We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and affordable with loads of amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“Reasonable and affordable with loads of amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

On the beach, nice water park that is reasonably priced for a family across the street. Personnel were extremely nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    354
    201
    202
    437
See reviews for
846
155
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

After all of the poor reviews we were somewhat unsure of how we would enjoy our stay. However our stay in the Driftwood building was a great value for the price. The room was clean and neat but could have been upkept a bit better. The location and the staff that we encountered could not be beat at any price. Our oceanview room was literally steps from the beach and the view from our balcony was great. The pools were spotless and really located everywhere. Once again, It wasn't four star by any means but we really enjoyed our stay for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Check in was rough but after that things went pretty smooth. Maid service was Great!!!
Our room was clean. Be careful if you can't climb stairs, Don't choose the Dunes building unless it's the 1st floor. A couple of the pools were cloudy especially the indoor pools. The Family Package was a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We had a great time. We were completely afraid that this place was going to be a dump after reading all of the reviews, but that wasnt the case. Check in was a breeze, the room was okay, it could have used some paint and maybe a new couch. Bathroom was okay but dated. The family suite was nice for the price. We stayed five days and paid 740 and some change. I dont think it gets any better than that and we had an oceanfront suite. The room overall was clean, but again, could have used some paint. Nice selection of cable channels. We didnt have any roaches in our room and I didnt see one not even in the hallway in passing. The staff came and redded up everyday which was really appreciated. THE BUGS DO COME OUT AT NIGHT THOUGH, but only outside and I mean can you blame them with the warm weather and the restaurants and water which they love. We were so afraid that they were going to come out at night in our room, but again, didnt see one. The out datedness of the building and rooms makes it appear as if you will have bugs, but we didnt. We thoroughly enjoyed all of the pools, the arcade, the waterpark, and my youngest son loved the miniature golf. Someone left a review saying that it was 50 years old, and I will say it to was dated, but it was free and so quit complaining. Its not Nemacolin Woodland's for Chrisake. He loved it nonetheless and I was glad. Breakfast at Tena's French Toast was to die for and it is a buffet, but they are real SLICK with all the salt they put in everything that you will not go for a second round. We enjoyed Family Kingdom as well. We didnt use our drink vouchers so I cant review Three Steps Down. oh, did I mention we stayed in the Spray building. Now we even did laundry on site which I was deathly afraid of because of the bugs but again didnt see them, but they were there at night for sure all outside of the buildings. We enjoyed our stay. Someone lied and said the Spray Building played music all day and night which is a lie because we were on the 3rd Floor above the Cabanna and its free entertainment and I appreciated the acts. Overall, we could not complain. We spent maybe about 700 total for leisure activities and food and with the 741 for the 5 days turned out to be a real reasonable last vacation for our family. The drive down and drive back were tops as well, so no complaints here. The one problem I did have was the key card reader didnt work all the time and you had to play with it. That was frustrating but nothing to cry over.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

The website is extremely misleading. I got the family suite and the rooms were very,very small. I stayed in the Spray building on the second floor. I was never informed of a bar being directly below my room, yes they turned a hotel room into a bar with music all day and night and some live music on the weekend. Very loud all day and night. The staff at the hotel was polite but as far as Tena's restaraunt, they were extremely rude and needed to learn English. The water park is nothing to brag about, in fact the staff there was not friendly and my two children and I only went once out of five nights. The children's pool they advertise was so far away you had to drive to it. The minature golf place is a joke, there was never anyone there and looks about 50 years old. Please, do your homework and find another place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

stayed @ the Sandcastle building w/our teenage nephew, and brought our Boston Terrier this was our 5th time to MYB 1st time @SeaMist
Check in/out was quick about 15 mins, not 7 hrs like some say. If you get to any hotel hours b4 check in and expect to get in right away, umm hello you are not.

They let pets, thats why we chose it, but you have to expect at least a random note of pet odor in the air, as we did, but we noticed they come in the morning and bleach the hallways so the halls were clean and the room was clean.

They did have a drainage problem in the pool area and garage(we stayed during rainy season tho) The locatilon is great right between all the major attractions, everything is pretty much in walking distance.
I would recommend this hotel to pet lovers and people w/small children. they also had and arcade across the street that was pretty big. Did not eat at Teena's but the Dennys on kings highway about 3 blocks away and 1 back was awesome, and normally I do not prefer denny's run of the mill, but that location was awesome went there late night and service was nice and food was HOT! n Fresh!

RECOMMEND: Ripleys aquarium, and museum, Broadway @ the Beach, Denny's kings highway, Barc Parc dog park behind Myrtle Beach State Park, 3miles down ocean Blvd, Peaches Corner for the best footlongs, Dragons Lair Mini Golf @ Broadway @the Beach.

About the bug reviews, we did see beadles, and other tropical bugs (lizards too), when you have a tropical environement like the beach, warm, plenty of water and food, It is inevitable to see bugs, a lot of hotels on the strip have bugs and lizards etc. but I did not see any in the room (thank goodness) not doubting other people did, and maybe some roaches? I did not see the roaches though, so? With any hotel people form all around the world stay there, and can bring bugs W/them when they travel. I always bring cleaning supplies w/me & check my bags when I leave if it is a 2 star or 5 .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was our fourth consecutive vacation at the Sea Mist. It has served our family well because we travel with two teenagers, so the family value package was worth it. My parents began staying at the Sea Mist in the 1970's and we have continued, but this may have been our last year. The staff is friendly, we enjoy the waterpark, we ate at Teena's and Downunder and the food was good. Yes, the breakfast buffet line can get long, so you either have to get there early or wait. I am very sorry to say that the upkeep of the buildings is not good and it doesn't present a good appearance. Two years ago I wrote a nice letter to the management with my survey and suggested they fix a few things. We were in the same building this year and they still haven't been fixed. The indoor pool is in poor condition, my wife and I didn't even go in it this year. It seems like they are trying to sell condos and then replace everything and postponing their maintenance. I hope that's not the case becasue they are going to lose their longtime customers who can tell how the place has deteriorated. We've never seen bugs, our room has always been very clean and the staff has always been very friendly. Since it is family owned, I wish they would invest in their property because we are going to look at other places next year which we never did before.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in Family Vacations, Championship Golf Packages, Myrtle Beach Adventures, and Group Travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site Water Park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot Oceanfront Children's Activity Pool. Multiple Restaurants, Tavern, Arcade, Underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.