grill by the pool is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear StewartBeth,

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that your conference and stay were both fantastic. Thanks for your comments on our Staff & Breakfast Buffet. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We absolutely love Springmaid. Indoor and outdoor pools, private pier, great food at Marlin's and Barnacles, putt putt on site, etc. The remodeled rooms are comfy and fashionable. We felt right at home. We brought another family with us this time and they loved it as well. We will return with others.

Room Tip: If you get the 3 bedroom suite then ask for the room that is in the corner of the floor. I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Danny Page,

Thanks for sharing your Springmaid love with us, we appreciate your comments and feedback. Your review made me smile, because we also love everything about our resort and we hope each and every guest does as well.We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have been coming to this resort since I was a child and have many years of fond memories. This year we stayed for a 5 day 4night trip and loved every minute. Room was clean and comfortable. Pools are easily accessible and the beach access was great. Staff was accommodating and courteous. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Picky000,

I'm delighted and thrilled to hear that your family reunion was fantastic. We enjoy having many families celebrate and share good time with us each and every year. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and comments with us. We always enjoy reading and hearing from our valued guests, and I'm glad your family was able to enjoy everything our resort has to offer.We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.