We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, bad hotel, but room was great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Ocean Club Resort to your Saves list
Sands Ocean Club Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   9550 Shore Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FALL/WINTER Spectacular!
Ranked #110 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    156
    95
    111
    130
See reviews for
279
142
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

I have stayed at the Sands Ocean Club 8 times, but not so sure if I'll go back again. It has been going down hill for the last few years. It used to be a great place to stay. It has the famous Ocean Annies bar and it makes it really festive. We always requested a room over looking Ocean Annies. I was told the last time I was there (August 2005) that the hotel had been sold and they were making things different. They were different alright. They have a new air conditioning system that is horrible. It works by sensors. It goes off around 5 minutes after you leave the room and comes back on when you enter. If you leave the sliding door to the balcony open it will go off. I understand that it is saving the new owners a bundle, but here's the bad part. I was sleeping when my husband left very early in the morning to play golf. After he left the air went off. They didn't make allowances for that. I woke up burning up and had to get up and open the door so that the air would come back on. I used to love it there, but things have changed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, WV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

It seems some people just can't be pleased. I booked here before I read the reviews and then I was worried, but it turned out fine.

The hotel was sold out on Friday and had plenty of parking, but on Saturday morning I was in line at the front desk to ask some questions about the area and assumed that everyone in line was checking out. Then I started overhearing that almost everyone in line were people looking for vacancies and Myrtle Beach was sold out. Coincidentally, that night the hotel ran out of parking. Sounds like a lot of people crashing together in rooms too small to accommodate them and having more vehicles than one would aniticipate.

It was a little frustrating to come back to the hotel and not find a spot in the garage, but the hotel had someone out front to tell us where to go. It was a three minute drive up the road and we only had to wait about five minutes for a shuttle van. The next day, we simply caught the shuttle back to our car and it only took a few minutes. How easy is that?

The elevators were slow, but it seemed that most people are just impatient. It seems the elevators are just like road intersections -- at rush hour, it is going to take longer than at other times. The pools were very crowded, but why go to the beach to go to the pool?

The outside beach bar had live entertainment everyday -- afternoon and evening.

Housekeeping seemed a little overwhelmed, and some days the service was better than others. Coincidentally, I looked in the "help wanted" ads of the Sunday paper and it looked like everyone in Myrtle Beach was hiring housekeeping staff. Maybe Myrtle Beach has a housekeeping shortage?

Some of the reviews state that the staff seemed unconcerned, but I spent time every day in the lobby using the free internet service they provide and I was able to overhear conversations at the front desk by guests complaining. If anything, the staff is very patient with some of the people they have to deal with. I heard one person complaining at 2:00 in the afternoon that they hadn't had housekeeping service yet and it was "unacceptable". They then complained that they had to drive 9 hours to get there, the directions they got off the internet were not accurate, they were upset they had to park across the street in an "over-sized" parking area because they had a high top van that was too large for the garage on the hotel side of the street. They were upset at the prices the county charges for umbrella rentals on the beach and how crowded the restaurant was at noon to eat. They also complained that they had to wait five minutes for an elevator and they wanted compensated for all their "inconveniences".

They listed about ten things, only three of which dealt with the hotel and you would think that common sense would have eliminated those complaints, but they didn't. The staff seemed a little resigned by the complaints (who knows how many they deal with daily), but seemed to handle it in stride.

If I ever act like that, I would be ashamed. Anyway, rumor had it they are adding two levels to the parking garage and the elevators are getting renovated this winter. Housekeeping was imperfect, but adequate. The staff was very helpful and available 24 hours a day. Saturdays were chaotic, but that was all of Myrtle Beach, not just the hotel.

We'll go back. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

This place was probably above average 15 years ago but it appears to have been that long since it was last remodeled. Our unit was very dirty, wallpaper torn and run down furniture. You could not have possibly wanted to walk barefoot across those carpets.

The elevator noise made sleeping impossible. The noise was problematic during the middle of the day but truly left me sleep deprived throughout a 3 night stay.

When we ran out of toilet paper and tracked down a member of the housekeeping staff, they informed us they had no toilet paper. There was no offer to get some and bring it to the room; to them it was simply a matter of there was nothing they could do.

At check in time, there were renters at the front desk complaining about possible lead paint exposure to their baby in the unit they were renting. In addition they were holding a plastic bag with the mushrooms they found growing in the carpet of their living room.

The place is falling apart, no one seems to care and the service staff is very unaccomodating.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY....gb, summerfield, nc

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

Horrible place to stay unless you sleep all day at the beach and go to the bars all night. Staff is lazy and inconsiderate. Room was disgusting. Beach was overcrowded and the pools/lazy river were overrun by unsupervised 10 year olds. Will never go again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Address: 9550 Shore Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Ocean Club two bedroom units come with full kitchens, a king bed, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Ocean Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.