We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Vista

Save Saved
You added Island Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Island Vista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There is a reason why Island Vista is rated so highly on Trip Advisor, it is amazing. From the "Castle Theme" indoor pool to the grassy area (with chairs) overlooking the beach, it is beautiful. Because it is surrounded by nice, private homes, the beach is very private.

Room Tip: Every Condo overlooks the beach - just pick the size condo you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    563
    144
    44
    33
    14
See reviews for
390
229
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We go to Myrtle Beach every year for a one week golf vacation. This year we had 7 guys and rented two 3 bedroom condos. Both were very spacious. Fully equipped kitchens. Big dining areas. Up to date (read new) furnishings. 3 baths and very clean. Beautiful ocean view. Indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs. Monitored parking garage. Food was very good in the restaurant as was the service. They are always very accomodating. This was our second visit and we'll back next year. Price was very reasonable and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Let me start by telling you we had 150+ Avon Representatives show up at 3:00 in the afternoon to check in.... The staff was excellent. Everyone made me feel like a VIP, especially Gail at the front desk. She went above and beyond to make my stay extra special. Very clean, we'll appointed rooms. In fact I remember thinking " wow, this is what it would feel like to have my own apartment". But I don't think my hubby would go for that! Haha! The wait staff was excellent. Conference room was a tiny bit small for our group but heck, we could all get to know each other a bit better! I can't wait to take my family back this summer. I get the feeling because the hotel is in a more residential area the beach won't be so packed with tourists. See you soon Mark and Gail!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at this Resort for our 2012 Summer Vacation, and it was very nice. We would go there again. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. It was nice to have a washer/dryer in the room. The Bathroom was a nice size but could use more shelves for personals. On our first day arriving, the kitchen sink sprayer was not working, but they came up and fixed it to work, it was not perfect, but it worked. We had an Oceanfront view, and the balcony was clean and comfortable, and it was also very nice to have the convenience of just stepping out of the Resort and onto the Beach. The room service for food was excellent and delicious, and the Restaurant was also very nice with good food, although you had to wait due to crowding. The staff was friendly and housekeeping was very good. The beds were comfortable, and you get two televisions in the Suites, and of course they have a nice variety of room types for a family to choose from. The Indoor Lazy River is very nice, but it would have been even better if they also added a curly slide for the pool to enjoy. The bathrooms near the pool are not that convenient. We did enjoy our stay at this Resort and we would go there again.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms are Oceanfront, and they do have a variety of room types to select from, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Overall it was an unremarkable stay as the complex needs some tender loving care and upgrading. We stayed in an oceanfront room with a king bed. The room was barely adequate as there was no desk or work area. As there was hardly anybody there we thought they would have given us a better view. Our room, 220, had a nice balcony, but the view was obstructed by a large palm tree. We did have a coffee pot, refrigerator and microwave that all worked. Closet space was ample and there were plenty of hangars.

Maid service was excellent, front desk staff were polite and professional.

The negatives: found and killed 2 cockroaches in the bathroom and the room carpet needs to replaced as it is tired and worn. Our room was across from the laundry area and at times there was quite a bit of noise and loud voices from both inside the area and the hallway. Staff needs to be reminded of their proximity to rooms. At one point it sounded like boisterous children in the laundry area.



Given the time of year the rate was acceptable for this room and it's condition. I wouldn't pay anymore for this room any time of the year.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view you need to ask for a room on a higher floor as the palm trees obstruct yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about our staff and housekeepers. Your reservation was booked with our staff on the phone, and we always try to accurately describe our room types in those conversations… our smallest room type was reserved at that time, and perhaps one of our spacious 1-bedroom suites might have been more suitable for you. We are actually very busy at this time of year… often our guests travel at this time of year for the holiday shows or for the unlimited shopping possibilities in the Myrtle Beach area, and many choose our resort because of our location and convenience to those attractions.

We hear many mixed opinions about the palm trees in the front… some say it definitely adds a tropical air to the scenery, while others prefer a more open view. For this reason, we do offer “categories” of request when booking reservations (high, middle, or low floors). While we cannot guarantee such requests, we always try to please.

Our maintenance staff regularly schedules professional pest control procedures so that our guests do not have encounters like that… however, those creatures do seek the balcony door that might be left open. We do not have and have never had any sort of infestation, and in all areas, we pride ourselves on the constant monitoring and maintenance that allow us to offer the best experience possible for our guests. This year, we have replaced all couches, occasional chairs, coffee tables, and bedding in our units. At this time of year, all carpets are cleaned, stretched, and if need be, replaced… all units are painted and undergo deep cleaning to prepare for the coming year.

Unfortunately, your dissatisfaction was not brought to my attention during your stay. Guest service and satisfaction are our top priorities always here at the Island Vista… we hope you will visit with us again in the future and give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at the Island Vista from Dec 13 through Dec 17th of 2012 and here is my review. The hotel from the outside looks like a top notch 5-star hotel it's only after noticing some of the smaller details that makes you wonder if there is more meets the eye. Some of the things I noticed were: The employees always stood right by the door that exits out into the parking garage to smoke. I am not a smoker and I do not wish to smell your smoke nor walk directly through it. And the parking garage spaces are really quite small. I feel very sorry for someone who's driving something larger than a mid-size sedan. On the inside of the hotel it's very nicely decorated for a couple whom may be looking forward to a nice weekend together at the beach. This hotel is not for kids nor for anyone who has kids. The hotel has 2 outdoor pools which we were informed are heated. I guarantee you these pools were never heated. The indoor pools which are only 3.5 feet deep were luke warm and the hot tub on the inside was never really hot either. The hotel had a problem as well with the outdoor hot tub so I was not able to try it. The hotels lazy river was extremely lazy in the case that it never functioned correctly. There were round floats in the water that barely moved. The hotels indoor pool area is done in a cave or dungeon type decor which does not work for this hotel and possibly no hotel ever. The indoor pool area was really dark and the lights that did work were really poorly placed. The waterfalls that are stated in the description never worked and when they did it was one or the other. The main water fall only worked on the second day after speaking with the front desk staff and the smaller of the waterfalls work briefly the first day. Also, the indoor pool area had secondary rainshower type heads that branched out from a tree which never worked near the main waterfall location and only one that worked was the one in the kiddie pool which at best is meant for really small kids.

The bedroom I had was really compact, small, and cramped. It had an over-sized chair in it with a large king bed. Also, there was a smaller sized chair which I thought after first glance of this room was overkill. The room does not feature any sort of table for putting food or other items on. I've stayed in other hotels in Myrtle Beach that had king beds in them and they were able to handle the space a lot better. And not to mention that the bed itself was on wheels and squeaked a lot just by barely moving. I would feel greatly disappointed if I stayed here in the summer time at the rates this hotel would charge. The rates in the winter were the best in the area but not if you have kids or want to enjoy the pool at all.
That being said the front desk staff was really friendly and helpful they were always willing to speak or call out to maintenance to see if anything could be done. The view from the hotel is really nice and it was very quiet the entire time we stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, and for your kind comments. While we regret any inconvenience you might have experienced, we also thank you for those comments which help us to recognize areas in need of improvement. One such comment was in regard to the smoking area proximity to the entrance/exit doors… to one who does not smoke, this odor can be offensive. The entire interior of our resort is non-smoking, so those areas are provided for guests and/or staff members who do smoke. Those areas are now being moved to avoid any discomfort to future guests, and thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Our parking facilities are on premises for the convenience of our guests, and most comments we receive are of a positive nature because of that convenience. There are designated spaces for oversized vehicles just outside both the north and south parking deck areas that are still convenient to the lobby entrance, and it’s not necessary to ask… if you need a larger space, it’s yours to use!

The pools are a source of pride here at the Island Vista… our technicians arrive very early each day to assure that they are clean and sparkling for each day’s use. The indoor pool area was actually designed with children in mind… hence the 3.5’ depth, the cave / castle motif walls, and the lazy river. The jets and showers and other such features are never off during the busiest parts of the year, and even now they are available to anyone upon request. The south-side oceanfront pool is heated for most of the Fall and Spring seasons, but usually by early December, only the indoor pools are heated. By this time of year, the ocean breeze can make the exterior pool deck much colder than the temperature might indicate, and we just don’t have requests for those pools to be heated beyond November or so.

The room you reserved was actually the smallest available at the Island Vista… we do have two small bedroom types available, but we mainly feature 1,2,3, and 4-bedroom suites that range in size to as large as 2,300 square feet of heated space. Even our 1-bedroom suites feature full kitchens, dining areas, sleeper sofas, wall-beds, and compact washer-dryers. It sounds as if you might have preferred a suite as opposed to the smaller room type.

Thank you again for your kind compliments about our location and staff. We hope you will visit with us again… we are concerned when we hear that a guest’s expectations were not met, and we would like the opportunity to be a better host during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This place is excellent! Location was perfect! This part of Myrtle Beach is quiet and more secluded. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed having washer and dryer in the room. The view of the beach was great. The manager was very nice and really made sure our stay was great. The dining staff were extremely pleasant and accomodating. The food was excellent! We will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: We found the 7th floor to be the best floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Also Known As:
Island Vista Hotel
Island Vista Myrtle Beach
Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyrtleBeachHotels and Otel so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.