We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Myrtle Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Island Vista to your Saves list
Island Vista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from Myrtle Beach and stayed at Island Vista. It was great! First thing I liked was the fact that the pictures the hotel has online are TRUE and ACCURATE. That is what the hotel looks like and the pools and the beach area are exactly what the hotel has posted online. Considering the fact that so many places show you one thing and when you get there it is different, I respect and am very pleased Island Vista was honest. This hotel is in a quiet area but close to everything you need. The Cypress Room has great food and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Due to the cold rainy weather we didn't experience much of the beach or the pool area but the short time we did use those areas we had a good time. Our room which is actually a condo was big and CLEAN. Clean was a huge concern for us. It was clean and the view of the ocean was straight on, not side view or partial view. We reserved a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. It had a king bed in the master bedroom that had a huge window you can look out and see the ocean. The other bedroom had two double beds in it. The living room has a sliding glass door to a balcony which was nice. Full size kitchen with a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, oven and microwave. Each bathroom had a full size tub and was definitely big enough. The living room had a pull out sofa, a chair and a dining room table that would seat 6. Flat screen tv in the living room and a tv in each bedroom. Tons of closets and room to move around. Not cramped at all. Their parking garage has been called tight but it really isn't. No, you can't pull a camper in there but we have a large 4 door sedan and had no problem parking. We saw a lot of SUVs parked it in the garage and they all fit fine. This hotel is away from the ferris wheel and the boardwalk which was fine for us considering we didn't have kids with us and wanted quiet. The ferris wheel and the boardwalk are only a five or ten minute drive away. The area where the ferris wheel and the family fun park and the boardwalk is very crowded. If you want an area that is bustling with people, all kinds of people, and need a souvenir shop and a bar every two feet then that area is for you. We were there on May 5th and it wasn't spring break or senior week and we still saw a ton of young people. Island Vista is a great place to stay and it is a building of condos owned by people who allow Island Vista to rent them out. There is maid service and the restaurant serves a good breakfast and dinner. Because you must be 25 to reserve a room you don't get a lot of noise and partying that can come with the younger crowd. That was good for us middle aged people. If I go back to Myrtle beach I will definitely, no question about it, stay at Island Vista again. Thanks, Island Vista, for making my trip a good one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    177
    57
    36
    14
See reviews for
454
262
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My stay at the Island Vista Resort was a rejuvenating experience, which I witnessed each morning movement and sound of the ocean tides from my oceanfront balcony. I enjoyed the walks and jogs on the beach along with absorbing the sun on the beach recliners that are provided by the Island Vista Resort. The luxury of the Jacuzzi and Oasis (indoor pool) enticed my children and me to return each day. From customer service to the comfort of the suite and other amenities/conveniences made me feel at home. My family and I will definitely stay at the Island Vista Resort again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the second time my husband and I stayed at Island Vista. Beautiful views of the ocean with large, less conjested beach area. Property is clean and maintained excellently. Several pools & hot tubs. There are a variety of sizes of units. The unit we had this time was actually called a suite, with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, large living room.. It was beautifully designed and spacious. Furniture & appliances looked new. Dining room/restaurant provides very good food and service, and views of the ocean waves. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner very much. (The best Grouper meal I've had in MB!) The staff, from the front desk, to the restaurant, to the housekeeping crew, to the bellhop, were always courteous and helpful.

I at first gave them an excellent rating, but changed it due to the only negative I find with the property. The parking layout is not the best. I know parking, and a lack of space, is an issue for many resorts on the waterfront in MB. This is better than some, worse than others. The parking garages are "tight" and not the easiest access to rooms. My husband has mobility issues, so close "handicapped parking" was important. With only two HC spots, and limited 15 min. loading & unloading spots in front of the resort, in a non-garage setting, it caused some turmoil.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I just hosted a conference here, and I was delighted with the outcome. My participants came from all over the U.S., and they raved about the spacious rooms, the reasonable rates, and the incomparable view. The Island Vista is in a peaceful residential neighborhood, and all rooms look directly out on the ocean. The group sales staff is professional and competent, and they will guide you in making all the best arrangements. The food is first rate, and the service staff is warm and accommodating. What a relief--they made event planning relatively painless!

Room Tip: The 3-bedroom condos are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

hotel located in a quiet section of M.B. All rooms have a balcony over looking the ocean. our group - 12 people - were treated very well. Breakfasts were great - had 1 group dinner. Excellent.

Could walk to busy section of M. B but it was probably 1 mile. We drove it; plenty of parking in May but don't know about summer time.
Caution - GPS did not recognize the number of the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A nice beachfront property away from the bussle of "the strip". The staff is very pleasant and welcoming which gives the feel of a much smaller property. Beautiful stretch of beach with nice outdoor and indoor (mostly for kids) pools. Convenient to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront or oceanview. We saved money with a oceanview and had a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great place to stay away from the crowds. The Vista is situated in a residential area which is a quiet street. Our room was very clean & up to date. It was actually more than we had reserved. The staff was kind enough to uprade us to a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite oceanfront!! Great views!! We were close enough to several restaurants on the Grand Strand. The Cypress Room was a nice restaurant & we ate there a couple of times, but my wife & I like to go out & explore the town. All in all, we will return

Room Tip: Always go for the oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.