We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Vista

Save Saved
You added Island Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Vista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Island Vista this past weekend and it was fantastic, from the front desk attended by Micki, who made us feel so welcome, to the beautiful room and the wonderful restaurant. We stayed on the top floor with a view of the beach. The room was spotless and decorated beautifully. We love to walk and the hotel is located in a beautiful neighborhood. The manager of the hotel, Mr. Adcox, was very accommodating and took time out of his schedule to tell us about places to go in Myrtle Beach, which we enjoyed during our stay. We ate breakfast in the hotel resaurant and the food was delicious. I have to say the grits were the best I have ever had!This was our first stay at the island Vista and we will return. Kudos to the staff!

Room Tip: Beach view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    165
    52
    35
    14
See reviews for
432
242
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 8th floor side ocean view , very nice room good size bath 2 comfortable double beds came with small refrigerator and microwave . I called front desk one time-- the controls and the heater/ac could not be read , service man came right away and fixed . The room was clean and had flat screen tv which was good however the cable not that great .Did not use the pools and I didn't see any one else either , they were some under roof but not enclosed heated space The breakfast in the restaurant was good not crazy about the lunch and late check-out was not allowed . The location is on the north end of Myrtle Beach where they are not quite as many other hotels , its a little less crowded than further south overall I would stay again as it one of the nicer hotels on the strand

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa park,il
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

great hotel this is my second time there. the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was great. beautiful views of ocean.rooms clean. would highly reccomend this hotel. the staff was very helpful and courteous. easy access to king hwy(17). we were there in the off season ao lots of places not open.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Island Vista for our honeymoon in October. We got a great rate for the week. The room was fabulous...it was very large and spacious with 2 bathrooms, an in-room safe, washer/dryer, full kitchen, awesome master bathroom with shower, double sink and whirlpool tub plus much more. My favorite part was having the balcony accessible from both the bedroom and living room. The view was fabulous. Nice indoor and outdoor pools/jacuzzis. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. We checked out and after spending the day around Myrtle Beach decided to stay another night and went to another hotel down the strip. It was a horrible experience...needless to say we came back to Island VIsta at 10:30 pm and we got a penthouse room for a GREAT rate. Everyone was very nice. We won't go anywhere else when we return to Myrtle Beach. I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our stay at the island vista was duing the week of 10/21/2012.
Located in an old MB neighborhood right on the beach.

Rented a 3 bedroom oceanfront condo on the 6th floor.
Fantastic view, very spacious rooms, plenty of closet space.
Checkin was smooth and quick. Housekeeping was very good, condo was very clean upon arrival. Mattresses were good. As this was a Sunday to Thursday stay, pool chair availability was not an issue nor were parking spaces, but could easily see how both could be issues during busy season.

However there are somes cons as well.
When you first walk in, you will most likely be wowed by both the view and being able to hear the roar of the ocean. However if you're noise sensitive, the roar doesn't go away, also able to hear people talking,etc on beach/pools from condo with windows shut. Sounding proofing also leaves somewhat to be desired. Can hear some of neighbor's plumbing as well tv's,etc. The layout of the 2ncd and 3rd bedrooms has the bedroom windows facing the walkway. If you don't like people looking into your bedroom window from the walkway, you'll need to keep your curtain closed. Also able to hear people walk bye in evening. Condo's are invidually owned. This particular one was lacking in Kitchen basics. Also you'll need to either buy or bring with you any basic kitchen supplies such as paper towels, a sponge,dish detergerent etc. The local food stores also don't offer a wide variety of products, so if you have any favorite non-perishables, I'd recommend bringing them as well. Parking spots are tight, the parking garage needs more mirrors to better view oncoming vehicles and is a bit tight to negotiate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived at the Island Vista at about 5 PM on Friday 19/26/12. Check-in was a breeze, and a bellman helped us unload our luggage. HE and my wife took the luggage to the room while I parked our car. The garage situation is interesting, on a fall weekend with a hurricane passing by the area the parking was not a problem. It looks as if it would be a nightmare in the summer. We have a Camaro, so no problem with the size of the garage - large vehicles would not be fun to park. We were on the 9th floor and the room and the ocean view was really great. Due to the bad weather we decided to head down to the Cypress Room so we did not have to get out after our trip to Myrtle Beach. We got to the restaurant before 8 PM and the manager told us that due to slow business he was about to send the staff home. He kept everyone there and invited us in to dine, We very much appreciated this hospitality and were very pleased with the meal. Later in the weekend we ordered a fresh made pizza from the kitchen via room service, this was a good light meal as well. I found the facility, the services and the staff to be top notch in all areas on this trip. We will be back to Island Vista for sure.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and it was excellent as far as a view of the ocean is concerned. We asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Great spot! What really makes this cool is that it's located on the beach, tucked back in an old MB neighborhood.

Rooms are big and clean and certainly a bargain off season. The hotel has both an indoor and outdoor pool so the kids are for sure to have a good time even in the off season, regardless of the weather.

The only minus I can think of was the parking. The parking is done in the garage which can prove difficult if you traveled there in an SUV. Once I saw the view from our 12th floor room, I quickly got over it. Tip: Get your beer and snacks for the room before you get there. There is a grocery store somewhat nearby that has a decent selection at pretty good prices.

Also - be prepared to account for your pool towels. Not that I can blame them, but at the front desk - they are counting........,

Excellent spot. If you are heading to MB, give them a jingle and see what they have. It's a pretty good value and the view is great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Otel so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.