We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, pet friendly resort, with some issues ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts to your Saves list
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1905 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good, pet friendly resort, with some issues ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you are traveling with a pet, but you still want an ocean front hotel with a beautiful view, at a reasonable price; this place is definitely for you!

If you're looking for that 5 star "luxury resort" experience where everything is high end, and you're pampered like a Prince or Princess, this place is probably NOT for you.

The Ocean Park is exactly what it claims to be: an "economy" resort. It caters to families with dogs (20lbs or less, and they do strictly enforce that) and since most Myrtle Beach seaside hotels DON'T accept pets, most of the guests who stay here seem to bring dogs.

Beyond that, let me write about the Pros and Cons of this hotel:

Pros: Staff (the staff is very friendly and accommodating; sometimes they seem stretched a bit thin, but they always do their best, and do so with a smile), view (gorgeous views of the Atlantic Ocean), beach (nice, wide, clean sandy beach and you're right on it), hot tubs and pools (both indoor and outdoor hot tubs and pools, so even if it rains you can still go swimmin' and tubbin'), Value (for an oceanfront hotel the price really isn't bad, particularly if you book one of the 'special' rates, rooms feature full kitchens too, so you can save some $$$ by preparing some meals yourself), Surprisingly quiet (doesn't have the same 'paper thin' walls as many other hotels, for a dog friendly place it's surprisingly quiet, your neighbors have to be REALLY loud for them to disturb you).

Cons: Cleanliness (the staff try hard, but this place just isn't as clean as it should be, I know it's hard with dogs and people constantly tracking sand off the beach, but my wife and I had to do a 'clean up' of our suite on our own on the first day, and common areas look kinda dingy too), Super Slow Elevators (at people times expect to use the stairs or wait 10 minutes, for the slow and always full elevators to offer you a space; a resort this size should have at least 4 elevators, but there are only 2), Slow WiFi (included in your $5 day "resort fee" ... it's really, really slow), No onsite restaurant or bar (although there are a few places you can walk to within less than 5 minutes down the beach), Nickel and Dime feel (Towels aren't available at the pool areas, you have to ask for them at the front desk, which is a problem if the desk is busy, ask you to wear arm bands at the pool (though that's seldom enforced), have to "sign out" key for fitness room (which is full of somewhat outdated equipment ... no towels or water available in there either, and the AC doesn't seem to run in that part of the hotel), Obvious signs of wear and tear in some places that hasn't been taken care of.

Overall, I do recommend this place. My wife and I enjoyed our 2 week vacation stay here, and we would come back. The friendly people, prime oceanfront location and pet friendliness are its biggest assets.

Room Tip: If you're on one of the upper floors your elevator wait times will be increased, which, as I sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    544
    72
    43
    53
See reviews for
490
365
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weston, WV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This location worked perfectly for us on our vacation stay in Myrtle Beach. Loved that it was pet friendly, and it worked out great for our small dog we brought along. The room was spacious and the kitchen area was nice for our needs with full sized appliances, making cooking away from home convenient. The location on the beach was also great, because it never seemed overcrowded. It's also just a short drive to any of the other many attractions in the area. Enjoyed our time here, and glad we choice Ocean Park.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

For the money we spent on a 2bdrm suite, it could have been A LOT nicer aesthetically in the room. Carpets wreaked a bit and one of the AC units never worked properly and the showers were built for 4 feet tall people. The sinks stopped up each time we used them and the kitchen did not have a single sheet pan to cook with. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, the coffee pots needed some major cleaning but the view was outstanding and the parking situation was nice and secure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Another good week at the Ocean Park. Our first night was terrible with a leaking AC unit and being a pet friendly location, it reeked of wet dog all night. Tuesday morning we were moved and upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was not necessary but appreciated. As always we had a great view of the ocean the staff was fabulous. Tiffany and Michael at the front desk especially. My only suggestion would b to improve the WiFi as certain areas of the room were dead zones. We will b back again in the fall after the rates drop for a long weekend.

Room Tip: upper floors have a better beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family spent 3 nights at the Ocean Park Resort over the 4th of July holiday. We traveled from WV which was approximately a 10 hr. trip. We had our 4 month granddaughter, our daughter, my wife and both of our mothers who are in their 80's with us. With that in mind it was very important the quality of service and room accomodations. We were very pleased with the staff, cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel's location. I would highly recommend choosing Ocean Park for your next beach destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Truly enjoyed bringing the dog to the beach. Great view from room 704. Our dog had such a great time meating other dogs around the beach and hotel.Truly loved our stay thanks for making it a vacation to remember

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We checked in, the staff was very informative and friendly.

Got to our room, was on the 2nd floor.
We had a full kitchen ocean front king size bed room
The kitchen was modern and new, the bedroom was nice, the bed was really comfortable.
The view of the ocean was great
The bathrooms are a little small.

The only thing I could say was our chair in the bedroom had a throw up smell so we had to put it outside on our balcony it was that bad, and there are no restaurants in the hotel. However, there are a numerous amount of delivery flyers down in the lobby that you can have room service from. So I give this hotel a 3 1/2 - 4 stars.

Great hotel to stay at if you have a small dog.
Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The second floor was good because we didn't have to wait for the elevator we can just take the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Address: 1905 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oceanfront Myrtle Beach resort features standard rooms and suites able to accommodate the needs of any guest. Featuring furnished private balconies, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and guest laundry services, our accommodations feel like your second home. A great bonus is being able to bring your pet on vacation with you. We accept all pets, as long as they are less than 20lbs and a non aggressive breed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.