We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dog friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We were placed in the Cypress section of the hotel as it is the dog friendly area of the property. The building location is nice. There is a big open area for dogs to exercise and do their business. Right over the sand dunes is the beach. Great access to the beach. Beautiful views. The room/building itself was not much to brag about. There was a funny smell but since these are the dog friendly rooms I didn't stress about it. It's understandable. The beds were soft and clean. The tv worked fine, decent channel selection. Didn't go to the beach to watch tv so it was fine. The alarm clock/iPod dock was pretty dusty and dirty so I did not use it to charge my phone. All rooms are ocean view and have a balcony which is nice. Even on the main floor level. My dogs enjoyed it. There is a nice table/seating area to eat. Full size refridgerator in the room and microwave. I did not use the coffee pot but the did have one in the room.
The bathroom was ok. It was clean. It was hard to open and close the door because it kept hitting the light fixture. The tub spout was dangling but it worked.
Overall the room was ok. Still good for the price we paid. I would have been more disappointed at the room as my expectation per the website said all new and remodeled but we spoke to some of the employees who advised this was the building that had not been updated yet and the Palmetto building would soon be dog friendly.
Great location. Ideal on the beach. Private. Awesome pier. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and comments about your most recent stay with us. Were glad to see that you mentioned dog friendly, we allow dogs in this area of property and we hope all dogs enjoy their time at Springmaid Beach Resort. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    470
    160
    87
    110
See reviews for
807
394
28
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Room was great size with a full size fridge and plenty of room, Wonderful view of the ocean from private balcony. Great being right on the pier. Beach was clean.Service was great. I needed more ice than my fridge could produce, so I called front desk and they brought me a whole bag within 5 minutes.. Check in guy went above and beyond to get me in a good room.Wifi was only problem

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for your comments and feedback, we sincerely appreciate your comments and your business. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we didn't get to enjoy the resort much. there on business. but the room was comfortable and clean. front desk personnel were friendly and very helpful. internet service wasn't great but that could have been due to construction. the construction never bothered us though. very beautiful grounds and right on the beach! very pleased with our stay and we will be back! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and comments. We value your business. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath Springs, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

my daughter and I wanted to go to the beach for New Years. Being a member of Founders Federal Credit Union, we were able to get a very decent rate. It was nice having a 'frig' in our room but I wish the temp of the water in the indoor pool had been a little warmer as it was so cold we were not able to swim and enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We strive to take good care of all of our guests, and I'm glad you were able to come and enjoy a visit with us. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the Live Oaks building for the weekend of the Polar Plunge for Special Olympics. I have stayed there in years past and was very impressed with the new renovations. The room was very clean and the decor very nice. The beds were very comfortable. Check-in was fast and easy. As always, we enjoyed our weekend get-a-way to Springmaid. It's a perfect location and the beach was beautiful. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

All rooms in all 3 buildings are oceanfront with a balcony. Recently renovated and clean. Winter rates are excellent. 2 restaurants on site, though 1 only serves breakfast and the other closes by 6pm.

Somewhat of a confusing complex - as first timers we found ourselves taking many extra steps due to poor layout.

Problems initially with phone reservationist. Required a call back to straighten out.

Problems with our entry door required 2 calls to get assistance.

Housekeeping did not come to freshen the room even though I called several times and was assured they would.

That said, it is a lovely private beach and if you can work around the above, it makes for a nice weekend.

Within walking distance to Myrtle Beach State Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our resort was not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great property, AAA+ service, very nice and pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend for those looking for a quiet getaway. The property is at the beginning of the world famous strip, no traffic, secluded, great security. Buffett cafeteria was top notch with hot and good food, able to eat at the property and enjoy the beach views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We appreciate your comments on our resort and staff, we value your business. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.