We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation 2013” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Vacation 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our second visit. We loved the first one last year, so was looking forward to this year. They were boasting renovations were complete, so we expected to pay the extra $200 dollars it was costing us. Upon arrival, we find out the top 2 floors in our building was shut down due to renovations. This being after we were told, yes we would be on one of those floors two weeks prior. Couldn't even get off on the 3rd floor where we were assigned due to renovations being done there. Moved to another building on the property where we didn't have the best view of the ocean. Could see a corner of it. Huge spider and cobweb in one of the whole window panes that took 4 days to remove, tub plug wouldn't work so no relaxing baths for the kids. Remote control back was broken, clock wouldn't change time, so we didn't have the correct time on it. No room service the one day and sheets never changed the whole 7 days we were there. Never visiting here again. My sister and her family was with us, their experience was just as bad if not worse than ours. Very much disapointed after driving 18 hours to get there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. We appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we value your comments, feedback and your business with us.I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    501
    169
    89
    113
See reviews for
834
420
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First timers in SC--got a good deal from Groupon--didnt know what to expect as sometimes when you do hotel deals it's either a hit or miss, but with this one it is definitely a hit! The moment we checked in, the registration was very helpful as I had booked and extra night to make it 4 nights, and they found me a room to stay straight 4 nights that way I dont have to make room transfers--betcha my teenagers would definitely whine if they were to move us on the last night.. (with which I called way in advance before purchasing an extra night-- to my surprise reservations told me there is no need to purchase an extra night through Groupon , they will just add another night and give me the same amount as the Groupon deal-bingo! That was nice of them.) The deal came with 2 adult breakfast buffet--which was indeed worth it! Some hotels offer free breakfast which will make you cringe and say no wonder it was free.. Rays omelettes were superb! All the rooms had an ocean view( the ad says newly renovated which is true, nice bed,fluffy pillows,clean and decently sized bathroom, plus a full size fridge!)--the heated pool was fair enough, the beach and the Springmaid Pier( free to get in just show your room key--and if you'd want to go fishing --which my hubby did it was $7.99 to do so from opening until midnight) were just steps away from the resort,housekeeping service everyday.The bestest thing that I liked-- was the resort's location --not situated near the hustle and bustle of downtown Myrtle beach, though it was just minutes away from all the entertainment--we wanted to relax, enjoy some special family time during spring break-- and let me tell you-- Indeed we got it! It's like your own private island!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience with us. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We decided to pass through Myrtle Beach from Charleston, SC back to Indiana just to see if there were any changes from years passed. We came in from south of the strip and noticed Springmaid Beach Resort as we rolled in. We decided to drive the strip to check alternatives but returned to Springmaid and we are glad we did. This was an awesome stay. The room was spacious and very clean. The staff were very courteous and informative. When we go back to Myrle Beach this will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience with us. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assonet, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A great value. No frills but all the necessities in a beautiful setting. Close to many activities but away fro honky tonk areas. Quiet beautiful beach and pier. Rooms are quiet clean great views but lack adequate sitting area. ..

Room Tip: Be sure you check out "suite" layout. May not work for every one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience with us. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

About 10 years ago, we experienced our first stay at Springmaid and since then we've made an annual stay and a couple of times we returned twice in one year. We've found that Springmaid never has wavered even once to the care and concerns of their guests. I have experienced a concern so I voiced it to staff and it was taken care of immediately. I must emphasize the cleanliness of the entire resort,. That is important to us as it should be.
Do not hesitate to stay at Springmaid Beach Resort if considering a vacation in Myrtle Beach. You'll be spending your hard earned money wisely,. All needs in one setting. Restaurant (great food & Rays breakfast omelets) gift shop, cafe and pier just to name a few perks of staying there. One setting has it all for a great vacation.
Lastly, once you experience Springmaid, you'll not stay anywhere else.
Back home with great memories and thoughts of our next visit. Thanks again, Springmaid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience with us. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife needed a few days away from Georgia clay (she's allergic) and Myrtle Beach was just what we wanted. She found Springmaid Beach Resort on the web and it is far enough away from the Grand Strand honkey tonk that it appears to be all alone, plus it is next to Myrtle Beach State Park. We loved the recently renovated rooms, which had no feather pillows and no odorban smells (all rooms are smoke free) -- there was nothing but clean ocean air. We loved the ocean view and Ray's custom made omelets. We will return in the fall for a longer stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience with us. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We came to Myrtle Beach on very short notice for a funeral. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in a pet friendly room because we had our two dogs with us and my husband and I were both blown away with how nice the room was. There was even a special fenced in area outside for our dogs to run off their leashes. The hotel was very sympathetic to our situation and allowed us to have a complimentary late check out time because the funeral was in the morning and ran past the check out time. We are so thankful that we stayed here and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and especially to guests with pets!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience with us. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.