We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IV (resort) access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Island Vista to your Saves list
Island Vista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and Save!!!
Ranked #8 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“IV (resort) access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Came to the resort 8/25-8/29. This is an amazing resort. The king sized condo room is clean. Fridge and microwave included in the room. Used wireless internet without issues or extra fees. Pretty good service. Direct access to a non congested beach. The parking in the garage went without any issues. Had a massage with my wife at a cabana. Went very smoothly and the folks were nice. The pools especially indoor had a unique touch to them which includes a lazy river. The Cypress Room restaurant (see review) had good food. But the best thing about the hotel is location,location, location. Right in a residential area with nice houses. So enjoyed some more privacy but still close to everything around the area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    189
    61
    37
    16
See reviews for
468
279
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel costed me almost 200 bucks for one night. Upon checking into the hotel the front desk clerk was eye balling this woman's booty that was standing in the line, in front of us. That was extremely awkward! Here's the part where my stay got ghetto....Then the gave us two pool towel cards that said we were charged an additional 7.00 if we did not return the cards or the towels. Strange! So I asked the front desk clerk for a 12 pm checkout since we checked in late the night before the answer was no. They had no continental breakfast. They advertise that you can get massages in the room so I tried to do that but I couldn't either. They need 24 hour notification! That should have been posted with the advertisement. We only stayed one night and the next morning we were woken up by loud housekeeping staff talking on walkee talkies at 8:00 am how professional is that? Then room service busted in our room @ 9:00 am to "service" us as if we were staying over. They had no permission to enter our room b/c we were sleeping. Sure the view was great in our room but seriously save your money. This hotel is advertising to be upscale and charging like it is but in reality this hotel is a ghetto hot mess and I will never go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I must say, sometimes it can be difficult to begin a response… terms like “booty” and “ghetto” and “hot mess” are very rare in our reviews, if in fact these terms have ever appeared at all. We are located in an exclusive residential area in Myrtle Beach… we are the only hotel establishment in this location, and many would agree that our neighborhood is far from what one might consider “ghetto”.

So, perhaps it’s best to address the other points in your review. Pool towel cards are issued to our guests in an effort to help us track and maintain the use and recovery of that amenity... there is no charge for this service to our guests. The JPH Spa Services brochure at our front desk does not state a requirement for a 24-hour notice to book an appointment, but it does state a 24-hour notice in order to cancel a pre-arranged service. In the busy summer months, however, we do try to extend the courtesy of as much advance notice as possible when booking spa services for our guests. Our restaurant, The Cypress Room, is very well-known for excellent cuisine… the limited seating and request for dinner reservations attest to the fact that entrees are prepared specifically for the seated guest. We do not prepare food to leave out, as in the example of a continental breakfast buffet. Our housekeeping staff does maintain daily service for all guests who desire it, and for those who prefer no service or delayed service, we have “do not disturb” signs to hang outside the door in those cases.

Apparently, there was some misunderstanding with regard to our services and procedures, all of which are designed with the purpose of enhancing our guests’ experience. I hope this reply has been helpful in that regard. We hope that you will reconsider and visit The Island Vista again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

First,let me say this is a nice property,but for this amount of money.....We stayed in 907. Week of 8/19/12

Pros - One of the nicest properties on the beach w/ 90% are ocean front. Quite, residential area, but still not too far to major attractions. Will need to drive though. Nice pools( 2 outside/hot tub) 2 inside - one for small children, a lazy river and another hot tub. Very friendly staff. Nice restaurant/food.

Cons - Kitchen, no toaster oven! Vents in bathroom clogged. No towel rack in bathroom! Really? Especially on a ocean front property. HVAC system noisy. Sounded like an ice crusher was running all night. Maint. no help. The Bed! OMG! Notrotious! I felt like Fred Mertz fr. I Love Lucy in the episode when they were going to Calif. and stayed in this motel near a train station. Remember that one? Terrible soft bed. Everytime I turned, is was noisy(bed frame problem).

I am sure there are other nice properties on beach too with these amenities that are more affordable. Next time, I may stay at Sheraton Broadway or the Marina Inn. Both very nice, but not on the beach

Room Tip: Make sure you check out bed/HVAC system 1st!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have vacationed in Myrtle Beach on and off for 25 years. Husband and I stayed for a week 8-18 to 8-25. We had an oceanfront 1 bedroom condo/room. Beautifully decorated, best pillows, great bed. The bedroom had 2 queens, so a family of 4 or 4 friends or 2 couples could stay here.
Nice furniture, beautiful ceiling fans, kitchen had full stove, full fridge, over the stove microwave, dishwasher, plates, cups, silverware, cookware, measuring stuff, pyrex, blender, toaster etc.
2 tvs, same fan in living room, couch, 2 chairs, DR table with 4 chairs. Private balcony. We stayed in room 709. Had a private hallway to our room and room 720. We did not do the pools, 2 pools outside and a kid/wave/play/lazy river pool is covered but open to the air. If you dont bring chairs and umbrellas, you can rent one from the lifeguard who is out on the beach from 8 to 5. Beach is nice, shark teeth and shell collecting plentiful. We have always stayed in the hotels located between 60th and 76th street on N. Ocean Blvd, because their is high end residential on the beach at the end of 60 and 76, and plenty of space beyond the hotel beach to camp out. The Dunes resort is just south at 50th and can be inlcuded at hotels to stay in. We do not like downtown MB, either on N Ocean or S Ocean Blvd as they are cramped in a small area.
FYI there is Myrtle Beach (north and south ocean blvd addresses) THEN way north is North Myrtle Beach, past the Tanger outlets and Barefoot Landing. 2 different areas.
On check-in we were given a gift card of $70 to use in the dining room. We had an an excellent dinner, grilled salmon and a stuffed pork chop with carmelized apples and mac and cheese. Salads great, they even had a family style veggie that they walked around and asked if you would like to try it: pineapple cheese side dish, was yummy! My martini was made perfectly. waiter was great. The lobby is small and really a pass through to the beach, elevators, dining room. The parking garage is attached and big SUVs can park outside in the lot if too big to enter.
There is a tiki hut for frozen drinks and lunch with waiter service. 2 blocks out to route 17, main drag, is a Food Lion, Steinmart, CVS, Fridays, Bonefish grill, Pizza Hut etc. We did order a pizza from room service one night, for $10 we got a sausage and onion oven baked pizza, was great!

Check in was 4 but we pulled in at 1 pm and room was ready, bell man was prompt. Front desk check in by Angelina was superb. Great customer service. This was the most we paid for a 1 BR condo/hotel room, we always book oceanfront, and we were not disappointed and was well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family and I spent a week at in a four bedroom suite. It was very spacious with a beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean. The beach was great -not crowded at all. The only thing I would like to see changed is the quantity and variety of kitchen supplies as it it is just the bare minimum. Did a spa treatment which was wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have been staying at either Sea island or the new Island Vista for 20 years. This will be my last visit when I depart this Friday. Yes, the location is great, always has been but the customer service and the great dining experience that used to be its trademark is gone. Add to that the worst parking deck I have ever used and I think I can do better. The food in the Cyprus room is still very good, however, good luck being waited on promptly or even recognized at the door. Monday night, 2o mins for a drink and that is after I literally flagged someone down who all but pretended he did not work there. I'd like to say this is an isolated instance. It isn't. It happened last year also. Then again tonight we were left unwaited on, not greeted for at least 15 mins before being told they were 'only doing 2 large parties' for the entire evening. No notice during the day. No offer of takeout or room service...just too bad. Ive gotten better service at Waffle House. Maid service was not prompt. The restaurant is just unfortunate....great food that can't be served to you without aggravation. Get new restaurant and bar management. Dawn Garner
,

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, although we wish your experience had been a better one. You have described circumstances that are well below the standard that we try to maintain, and we must apologize for those items you noted. With regard to our parking decks, the developer designed them to be connected to our resort so crossing the street is not necessary… we place signs advising the use of headlights and caution and designate areas outside of the deck for oversize vehicles which cannot fit into the interior decks. Fortunately, we don’t often receive negative feedback in this area.

Your mention of the Sea Island tells us that you have been our guest for years and our loyal customer, and for that, we thank you. You must know that the Cypress Room has always been a source of great pride… the reputation there was founded on both fine dining and quality of service, so you can imagine our surprise and disappointment at hearing of your experience. We hope that this unfortunate experience is isolated, but in any case, I have copied your review to the appropriate department heads in an effort to assure that this has been fully addressed. We thank you for your kind comments about the cuisine, but we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience.

While this doesn’t help to resolve the issue during your recent stay, we do want you to know that we are aware and that your input will be instrumental in the solution. Thank you for your comments, and certainly for your business. We hope you will reconsider your decision and stay with us when you visit the Myrtle Beach area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Family of 8 stayed there the week of Aug 4-11, 2012. It was nice and accommodating for a wide range of ages. The beach was never overall crowded and the pool was a great place to retreat to in the afternoons.

Pros: very private beach area, fast elevators, tiki bar on pool deck, overall accommodations and location.
Cons: if you rent through off site agency you do not have access to many of the HOA privileges, ie concierge, towels, children's activities, daily cleaning, etc. carpet and furniture needs up dated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.