We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average... Needs improvement ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average... Needs improvement ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My family and I vacationed here from 7/24-7/29. I was told on the phone that check in was at 2pm and when we arrived at the resort driving all the way from Ohio they told me it was at 4pm. We said that was fine and went and got lunch. When we went back to check in the room they have us was not the correct room and it had not even been cleaned yet. There was waste in the toilet, beds a mess, and trash in the room. We went back to the front desk and explained this was unacceptable and we were given a temporary room for the night. The next day the gave us an upgrade to a bigger room with an ocean view. I was really happy to see that they made it right I have been to other places that don't. The rooms were average noting fancy about them. If you are going here in hopes of an updated and fancy place this is the wrong place for you. For the value you really can't beat it. The only problem we had was with check in, but it was fixed and the rest of our stay was enjoyable. The beds were comfy and bathrooms were pretty big. I would not go back to the myrtle beach area, but I would recommend this hotel to friends or family that was traveling on a budget.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    393
    233
    232
    493
See reviews for
944
175
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I was very nervous after reading some of the reviews on the seamist but I had already booked the room. When we arrived, the check in line was long but surprisingly it didn't take that long to get thru it and our room was ready. We were very pleased with our oceanfront room, it was the exact room that we had booked and our view was great. Only problem we really had was the parking, it was horrible. Overall, our stay at the sea mist was wonderful and we would return there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I did not stay at this resort, but my group did and I was able to experience the rooms and amenities. I did not stay at the resort with my group due to the terrible reviews I read on this site. I can only speak for the Driftwood building.

Yes, the hotel is old, the decor is dated. However, the lobby is clean and organized. The staff are friendly and helpful. I did not see or smell anything foul the whole weekend.

The rooms are very clean also. The floors in the rooms are laminate which is good for a beach hotel. There were two double beds, a refrigerator and microwave. The televisions were the old bulky style. Each room had a different brand tv, but they were all old. The beds were a bit worn and smaller than you'd expect for a hotel, I thought Queen is standard. The bedspreads are ugly and who knows if they are washed and how often. The bathroom was small but clean.

The food and service at the group activities was very good. The pools and water activities looked fine. Parking was a challenge, but not terrible.

I am very picky when it comes to hotel accommodations. I would stay at this resort for a couple of days no problem. The group price was $126 per night which is a huge value for prime season right on the beach. I paid three times as much for my hotel six blocks down the road.

If you need budget accommodations, give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamtramck, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We went to the Sea Mist for a family reunion. I did not know there were so many buildings at the sea mist. We stayed at the old projects building the Sand Castle. There were 12 or 15 floors. There was only 1 of the 2 small elevators working. No shower mats or hand towels. The towels had so much fuzz on them, I needed to get back in the shower to rinse it off. There was a coffee maker but when we asked for coffee they said they did not offer any even though on their t.v. channel they tell you to make sure to get some of the free coffee for the coffee maker. The breakfast and everything else was across the street with no shuttle. I had my 85 year old mother and my Aunt who is recovering from open heart surgery. Had to take a cab accross the street. You would think with so many buildings, a shuttle should be offered. The only plus it was on the ocean.

Room Tip: We had family stay in other buildings and saying how nice they were. The Sand Castle is the oldest b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt airy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My family stayed here July 24-27,2014. We loved it. It was very clean and the staff was friendly. The beds were a little lumpy and the pillows are flat, but housekeeping brought 4 extra pillows. The pools are clean with plenty of clean towels.We decided to park in the garage instead of trying to find a place outside. Check-in took about 20 minutes because some woman was trying to get an oceanfront family room in a booked hotel.We are staying again in September.There aren't many hotels that has smoking and pet rooms in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: bring your own pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The best thing I can say is it is right on the beach. It is in much need of repairs, but is understaffed. They were very friendly and tried to accomadate us as much as possible. My suggestion... Bring slippers to wear in the room unless you want to sweep sand hourly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved everything sea mist had to offer for us and our three kids! We stayed in the dunes building and our room was ready when we arrived at 1:00 and check in isn't til 4. It was clean and the pool and jacuzzi were clean too. Housekeeping came daily and the pool and jacuzzi were cleaned every morning. Don't read the bad reviews because their isn't one bad thing I will say about this place! We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in Family Vacations, Championship Golf Packages, Myrtle Beach Adventures, and Group Travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site Water Park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot Oceanfront Children's Activity Pool. Multiple Restaurants, Tavern, Arcade, Underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.