We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in the winter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 15% OFF!!!
Ranked #16 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place to stay in the winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I usually visit friends in the Myrtle Beach area every Thanksgiving and always stay at Springmaid hotel. It's right on the beach, the rooms are spacious and have full size refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, etc. All the comforts of home plus the rooms I've stayed in have had balconies overlooking the ocean (not sure if all rooms do, though, check before making a reservation.) The rates are very reasonable in the winter, averaging about $70 per night including taxes. Can't beat it for value. My room rate included a daily breakfast buffet for two-- nothing fancy but a pretty good selection of items including made-to-order omelettes. The hotel has just recently completed a minor renovation of some of the rooms updating the decor a bit. Overall, I'm always very satisfied staying here.

Room Tip: One of the buildings does not have an elevator -- make sure when you confirm which building you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Were glad to see you have a Thanksgiving Tradition of staying with us. We also value your comments on our rooms and breakfast. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    939
    460
    156
    87
    108
See reviews for
798
386
27
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I checked in without a hitch but arriving at our accommodation, we found there was no elevators and five floors! I was 1 month out of a total knee replacement. We drove back to registeration and my wife told of our situation.The woman at registeration felt compassion and upgraded us at no charge to another lodge with elevators. However, the lodge was being redone, i.e. carpet torn up, rough concrete.
I believe we should have been informed prior to check-in.
While pleased with all staff and their efforts to make our stay more pleasant, we would have preferred to stay at a building that had already been refinished.

Room Tip: Make sure an elevator is available Make sure all refinishing work is complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were there recently during the Craftshow and just had the best time! Rooms were updated. Duvet covers were so nice!
If you have never been to the craftshow I highly recommend it. So many wonderful things to look at and buy for all ages.
There were some renovations going on at the time, but we were not inconvenienced at all.
I enjoyed watching the planes come in and out and the staff couldn't have been nicer!
We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for your comments on our Craft Show, we really enjoy having that event here each year. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time here but it won't be our last. We enjoyed the resort. The room was big, just as pictured. We stayed in the Palmetto Bldg, there was a refrig. and a microwave. Renovations are being done, but it did not effect us, our room had already been finished. Check in was fast, easy to find the room, parking deck goes to the 4th floor and we stayed on the 5th floor. The resort is in the flight path of the airport, but the noise did not bother us. Free WiFi in the room.We did not eat there, there are so many good places close to the resort to eat at. Shopping is close, with several choices. The beach was clean, and the pier was close to the room. The outside pool area was getting a make over.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a great stay from the moment we checked in - the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful - to the room being clean, the beds comfortable. The plus was the breakfast and the parking garage located on site: we could actually walk from our car to the room - no stairs or elevator required. As for the breakfast, be sure to try the omelet station - freshly made omelets. Great idea. The peer and beach were wonderful to walk on. The hotel grounds were clean and well maintained. The indoor pool great to swim in - clean and warm. Even the hotel location was great as it was at the end of Ocean Blvd so away from the noisy traffic of the main part of the beach but very close to Coastal Grand Mall, Market Common and access to the "fast" 17. We are planning to return to this hotel within a few months.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view but if you would like a straight-on view then ask for the Palmetto buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have spent time at the Spring Maid many times over the last 7 years. The rooms have always been clean with outstanding service from the staff. the grounds have been clean and well maintained. A major plus is the breakfast that "Ray" does every morning. We would recomend the Spring Maid with only minor issues.

Room Tip: Request an end room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago5008
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We got a Groupon for this place and decided to try it out for a mini vacation in November. We did not know that Myrtle Beach tends to get pretty cold but that is our own fault. However, the hotel really is not made for cold weather either. All of the rooms have an exterior entrance. The rooms themselves were pretty decent...good size, clean and good layout. However, they do not look like "newly" remodeled rooms. It is more like a few quick things were changed so that it could be called a newly remodeled room. There were a lot of details that still looked dated. The balcony in the room was great, facing the ocean. In the summer, that would be totally awesome. We even made use of it in the cold. The resort claims to have "indoor" pools however, that is a bit misleading. In order to get to the indoor pool, you have to go outdoors. Plus, there is no locker room or anything in the pool area, so you have to run back to your room in the cold. The only reason we visited the pool during our trip was because we had promised our four year old that she would get to go swimming. Otherwise, it really wasn't worth the trouble. The breakfast food looked ok but it was cold. The "restaurant" feels more like a cafeteria and after the first day, we just decided to skip it and have a good breakfast elsewhere in town. It is nice to have mini golf on the property and in the summer, I'm sure there would be even more activities to enjoy on the property. In general, I would say skip staying here in the winter months. In the summer, it would probably be a good place to stay especially if a view of the ocean is important to you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We appreciate your comments and feedback on your recent stay with us, we value everything mentioned in your review. I'm sorry that we fell short on your expectations. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.