We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view, what a view!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Island Vista to your Saves list
Island Vista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a view, what a view!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about the Island Vista is the fabulous view and great location. You are at the north end of Myrtle Beach and away from the crowds and traffic of the boardwalk. The staff is courteous amd professional from the front desk clerks to the the room maids. The only downside is that the old girl is getting a little long in the tooth and could use a few minor cosmetic repairs such as the public restrooms and the shabby carpets. Other then these minor problems its hard to find anything that is sub par with the Island Vista. We lookforward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    171
    54
    35
    14
See reviews for
447
249
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jeffersonville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just wanted to say how much I always enjoy my time at Island Vista, for the past three years I have been a "snow bird" from mid January to the end of February. I have found the staff extremely helpful and curteous. The house keeping people do a very good job. Breakfasts in the Cypress Room are excellent. I find it very peaceful and relaxing.
The whole experience has been most enjoyable, I have already booked for next year!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed 5 weeks, very clean, pretty furniture in great condition, liked the heated hallways from the parking deck to our room. Very important during the winter months when its cold and windy. Granite counter tops, dishwasher, refrigerator/ice maker, supplied towels, coffee, soap, shampoo, hair dryer, weekly maid service. Restaurant served an awesome breakfast/great service. Front desk pleasant and housekeeping so helpful. Price alittle bit higher than other hotels we looked at but well worth the extra dollars!

Room Tip: We looked at several rooms on different floors and any of them would have worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This was my family's 4th stay at Island Vista and it will not be our last. Excellent location and for the time of year we come...a great value. We had a couple of minor issues; however the resolution was quick. Great staff as well.....overrall excellent vacation and we cannot wait till 2014!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed at the Island Vista for the past 10 yrs. The last 5 yrs we have stayed here twice/yr. (May & Sept.) Love the Resort, but the people that work there is what make your vacation a pleasure. From Angelica in reservation,(who was WONDERFUL in getting our reservation for May2013 scheduled) to Mikkie at the front desk, also Cabel (sp?) who always greets us with a big smile! We just love it! It is our HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!!!!!!!! This year they have all new sofas, and mattresses in all the rooms.Also replaced dinning tables. I can't wait to get there in May !!!!!
Brenda O.
NC

Room Tip: Any room is great! We like staying in the upper levels. Just a personel pref.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place looks really nice, which it is ok, I think it is way overrated, the parking is horrible and we was there during off season, I could just imagine what it would be like during peak season, the staff isn't very helpful at all, some of them are actually down right rude, one morning I went down for breakfast at 9:45 AM, which I stood there for 5 minutes before someone even noticed I was there, and I was informed that they closed at 10:00 AM, so they wouldn't even wait on me or let me to get it to go, they was really rude about it, and sorta just left me standing there.

The rooms are nice though, I just had a problem with the staff and with the parking, the parking garage is horrible

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about our rooms. We always like to hear the good things from our guests, and are concerned when we hear that someone’s expectations were not met. Our parking decks were designed to be a part of the building for the convenience of our guests… you can come directly into the resort from any level without having to cross the street or walk any distance in the weather. For safety, we post signs that recommend turning on the headlights, and even signs suggesting that you back into the space for ease… for those who have oversized vehicles that are difficult to maneuver in that space, we provide exterior parking just for that purpose.

The Cypress Room has always been a source of pride here at the Island Vista. Our chef receives many awards for his exclusive recipes, and the waiters & waitresses are often the subject of friendly compliments… many guests request a specific wait person that they have known for years. Your experience is a very unusual and regrettable one and would have been better addressed that same day… our management team is always on duty to assure the best service possible in any department here at the Island Vista. Guest service is our top priority, and even though we don’t have the details that might have helped at that time, we have still forwarded your notes to the restaurant staff in an effort to see that our standards are kept high.

We sincerely hope that you will choose to visit us again in the future. Your comments have not gone unaddressed, and will help us to guarantee a better experience during your next stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The Island Vista is probably the best & most unique location to stay in Myrtle Beach. First class accommodations, gracious staff and one of the most beautiful oceanfront destinations in the City. Well worth the visit - never disappoints.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.