We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was only here for one night for a short conference. We were very happy with the room for the off season rate that we received. The weather was not very warm so we did not spend any time enjoying the outside amenities. The location was good and not in an extremely busy location which was nice. Our room was clean and very spacious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed an enjoyable vacation with us. We feel our resort is a hidden ‘gem’ as the beach is usually less crowded than everything north of us. Thank you for making us apart of your vacation and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    500
    169
    88
    113
See reviews for
832
417
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have stayed here twice now. We stayed in the Palmetto building the first time which gave us a direct view of the ocean. We could also park on the same level as our room. It was nice and clean and there were lots of things to do there. The second stay was at the Live Oak building. We had a side room where you could see the ocean but not really look straight out at it as the first building we were in. It was clean, but the towels were not very soft at all. Both had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in them and both had comfortable beds. If we go back, I would ask for the Palmetto again. All the people that worked there were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed both stays. I would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We feel our resort is a hidden ‘gem’ as the beach is usually less crowded than everything north of us. Thank you for making us apart of your vacation and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I purchased two of the one night stay in a deluxe room at the Springmaid resort that I used this past weekend to celebrate my birthday (March 30& 31) What Groupon and Springmaid failed to tell the purchaser was that the Springmaid has serious renovations going on and half of the resort is off limits, and I had called a week prior to going, and visited the facilties website, NOTHING about the renovations. According to the groupon deal we would have access to 6 pools (2 heat) which was a HUGE selling point for me, 2 restaurants (one closed for renovations) and deluxe accommodations with 2 Queen size beds. Well, due to the renovations, 4 of the 6 pools where closed, and the one heated pool we had access too was so cold you couldn’t swim in it, not only that, but we had to walk across a construction zone to get to it.
When I booked my stay with them, I was told I would be in the Palmetto Dunes building, which at the time according to Springmaid had the only deluxe rooms available. When we arrived, we were placed in the Live Oaks building, which half was closed for renovations, so instead of a peaceful and relaxing stay, we woke to the sounds of hammers, drills, and workers for the weekend. The room in my opinion was a standard with two full beds, not queen size. The parking was a nightmare, and the staff was rude, and very unapologetic about the inconvenience they caused.
Would not recommend this place to anyone. I was by far the worst trip I have ever taken

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. We appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we value your comments, feedback and your business with us.I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreland, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have vacationed here the last four summers and always look forward to coming back. It is a total package with the ocean view, newly remodeled rooms, pier, and great beach for a good value.

It is not crowded like the high rises up the beach, instead it borders a state park with plenty of uncrowded beach to stroll on. The resort is off the main drag, so there is no road noise. It is near the airport approach path, but there is an airport curfew and we rarely notice the air traffic over the sound of the ocean.

There are two dining options on sight, as well as, a microwave and full size refridgerator/freezer in the rooms. My wife gets up early to view and photograph the sunrise from the room balcony. My son and I body surf until we're exhausted.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the Palmetto Dunes and White Oak. The last two visits, we have upgraded to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We feel our resort is a hidden ‘gem’ as the beach is usually less crowded than everything north of us. Thank you for making us apart of your vacation and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

OK, I see this place is rated high as a resort. Frankly I don't see it. However I am attending a conference in the on site conference center.This is the worst facility I have seen in my career - 35 years in buisiness. The management has not made much of an effort to maintain the facility. NO directional signs for what's going on. The events have to do make their own. When you enter the conf. center you enter a GIANT cavernous old and NOT very well lit ballroom. Get on the elevator and head up. Old, out of style, uncomfortable, crappy facility. The restrooms are not even clean or well kept. It's like the conference center is an after thought. Needs a total Re Do. I would definitely NOT plan a conference for this place - It's embarrassing.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. We appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we value your comments, feedback and your business with us.I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have enjoyed staying at Springmaid Resort at least a couple times a year for many years! We love the convenience of having a pier to walk and fish, a novelty gift shop, the spacious grounds, the clean and comfortable rooms, and the friendly staff. We first started vacationing at Springmaid because of the reasonable prices and activities for the kids, and now that the kids are gone, we're on our own to enjoy Springmaid Resort for the convenient south Myrtle location, just blocks from movies, shopping, and attractions. We especially like the package which includes the buffet breakfast...That's the best way to start the day at the beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean view. We haven't stayed in a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We value your business and we appreciate you making Springmaid a vacation tradition. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I went this past weekend to the SC Square Dance Convention. We were assigned a room in the Cypress Building. The Cypress is far below the standard of the other two buildings. The 3 story building has no elevator. The door to the room (metal) had dents in several places and rubed the floor and ceiling when the door was opened (hard to open and close.). The light switch in the bathroom (contained a comode and tub with a showerhead....no sink, no mirror) might turn on the light....might not. No soap or shampoo. The sink in the entrance to the room didn't have a "stopper" so it would not hold water. The buttons on the phone to call the front desk, restaurant, pier, etc didn't work. Coffee maker had old, used coffee bag in it and the top of the pot was filthy. Had friends from my city who were assigned the room next to ours....who moved out due to mold in the shower (suspect we had mold too, as each morning when we got up my wife had a headache and I had sinus prblems....both cleared up after being out of the room a few hours.) Visited friends who were in LiveOak....the Cypress is "well below the standards" of the other buildings. For fear of getting a room in the Cypress.....I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE. THE CYPRESS BUILDING SHOULD BE TORN DOWN (not even rentavated)

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. We appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we value your comments, feedback and your business with us.I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guests I can assure you that if you decide to return your stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.