We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was one of the best vacations ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Island Vista to your Saves list
Island Vista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Was one of the best vacations ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We planned a vacation and all of a sudden we had 8 people instead of 2. We got to the Island Vista and they had a room for all of us. We were in the pent house. It was one of the most beautiful rooms ever. We went to Italy last year and this had that beat. It was decorated with so many beautiful things. It was so comfortable we had 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, no one complained. It had a kitchen bigger than I was used to. Everything was so plush and we slept looking at the ocean from our bed with our own entrance to the balcony, Should anyone want a special visit to myrtle beach, stay here. The staff is the best when you stay where a family owns it. What a special vacation. We have stayed there many times even when it was a little hotel. The restaurant is the best we had the most awesome dinners. The safety is unbelievable. Thank you to all the workers also. The Chapmans are a wonderful family.

Room Tip: Choose high up for the beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    178
    58
    36
    14
See reviews for
458
262
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Sixteen of us, including five children ages infant through seven, stayed there. The rooms were amazing and immaculately clean. Our two bedroom suite hosted our family of five with ease. The beds and linens are comfortable and lush. Housekeeping was very friendly and accommodating. As people in previous posts have mentioned, parking is tight BUT parking is hectic and tight throughout all of Myrtle Beach and Island Vista has parking attached to the building which is far nicer than other resorts where you have to trek accross or down the street with all of you luggage. The location of the resort is perfect. The beach and pools are not crowded which is a major selling point. Never did we have to search for a pool chair or a spot on the beach. Now for the best part, we had our small wedding at the resort and it was fabulous! Sheila was a pleasure to work with and made sure everything was above and beyond. I could go on and on, but I will simply state that I am one hard lady to impress however I was impressed with the resort and I am so happy it is going to be our special spot forever now. We will be back without a doubt. Enjoy :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful vacation there in May 2013. The ONLY reason it's not getting 5 stars overall is the lack of dining options between breakfast and dinner when the outside bar was not open during cold and rainy weather. However, it will not keep us from returning!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are staying at island vista and there is a rat at the pool that no one seems to be doing anything about. While I do understand that we are outdoors, this rat continually comes up to people's chairs on the pool deck. It went in someone's beach bag yesterday.
My family and I saw it all around the pool area while we were dining at the resorts very pricey restaurant. There was a lady who went and got the manager yesterday and brought him down to the pool - she said the rat has been here since last week and she has brought it to their attention everyday. The maintenance staff came and looked and then left. I certainly do not want a rat by my children while we are trying to relax at the pool. Regardless of the price of this resort (and trust me it is pricey) something should have been done about this immediately! You can bet if we were staying at a Marriott it would have been taken care of immediately. Very Disappointed! Won't be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Well, one thing is for sure, rodents are NOT welcome here! Our Chief Maintenance Engineer schedules cutting-edge pest prevention procedures on a frequent and regular schedule to assure that our guests don’t have such encounters, but our command of nature extends only as far as our property limits. From the edge of our deck beyond, all sorts of creatures exist in their own environment. We did, in fact, walk out across the pool deck in our search, but failed to find the thing… as a result of this lady’s request, our maintenance staff has been diligent, but I think it recognizes their uniforms and disappears every time they approach, because we haven’t had further reports.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention… we’ll certainly keep our eyes open. We appreciate your business and we thank you for choosing the Island Vista as your host in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Island Vista Oceanfront Resort for our honeymoon. The accommodations were wonderful and the service was exceptional! Although the weather did not fully cooperate, we still enjoyed our stay. We are looking forward to celebrating our one-year anniversary there next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was my first time back to Island Vista in over 4 years, and what a pleasure it was. Arrived Thursday for a long weekend, and guest services had been able to move some reservations and put my daughter and I in the Queen Suite a night early. We love going to the Cyprus Room for breakfast each morning, and then heading out to the pool for the day. All of the staff are friendly and courteous, and our stay was fabulous. The rooms, the view, the beach area with certified life guards all made for a great trip! Wish I was still there, but school and work calls, so we will look forward to our next trip with great anticipation. BTW, the Filet Mignon at the Cyprus Room on Sunday night for dinner was outstanding, be sure and ask for the corn pudding. Thank you to all the great staff!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Queen Suite offers a 1 bedroom with two queen beds, and a Murphy Bed that pulls down from the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

very excellent hotel. well kept. they cater to families. very kid friendly. had no problem with housekeeping at all. I highly recommend the resort. you have a great view if you choose ocean front. the hotel is beautiful inside and out. the suites are very spacious.

Room Tip: the suites are good for large families who doesn't like to eat out much. you have all the kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyrtleBeachHotels, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.