We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 15% OFF!!!
Ranked #16 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worst stay ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just attended a hospitality industry conference at Springmaid. It was by far the worst experience I have ever had at a "resort" property. The service was far below any minimum level of acceptability. There were numerous food service issues culminating with the F&B staff "forgetting" to make lunch for 120+ people on the final day of the conference.

The place is VERY dated and needs a refresh. Rooms were adequate and actually fairly spacious, but nothing to make up for the poor quality of service we as a grou received.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jnbcp1997,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. We appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we value your comments, feedback and your business with us.I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    893
    430
    145
    82
    103
See reviews for
742
372
26
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay. I originally was just staying for a three day convention and two extra days to relax. When I arrived and found out how nice and relaxing everything was plus being right on the beach, my whole stay turned into a relaxing vacation! The rooms were very clean, the pools were clean and the inside pool was nicely heated so even on a day it rained, we could enjoy it too. My family LOVED the mini golf. I really like the location as well. It was not in the middle of town so the beach was never crowded, but it wasn't so far out that it was inconvenient to get anything we may have needed. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Leeann H,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We are glad to hear your were here for a convention and some rest & relaxation. Harbor Oaks Miniature Golf is a great added amenity that we hope all families enjoy. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The grounds were nice! I loved the putt putt golf and the pier was amazing. Looking out of my window and listening to the ocean was priceless! The rooms were nice and had a full fridge and very spacious! The beds were comfy! I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Costalmama,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate your comments on our Grounds, Miniature Golf, and Pier. We feel our resort is a hidden gem and secret in Myrtle Beach. With our recently completed room renovations we are excited to hear your comments on our comfortable beds and clean rooms. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I enjoyed this resort. The location was wonderful also tuck away in a peaceful environment but located near dining,shopping and amusement. Rooms were clean and the resorts upkeep overall was good. Yes I would stay there again!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Nikki M,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate your comments on our rooms and resort upkeep. We feel our location is second to none and we appreciate those comments as well. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay. Would stay again. All staff was friendly and professional. I'm sure by now, the door is repaired. Love the convention center and would like more information for my personal use. There is nothing else to say but thanks so much for the experience of staying on your property.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear janae87,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate your comments on our friendly and professional staff. We are excited your we're able to experience a event in our Conference Center. For more info on our Conference Center please visit http://www.springmaidbeach.com/groups/meetings-event-spaces/. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Ga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location was very nice and not very close to other hotels so the beach was not crowded. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The hotel was only about 2 miles from The Market Commons, which has very nice shops, cinema and restaurants and walking trails/ park. I would stay there again. The airport was two streets away and the planes flew right over the hotel. You can hear the noise, but it was such that it was not a disturbance.
The only negative was the the restaurant where breakfast was served, was a walk from the room. You have to walk outside to get there and the weekend I stayed, it was raining outside one morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Alpine715,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate your comments on our nice location, clean rooms and very comfortable beds. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After reading the reviews, my husband and I chose to stay at Springmaid while celebrating our anniversary. This was the best stay ever! The staff was sssooo nice and knowledgable of the area. We stayed in the palmetto building, which had a beachfront view. We received discounted tickets to area attractions like Ripleys Aqarium, Ripleys Believe it or not and Wonderworks via the hotel! The attractions were so much fun, and for every age group. I kept my DO NOT DISTURB sign on the room door b/c I didn't want housekeeping, but received new towles and wash cloths w/ no hesitation. Springmaid had free golf, 18 holes. Which was very fun, although I SUCK at golf (haha) Marlins restaurant had good, hot breakfast. All attractions and restaurants are walking distance or a short drive away. Myrtle Beach International Airport is very closeby the hotel so we did hear a lot of planes flying too and from. They didn't bother my husband or myself though. It was actually cool seeing the planes fly by while we were on the beach or on the balcony of our hotel. And the Peir is amazing!! It's very relaxing and you get great pictures from it. I look forward to staying at Springmaid in the near future.

Room Tip: The Live Oak building and the Palmetto building have oceanfront views. The Cypress building has side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Relly B,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Congratulations and Happy Anniversary, we are excited you spent your anniversary with us. We appreciate your comments on our Palmetto Rooms, and knowledgeable staff. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.