We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Groupon offered this resort at a rate of 62/night. We figured an ocean front room for that price was a good deal. Perhaps we are spoiled by other property's definitions of the word "resort" but this is NOT a resort. It's a hotel with a conference center and a few pools. When we arrived at 2 pm we were Told our room wasn't ready and that check in was 4 pm. We have NEVER been denied early check in before anywhere we have stayed, but perhaps it is a property policy. Anyway, the doors to the rooms are all outside. Having a small child we weren't thrilled with that but hoped there was a security measure in place such as the requirement of a room key to operate the elevators. We were disappointed to learn anyone could access the elevators at any time. The lazy rivers can only accommodate four people comfortably. Any more than that and you'll have a traffic jam. The indoor pool wasn't heated and the skylights in The roof had large holes in them. (We stayed in the live oak building. The other building's indoor pool was in better shape). Our room had a safe and full size refrigerator but a two cup coffee maker. (Not feasible for more than one coffee drinker). As we were looking around the room we saw on the door that the room rates were regularly $250/night. Seriously?!? That much money per night from that quantity of rooms and you can't secure your elevators or enclose your breezeways? Or simply repair a skylight? The pier was beautiful and in April the property was peaceful. Our groupon deal included breakfast for two at the on site restaurant. It was a typical buffet style but was clean and the food was tasty. The property does offer free miniature golf for guests but no ices machines on site. The property does not provide pool towels nor do they allow room towels at the pool so if you're planning to do beach and pool in the same day bring extra linens. Its close enough to the grand strand if you're into that scene and you can also walk to the state park pier from the beach. For the groupon deal we found it was good enough for a few days getaway. But we definitely won't return. For the rate they're charging we can rent a house or find a real resort.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Munchkinmama10,

Thanks for your comments on your most recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your entire stay with us. We really enjoyed reading your comments on our resort being great for children. We strive to provide the best family accommodations in Myrtle Beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    500
    169
    88
    113
See reviews for
832
417
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was booked at the resort by another chain for a timeshare promotion. I was not initially impressed but once I got to my room and stepped onto the balcony I was sold. The resort is right on the beach and has a pier that leads out into the ocean. The resort if definitely a family resort and it is very inviting. The staff was great and very accomodating to our needs. The biggest disappointments for me was the fact that I could hear my neighbors through the walls and that the elevators reeked...but since it's beach traffic in and out of the elevators all day everyday I guess that makes it okay. Bottom line, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: choose an outside room and one on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear PlatnumPrinces,

Thanks for your comments and feedback on your most recent stay with us. We really enjoyed reading your comments on our family friendly inviting resort. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a short 3-day getaway at Springmaid. This resort was recommended to us and I decided to stay there based on their website and reviews. We were not disappointed. Springmaid has underwent a major renovation and everything is so clean and new. The beds were excellent and we slept as well as we do in our own bed (and that's saying a lot for a hotel). We paid a little extra for a premium ocean view and it was well worth the extra cost. The Palmetto Building has the best views and we stayed in the end room on the 6th floor. The view from the private balcony was excellent. Definitely try to get on that floor. The view decreases the lower you go because the pool area and a large expanse of lawn is between the hotel and the ocean. The hotel is next to Myrtle Beach State Park so it is a great beach for walking. We also enjoyed walking on the pier. The rooms include a full refrigerator and 4-cup coffee maker. I suggest you bring your own coffee, cups, filters and plastic spoons if you are a coffee drinker. We bought a few groceries to make sandwiches and snacks as well. Don't waste your time or money eating at their onsite restaurant (Marlins). I compare it to the food you get in an institutional cafeteria. We ate breakfast there one morning and the only good thing I can say is that their bacon was crisp. There is an abundance of good to excellent restaurants a short drive from the Springmaid so this will definitely not stop me from returning again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Grammi22,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort on your most recent stay with us. Thanks for your comments on our Palmetto Building Premium View Rooms, those were just renovated and added for 2013. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Location was great, at the south end of Myrtle Beach. This gives a much more private feel. You really don't need to leave the property for much. Putt putt course is FREE! There is a breakfast buffett on site with an omelet bar. Stayed at the Palmetto building. Great view. Parking garage attached to to building. If you have never been to Myrtle Beach, this is big. Staff was always asking about how you were enjoying your trip and very friendly. The lounge chairs by the pools are to die for! Not the cheap plastic strap or white plastic kind. High end chairs is what I'm talking about! Bathroom is a little tight, but vanity is out in the bedroom area. Rooms have recently been remodeled and very nice. Big grassy area's to fly a kite or play catch. Right on the beach with easy access. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Bucgirl,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and photos from the Palmetto Building. With our recently completed renovations we are thrilled to hear all of your comments on location, breakast and friendly staff. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just attended a hospitality industry conference at Springmaid. It was by far the worst experience I have ever had at a "resort" property. The service was far below any minimum level of acceptability. There were numerous food service issues culminating with the F&B staff "forgetting" to make lunch for 120+ people on the final day of the conference.

The place is VERY dated and needs a refresh. Rooms were adequate and actually fairly spacious, but nothing to make up for the poor quality of service we as a grou received.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jnbcp1997,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. We appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we value your comments, feedback and your business with us.I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay. I originally was just staying for a three day convention and two extra days to relax. When I arrived and found out how nice and relaxing everything was plus being right on the beach, my whole stay turned into a relaxing vacation! The rooms were very clean, the pools were clean and the inside pool was nicely heated so even on a day it rained, we could enjoy it too. My family LOVED the mini golf. I really like the location as well. It was not in the middle of town so the beach was never crowded, but it wasn't so far out that it was inconvenient to get anything we may have needed. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Leeann H,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We are glad to hear your were here for a convention and some rest & relaxation. Harbor Oaks Miniature Golf is a great added amenity that we hope all families enjoy. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The grounds were nice! I loved the putt putt golf and the pier was amazing. Looking out of my window and listening to the ocean was priceless! The rooms were nice and had a full fridge and very spacious! The beds were comfy! I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Costalmama,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate your comments on our Grounds, Miniature Golf, and Pier. We feel our resort is a hidden gem and secret in Myrtle Beach. With our recently completed room renovations we are excited to hear your comments on our comfortable beds and clean rooms. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.