We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its better for pets than humans” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Save Saved
You added Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1905 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WaterPark Admission!
Ranked #21 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Chicago Il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“its better for pets than humans”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

we took a chance on a different place on our annual trip to M. B. only 1 of the 2 elevators worked because the other was being rehabbed. Casey And Bob were very pleasant and helpful. the maintenace and cleaning crew were also nice. But our room had no clock and the hotel rules state there is a charge for missing clocks . i called the front desk and one was delivered.the frig was badly rusted and so was the inside of the microwave. dogs howled all nite making it difficult to sleep, and no one seemed to stop it. i thought about the dogs that had occupied our room and what they mite have done to the dirty old carpets! this place has "gone to the dogs"!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, May 26, 2009
Thank you for writing a review. I feel that I need to apologize for your stay at our property. It is true that this is a pet-friendly hotel therefore there are going to be pet noise most of the time. I am sorry that you found your room wasn’t properly clean or have all the proper equipment that should be in your room. I hope that in the future you will give us another chance to show you how we strive to treat every guest.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    467
    60
    39
    52
See reviews for
415
324
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We had a very pleasant one night getaway at the Ocean Park. The oceanfront room/efficency was comfortable and clean and had a great view. We brought our dog along and this is one of the few places on the ocean that accepts pets. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The only knocks on the place were that they were in the process of replacing the two elevators (with new ones) and only had one of them in back in service during our stay, and the one ice machine that I could find was never able to keep up with the demand. Those few small issues aside, we had a great stay and we would definitely go back to the Ocean Park again. Murphy (our dog) really liked it there, too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

I was a little worried about staying at a pet friendly hotel, and a little more worried after reading some bad reviews about Ocean Park. However, I must say this place was wonderful. The staff at the front desk was wonderful. They made check in and check out very quick and painless. I stayed in an oceanfront king effeciency room. The room was very spacious, had a fully stocked kitchenette, and an excellent view. The room and bathroom were both very clean. The pools and hot tubs were great and very clean as well. This resort is very pet friendly. There is a wonderful place to walk your dog. Nearly everyone I saw had a pet with them, and the staff were very open to the pets being there. True, there was only one elevator in service, but there were people working on the elevators every day I was there. The hotel is also being renovated at this time, so it can only get better. All the staff were very helpful and so accomodating as well. They also have the best parking I've found in Myrtle Beach, two parking decks and parking across the street. I really enjoyed my trip to Ocean Park and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz5922, Oceana Representative at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you were pleased with our pet friendly accommodation and our courteous staff. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your vacation. By your next visit the elevators will be up and running.

Sincerely,

Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

The ocean park is a great place to stay if you just want to have a simple trip to Myrtle Beach and enjoy the sun. The cost is very reasonable and the staff was polite and helpful. Their ocean view rooms are perfect if you want to stay in an inexpensive hotel. The deck with pools and hot tubs are spread apart enough that if you want to feel that you have some privacy you can. The front desk clerk Bob is one of the most friendly people we met in Myrtle Beach. I would absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to save a little money but still feel like you are staying in a luxurious resort.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz5922, Oceana Representative at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
Thank you for your review. I was happy to read how you were able to take advantage of the discounts and specials making your vacation more affordable. I am glad that the amenities and the staff meet with your expectations. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Ocean Park Resort has a helpful & friendly staff, clean rooms and a great location. The areas to walk pets are convenient and well kept. Staff was in a continuous cleaning mode both in the rooms and outside, i.e. halls, pools, spa. They are in the process of upgrading some things--so it will only get better. I highly recommend this hotel for pet lovers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz5922, Interactive Media Coordinator at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
Thank you for your taking the time to tell us about your stay. I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the pet friendly Ocean Park Resort. Our employees strive to make each guest's vacation experience enjoyable and we look forward to helping you with all your future vacation needs.

Sincerely,
L. Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullens wv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

PROS
Staff- very friendly and always willing to help
location- close to the family kingdom park and several putt putt golf corses
veiw- very well kept and just right amount of green mixed with the sand
free coffee in the morning
non smoking in all areas
very close to breakfast restrauntes
very pet friendly

CONS
only one elevater was working (but they were fixing the other)
limited parking (but no less than any other resort ocean front)

Summery
This was a great place to stay with 2 pools 2 kiddie pools 2 hot tubs the indoor ones heated. We all loved our stay at Ocean Park and will stay with them again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz5922, Interactive Media Coordinator at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
Thank you for posting your review of our resort. I was pleased to read how much you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Being located oceanfront in the heart of all the action makes this a perfect choice to stay for you and your family. We do apologize for any inconvenience regarding the elevator, thank you for your patience and understanding. We look forward to seeing you and your family soon.

Sincerely,
L. Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

It was refreshing to actually find a decent and clean place to take our dog with us on a weekend away. We found the hotel very accommodating for the pets...even doggy-doo bags near the courtyard. Upon checkin, it was a bit agitating to find one elevator out...and the hotel staff hoarding the only working on...BUT understandably, they have to get the maid carts off the floors somehow, but right during check-in hour (4pm)??? Took us 3 tries (15 min wait on an elevator that was not too full to get a luggage cart on) to get our luggage, dog and whatnot up to the 6th floor. The room was clean and very nice....nice kitchen, clean room...clean bathroom too. They hit you with a few fees upon checkin like an "access fee"....well, we didnt take our computer...didnt need to use their phones OR the inroom safe....seems that $5/day extra was a waste of money. We did however know about the $15/day fee for our dog...and paid that happily.
We'd stay there again when we visit MB...but we'll also be on the lookout for other dog friendly locations as well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz5922, Interactive Media Coordinator at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Being a pet owner myself, I love the fact that when I go on vacation I have a place for me and my dog. I do however apologize about the elevator situation during your time with us. We are currently in the process of having that elevator replaced. I was pleased to see that the room and the accommodations met all your needs. Thank you again for choosing Oceana Resorts for your needs, and we will see you on your next trip along the Grand Strand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Address: 1905 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oceanfront Myrtle Beach resort features standard rooms and suites able to accommodate the needs of any guest. Featuring furnished private balconies, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and guest laundry services, our accommodations feel like your second home. A great bonus is being able to bring your pet on vacation with you. We accept all pets, as long as they are less than 20lbs and a non aggressive breed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.