We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife 'n Dog Happy Happy...Pappy had fun just relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts to your Saves list
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1905 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 30%!
Ranked #23 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Morganton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wife 'n Dog Happy Happy...Pappy had fun just relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Booked a Pet Package Weekend. Granny wanted something special for our 28th anniversary so I found this place to pamper her and her dog. A Pet Psychic visit was included (y'all know I laugh about that) but Ma and the Dog had a good time and that is what mattered. The staff was friendly.
The beds comfortable. The room with kitchen was clean. The view fantastic. I enjoyed my time at this place and ignored things that would bug me if I wasn't having a great time. This was my first trip to Myrtle Beach in 30 years but I will be back again soon because of the Ocean Park Resort's laid back atmosphere and some good bar and grills are in stumble home late after the bar distance.

While booking the room on their website I noticed they offered add on items such as tickets to Ripley's and other places. Among them were tickets to the Alabama Theater for the Vince Gill show (which was on the night of our anniversary) so I added them to the room. The seats were perfect for a great view of the stage.

Pros:
Dog friendly
Great indoor and outdoor pools and spas.
Great views from balconies.
Good section of beach front.
Clean Room.
Comfortable Bed.
Good Kitchen in our room.
Restaurants, Bar and Grills in walking distance (even for old geezers).
Friendly and helpful staff.

Cons:
No Coffee in Lobby (in room only)
No Breakfast (use the kitchen and your groceries or walk up the street for breakfast)
(note: all rooms do not have kitchen)
Forgetabout trying to get an elevator on Saturday night unless you have a book to read while waiting for it. (the same everywhere at a beach).

Room Tip: Stay away from room 706. You won't like it. I loved it. Save it for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    509
    65
    43
    53
See reviews for
456
338
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Overall the stay was good, however we did have an incident with house keeping, for the first three days they did not even show up and when they did they threw towels in the bathroom and did not make the beds or anything. Was just kind of taken back by that, but overall the stay was pretty nice if you don't mind having a messy room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose Ocean Park Resort because of the pet friendly policy and pet friendly they are! We were given doggie treats upon arrival and there is everything from a dog-specific beach access to doggie day care and grooming. Our room was huge (and yet it was an "efficiency") and had a beautiful ocean view. I only have two complaints: 1- Something flooded in our room, and I'm not sure what. It wasn't a huge ordeal (just needed a towel or two to cover it up) but still, no one wants wet floors in a hotel room. 2- We left the "do not disturb" sign on our door, as we like to sleep in on vacation. We opened the door around 10:45AM to find a note from housekeeping saying they came by at 10:15 to clean but respected our privacy. The note continued to say all rooms HAD to be cleaned or at least inspected no later than 2PM or the manager would be contacting us to arrange a time to view the room. I suppose they do this for guests safety, but I have never, ever experienced such a thing. First off, it made me feel like I was in college again and the RA's were inspecting dorms for booze and drugs. Second, this is something I would like to have been made aware of upon check-in.

All in all, if you are traveling with a pet, this is the place to go. However, if you aren't I would suggest staying somewhere else- ideally, somewhere closer to restaurants and bars, that doesn't insist on checking your room every day ;)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Pet friendly was what we were looking for and that was great. That was the extent of the good I can say about this place.
The front desk staff have poor attitudes and make you feel as though you are an inconvenience. The room is small and cluttered with large furniture. Our a/c flooded our room. The room itself felt dirty and the housekeeping staff kept no recognizable schedule. Someways they would wake you up and others they wouldn't show up until the afternoon. And to me, a sheet it not a comforter.
The pool patio was very clean but the pool itself had debris. The hot tub smelled horrible and had various Unidentifiable floating things in it as well.
We were so miserable we left early. Never again.

Room Tip: As for Donna the manager. She was the only person who truly went out of her way to help us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Ocean Park Resort. Your opinion is extremely important to us and valuable in increasing the level of service we provide.

We apologize that your stay was not satisfactory and that you encountered the experiences you mention. Please be assured that we have addressed the issues with our staff accordingly.

Please consider visiting us again in the near future, allowing us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience, for which we pride ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was our 1st time staying with you and you made our stay excellent .. 1st time traveling with our pet and we were amazed at all you do to make guest and pets welcome . we will recommend you and we will definitely stay again .. thank you for great service , clean rooms and great staff ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel was great. Rooms cleaned and the ocean front is craaaazy nice. However... our first night, there was hair in our towels... Every single one of them, long and short black hairs. We tossed them in the linen shoot and asked for more. The good thing was, the cleaning lady was very very nice as well as the whole hotel staff. I didn't mention the hairs in the towels to them because I understand there are dogs and hairs so stuff gets crazy and i wasn't to to mad about it. All in all, I'd come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very clean oceanfront hotel.Wished there was a bar/restaurant/grill..very pet friendly!! Staff friendly. Maxx our dog likes it there. You can take your dog on the beach before 10 am and after 5 pm. Thee bed very comfortable but wished bathroom was larger. Efficiency kitchen great! Full size frig.

Room Tip: No restaurant or bar.. wished the bathrooms were a little larger. Second time there so repeat c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Address: 1905 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oceanfront Myrtle Beach resort features standard rooms and suites able to accommodate the needs of any guest. Featuring furnished private balconies, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and guest laundry services, our accommodations feel like your second home. A great bonus is being able to bring your pet on vacation with you. We accept all pets, as long as they are less than 20lbs and a non aggressive breed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.