We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Large but not inviting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Savannah, Ga.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Large but not inviting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The resort is spread out among numerous buildings. Upon arriving we had a hard time finding the check in office. Upon arrival the lobby was nice and inviting. The clerk was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were supposed to be recently renovated but did not appear to have been recent. The room did have a flat screen TV in the bedroom which was a good size. The TV in the living room (small flat screen) was not HD and s The room had what was need to be small suite. The furniture was somewhat dated and the rooms were not the most inviting with comfort. The first and second nights in the room we were visited with several roaches but none after those that were killed. The heating/AC unit in the living room was loud and the thermostat was broken so you had a lot of heat or none. A large space under the front door allowed cold air to constantly come under it into the kitchenette. Upon advising the front desk I was advised that they would notify housekeeping. The bathroom and shower were out dated. Breakfast was served in what appeared to be large cafeteria with no atmosphere. It was cool outside and had a cold feeling inside. There was no one to take the breakfast ticket on the first day and we had to just fin for ourselves. The breakfast appeared to be great but the food (sausage and bacon) were not of good quality. They did have an omelet station (Ray's Famous Omelets) which were exceptional. Ray was full of personality and very enjoyable to talk to. None of the pools (6) were heated and there were very few activities at the facility in cool weather. Upon arrival there were no carts to move luggage on, had to go searching for one and the same thing happened the morning of checkout.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I am sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guest I can assure you that if you decide to return you stay will be one with positive memories.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    487
    165
    88
    112
See reviews for
825
407
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

This is one if the best hotels in myrtle beach. It's in a safe area, security rides around checking to make sure everything is okay. This is a nice, relaxed, and family oriented hotels. Easy ocean access, its quiet in the room, you can't hear anything from other rooms. I love staying at Springmaid. The only thing is there is no hot tub, but hopefully they will add one soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

this was a really nice holiday and I would recommend the Springmaid Beach Resort for others. The rooms are modest, clean and priced affordably. It was very convenient location for us. We were using our boat at Murrel's Inlet and part of our family resides in Conway S.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson SC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the best place to stay for Thanksgiving. There is something for everyone. The pier for fishing, art at the museum and throughout the resort and of course, wonderful meals at Marlin's. Shopping is just a hop and a skip. Lots of area for walking for exercise is always a plus, especially if you have difficulty walking in the sand. The only thing missing was a spa which was there some time ago, but now is gone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great place to stay.clean rooms,great view. Really good breakfast at marlins?going back for vacation during4th of July week.2013. Make sure to get your breakfast buffet included with your room. Worth every penny, going in casual is a bound.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front and as high up as you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The new renovations make these rooms the best on the grand strand, plus you can't beat the beautiful landscapes and private beach setting. Each room has it's own balcony and oceanview not to mention the most comfortable beds! It's nice to be on the quieter end of Myrtle Beach but close enough to the main attractions and shopping.

Room Tip: The Live Oak building is closest to the Pier and BARnacles restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. Thanks for your comments on our recently completed room renovations, and most of all your comment on "best rooms on the strand" We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first time staying at Springmaid and look forward to coming back. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Our room was nice and clean. The beds were sooooooo comfortable; made for a great night's rest. The grounds were very well kept. It was nice having the fishing pier right there for my husband who loves to fish. The only thing missing was a vending machine for snacks. Had to go to the pier for snacks.

Room Tip: Parking garage is very tight. Back in to the parking space if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Springmaid's location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, full-sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features 6 pools, 2 lazy rivers, Marlin's Buffet Restaurant, the beachfront BARnacles Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, game arcade, fitness room, gift shop, tackle shop, ample complimentary parking, and complimentary wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. Springmaid offers a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.