We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Vista

Save Saved
You added Island Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Vista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In love!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Island Vista was quiet, peaceful and great in customer service and accommodations! My husband and I plan to return as soon as possible! The brochure and website are accurate. My husband and I enjoyed the Cypress Room, the food was fresh, hot and delicious. The only two points we would ask the hotel to consider is an iron/ironing board in room, and the bar in Cypress Room stay open a little later to accommodate those who wish to stay in the facility and drink. My husband enjoyed the staff, whenever we had questions we were treated excellent and not like a bother. Thank you for being a great establishment and pray our next visit is also a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    608
    166
    52
    35
    14
See reviews for
436
243
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We took a short family vacation to MB this past weekend and stayed here at the Island Vista. Overall, it was a good experience.
The Good: The pool area is fabulous with the lazy river in the grotto with waterfall features, the other pools indoor and out as well as the two hot tubs. My kids were in heaven and preferred the pools to the beach. We stayed in a one bedroom condo. Overall it was nice and spacious. It could potentially sleep 8 I suppose as ours had two queen beds in the bed room, a double murphy bed and a sleeper sofa, however I think 8 would be a tight fit on the murphy and sleeper sofa. The smallish but fully functioning kitchen was equipped with all of the essentials. The ocean front view from our condo was perfect and we took advantage of the balcony while we were there.

The "Not as Good": Upon arrival, I tried to turn on a couple of lamps in the condo for light and two of them had burned out bulbs, no biggie, just a little inconvenient. I went to throw something away in the trash can in the kitchen and saw that it had not been cleaned from the previous tennants. It was overflowing - yuck. The bathroom tub would not drain properly and you would end up standing in ankle deep water when showering. I notified the front desk about the tub issue and it was taken care of prompty. The only time that we visited the restaurant was for breakfast. There was a conference going on in the hotel and they were short staffed in the restaurant. Though the food was great, the service was VERY slow. That being said, those servers were working their tails off, they just had too many patrons for the amount of help scheduled. The parking desk is quite tight. We visited during the off season, so it wasn't as big of a deal for us as I could locate several empty spaces and park where no one was next to me. However, I imagine that during the busy time of the year, the parking could be difficult. We drive a minivan, and obviously smaller vehicles would have an easier time manipulating the tight spaces. That being said, the resort states that there is additional parking for larger vehicles acress the street.

In conclusion, we typically stay at another resort in North MB when we visit so I was a little leary about trying something new. Over all, it was pleasant and I'd say we'd likely return. The nice room, wonderful pool and great view out-weighted the minor issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We rented a 3 br condo. To start, check in was smooth and we were greeted by luggage service upon unloading. The room was very clean and spacious. All the amenities were very clean and full functioning. All pool areas were kept up daily and room service was very helpful in sending us meals when we wanted to eat in. Hotel food was outstanding as well. The outdoor pools were heated so swimming at any time was no problem. The decor and feel of the whole resort was very nice. It boasted a lot of palm trees and plenty of seating around the pool areas, making for a comforting visit. The cleaning staff was on point as well coming daily to do a thorough cleaning. Even washing our dishes!!!! They were very nice also. Parking was very well put together offering a full garage attached to the resort. Overall everything was done professionally and we were given service that was unforgettable. The resort offers many services as well! One of which is the spa service which is a must. My wife and I got a couples massage in the beach in a cabana. This was amazing and must be done if you come!! Everything made for an unforgettable vacation and we now have a new resort when we come to Myrtle Beach!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here first week of September. This is a really nice place but I just can’t give it 5 stars. First the pros: comfortable beds (nice cozy comforters that make you want to stay in bed longer), nice towels, ocean front, friendly staff and employees. Great (although pricey for dinner) restaurant right in the hotel; had a great waiter for dinner but a non-personality waitress at breakfast. In a quiet section of Myrtle Beach, away from the crowds. But, sometimes it’s the little things. No tissues in the bathroom, stains on the carpets, a broken glass in the cupboard, very poor lighting in the bedroom, only a small 3-drawer dresser in bedroom. But the biggest negative of all is the parking situation. There are two parking garages, one on each side of the building. They are a terroristic nightmare. They have very narrow ramps and narrow parking spots. Very hard to maneuver through, with traffic going both ways. (And we don't have a large SUV or minivan, but a Toyota Prius). Also very poorly marked as to what level you are on to know how to get back to your car. If you don’t mind driving in this type of parking garage, then I would recommend this place. Unfortunately I don’t think we’ll be back. Too many other places in Myrtle Beach to check out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review… we always appreciate the kind comments our guests send. Our parking deck seems to be at issue here, though, and your note prompted me to research the dimensions of what might be considered a “standard” parking space. I am happy to find out that our spaces are 9 feet in width which is the motor vehicle department standard (8.5’-9’) in most states… the maintenance technician who helped me determine the accurate size of our spaces actually had his full-size custom 4-wheel drive truck parked in the one we measured. For vehicles like that, though, guests usually prefer the exterior oversize parking spaces, and when they are not being used by vehicles that cannot fit into the parking deck, they are also available for use by anyone who might be apprehensive about driving in parking garages. We post signs in the decks suggesting the use of headlights and driving slowly because it is a parking deck and not as easy as an open parking lot like you might see at a shopping center. However, the building designers placed our decks at each end of the building for the convenience of our guests… they offer direct access to our interior hallways without crossing the street or getting out in the weather.

In any event, our staff is here 24 hours a day to provide the best vacation experience available. If an issue is described by a guest, we immediately go to work to find the solultion, whatever the problem might be. We appreciate your choosing the Island Vista as your recent host in Myrtle Beach. We hope you’ll visit us again… we are at your service, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a beautiful weekend beginning with a gorgeous hotel room with a penthouse view! It was like having a cruise view of the ocean from our living room and bedroom. The balconies had cushioned, lounge chairs for relaxing while enjoying the ocean from our rooms. The accommodations were outstanding and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The facilities were excellent with easy access going down to the ocean. This was our third trip to Island Vista and once again we were very pleased! Our plans and deposits are already made for next summer. The Ashley Family

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and are never disappointed. Rather unassuming on the outside; excellent staff, well appointed rooms and fabulous food on the inside. The restaurant staff is excellent; get to know you. We brought two other couples with us and stayed in a 3-bedroom suite. Plenty of privacy, yet spacious kitchen, dining area and balcony for all to enjoy. Only place in Myrtle Beach that is away from the crowds; we rarely leave once we arrive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eureka, il
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here for a week! The 1 bedroom suite was spacious, very clean with daily housekeeping services. It was right on the beach with a small but adequate balcony overlooking the ocean! Loved watching the waves come in! The beach was quiet and again very clean.
The two swimming pools outside were small but perfect temperature and enjoyable. They had a very cute inside swimming pool especially nice for children that was open but under cover.
There was a free attached garage for our car which was very adequate and led to the rooms without going outside.
Breakfast was delicious and great food with good price!
The cons were paying for umbrellas and chairs-$30/day which we are not used to. We love all inclusive resorts so we were also a bit disappointed in the initial greeting when we arrived. Also, we thought maybe free coffee downstairs in the morning would be a nice touch or a coffee bar.
But all in all, a very nice place.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Otel so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.