We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“older hotel.........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbus, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“older hotel.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was really scared to stay at this hotel after reading all the reviews. This is one of the older hotels on the beach. It isn't a luxury hotel by any means. However it was clean and reasonable priced. I'm sure back in its day.....it was awesome! The staff were readily available if we needed anything and answered all our questions. I would definitely go back based on value

Room Tip: We stayed at the Tides building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    393
    233
    232
    492
See reviews for
944
175
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel needs to be demolished. It is roach infested, filthy and smells. The customer service is the worse. The kitchen cabinets and stoves are nasty, grimey, and greasy. I took my family and I clothes to the laundromat when I fot back home to md. I refuse to take my luggage home. There was a big cock roach in my car, from one of my bags. The housekeeper Sharon curse me out in front of my kids. I wouldnt send a homeless person to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nice family get away. You get use of their water park included in your stay among other perks. Could use some sprucing up, but still a good value. I think kids go back to school sometime in August in SC and prices are best mid August and later. Nice tropical atmosphere and lots of pools and hot tubs to choose from in addition to the water park and amusements.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found this place on hotels.com......bad move! This place was a dump. It should have been a sign when we were registering that the trashed lady in the waiting room, the number of security people around, and the people who were waiting for the police to come because their money was stolen should have been a sign. We got out of there as fast as possible. I would never recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Let me start by saying this is not the Four Seasons so if your looking for luxury accomodations pass on this location and move on to the next.

This place is great for families vacationing on a budget. We got the Family Kingdom package which included free admission to the waters parks and amusement parks, free breakfast @ Teena's breakfast buffet for 4 people for 1 day, each adult receives a complimentary cocktail upon arrival and free entree. We stayed in the SandCastle Building, this is one of the older buildings, the rooms were a tad small but clean with a full kitchenette and all the dishs/pots/pans etc provided. Upon arrival the floor still had sand on it but housekeeping quickly remedied the situation. All the staff was courteous and more than happy to please their customers. Our building was right on the beach, we had an indoor pool as well as an ourdoor pool w/hot tub.

I abosolutely loved our stay here and can't wait to come back next year. Our family does not go on vacation to stay in the hotel room so the accomedations were perfect for us.

I would recommend this resort for any families vacationing on a budget.

Room Tip: Try to book the Tides Building all of these rooms have been updated and include flat screen TV's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our room was acceptable for the price, housekeeping service was very good, but this place definitely needs repairs. We checked in, were given directions to our bldg (Sandcastle), and since our room number was 10120, I asked the guy at the check-in desk if we had been put on the 10th floor, and he said "Oh, yes". I thought "Great, we'll have a good view of the ocean from our balcony". When we got to our bldg, we discovered it had only 9 floors ??!! 2 elevators for the bldg, only one was working and it was soooo slowwww, barely large enough for us and our luggage cart. I had to walk back across the street to the check in desk to find out where the 10th floor was supposed to be on a 9-story bldg, and the same guy who said there were 10 floors told me the "10120" meant 1st floor... Which was pretty much "underground", the underground parking was right outside our door. We had the pool right outside our patio doors, which was ok, the a/c was so noisy we couldn't hear noise from the pool anyway. But our view was like being in a canyon, we had the crumbling balconies of the other 8 floors above us, and a cement wall up to the above ground parking next door on the other side, with the indoor pool and hot tub on the end, so we were enclosed on 3 sides, no view of the ocean, just the sky. There was no cover on our a/c unit, our "patio" was used by whoever felt like sitting there while in the pool area. The sliding door that led to the pool area had no latch, only a sliding gate-type lock at the top to secure it, and it had to be jammed into place in order to lock the door. The curtain covering the door was missing hooks so we had to push a chair up against the door to hold the curtain in place for privacy. There were old cigarette butts in the cracks by our door, and bottle caps in the corner of our "patio". As for mildew or mold, the pool deck WAS washed down every morning, but it's August and humid as all heck there, unless they use bleach and pine sol there isn't much to be done to keep the outside spotless. We had no bugs in our room, but there were lots of dead roaches in the parking garage outside our door each morning, and I really hope they were palmetto bugs and not cockroaches. The sundecks and other areas facing the ocean were nice, I DID see trash laying on the floor of the parking garage but let's face it, some slob dropped it, and I didn't expect the hotel to have someone lurking at every corner waiting to jump out and pick things up. It IS old, the photos are deceptive, but I guess you get what you pay for. Mattresses were soft and lumpy, pillows thin and hard, I didn't care for Myrtle Beach in general, and the ocean was kind of rough for my taste, so I won't be going back, but if I did, I would not even consider staying here. I would definitely look for one with a much better rating..

Room Tip: if you want to see the ocean from the Sandcastle Bldg, whether in an ocean front room or ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley WV
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The stay was really nice and the rooms were clean. The only problem we had with the resort was the days when the weather was not so good, we would have to leave the waterpark completely but people by poolside could stay and not leave the area. The food at the restaurants were very good also. Very nice stay and thanks to the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in Family Vacations, Championship Golf Packages, Myrtle Beach Adventures, and Group Travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site Water Park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot Oceanfront Children's Activity Pool. Multiple Restaurants, Tavern, Arcade, Underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.