We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun with out the chaos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Forest Villa Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Forest Villa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5601 N. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Avon, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family fun with out the chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We loved Ocean Forest Villa - we had room D214 very bright beach decor - outdoor pool was very clean.
Only disappointment was the Diamond Back Adventure Camp & Wild Water and Wheels. The camp was only 3 stations run by pre teens and teens. pellet gun shooting, archery, zip line, climbing walls. The water park was not the BEST we have been to. The directions the hotel gave us took us a half hour to 45 mins out of the way for each place.
We did love the rooms view, the staff was very friendly, (we did not have full room service the kids had to make their own beds lol
The beach was NOT crowded (July 1 to July 5th) If you looked down the beach you could see the other hotels beach area was packed.
This was a very laid back quite hotel ! We would go back again!

Room Tip: ** wish i knew ..bring your own dish soap, dish towels, body soap (they give you shampoo and lotion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    5
    9
    14
See reviews for
50
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have stayed at OFV many times over the years. I like unit 205B at OFV the best. While other units may be as nice as 205B - some are not (as you can see from other reviews). OFV is a pleasant, low key resort with fantastic views of the Atlantic and easy beach access. Two salt water swimming pools, and two hot tubs, lots of green space for tossing a ball or frisbee. The outside of the units ARE dated, and there isn't an elevator- so another reason to stay on the second floor. Not all units are owned by the Sands Resort- many are not rented at all and used exclusively by unit owners. The unit I like is not rented by Sands Resort - contact the owner directly through vacation rentals website. Ask owner for a break and you might get one! :)

Room Tip: http://www.searchmyrtlebeachcondos.com/database/photos/209/ccar1202209d.jpg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have stayed in the sand dunes resort for 5 years with a great experience everytime however I wanted to try another sands resort. This villa 212B is horrific! It has crux all overthrwalls, food on the cuupboards, small appliances havefood crusted on them. Therewere extra blankets in the closetthrownkn top as though never washed from the previous people. It is run down andbeat up furniture and a very old and worn matresses in the bedrooms. It cost 200.00 a night. I contacted themanager who sent thehouskeeping managerto wash my walls yet after calling and making them come back 3 times there was food on the walls! After my initial complaint I was given vouchers for a free breakfast but it does it compare to the 1400 we spent to stay in this dump. I got tired of complaining and nothing being done about it. I wouldn't stay there again f it was free.'

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our family's first stay at Ocean Forest in Myrtle Beach. Reservations and key pick-up could not have been easier. The condo was perfect. The place was clean, tidy, plenty of towels and linens and just the right size to be very comfortable. There were more than enough dishes, utensils and pots and pans to accomodate. We had a fantastic 2nd floor view of the ocean from the private deck. Most all the decks here have high top tables and chairs to give a unhindered view of the ocean over the balcony rails. They have pegs for wet towels and swim suits which was very nice. The walk over to the beach was not too far and the beach in this location is never too crowded, even in the summer. Very peaceful place with beautiful landscaping & grounds. We enjoyed the hot tub and the pool a bit, but as beach lovers, spent most of our time there. Ocean Forest is very well maintained, affordable and has everything a family would need to have a great vacation. I have one complaint. There are very nice laundry rooms on the 2nd floor of each building, which we planned on taking advantage of. Problem: NO CHANGE MACHINES!! Washers are $1.50 each and dryers $1.00. Both take quarters. No one in the town would sell us quarters!! We tried Krogers, Food Lion, gas stations, etc. I highly suggest that if coin operated laundry facilities are provided, a bill-to-quarter change machine be provided in each one. When staying for a week with a family, most don't bring $50 in quarters. Not sure why not one business in this town would sell quarters-but it made the laundry facilities useless for us and this was VERY disapointing.

Room Tip: If you plan on using the using the laundry facilities-bring LOTS of quarters!! No one in this town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I enjoyed my 1st visit. The only thing i did not like is one bedroom did not have a TV and no stereo system in the condo. But I will bring my own music when I return in 2012. It is the best family vacation location because you are able to relax, play and enjoy the boardwalk. It's a lot to do. I'm making it a family affair each year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This resort is a part of Ocean Forest Villas, it is a group of 7 individual houses, all 3 bedroom, 2 bath. You cannot find reviews of this resort, and Ocean Forest Villas will tell you they know nothing of the houses. You will check in at the Ocean Forest Villas, then you are on your own.

The first house we checked into, house #3, had no air conditioning and an alarm was sounding from the stove every three to five minutes. I called Ocen Forest Villas which sent maintenance, then told me to call a different number because they knew nothing of the houses. I was then moved to house #4.

There was a musty smell throughout the house, but at least the air worked. When you step into the house, be prepared to step back into the 1980. There are no updates here. Lattice is the choice of decor. The washing machine leaked, the toilets did not flush well, pillows were nasty, bed uncomfortable, etc. Any calls to Ocean Forest Villas will become frustrating as they continue to say we know nothing about the houses and then become argumentative.

The house has good bones and with some TLC could become a good place to stay, but no one wants to take responsibility of these homes.

I would not recomend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had not been to M.B. for a few years and since the weather was great found this place overlooking the ocean. We stayed on the 22nd floor with wonderful views of the ocean etc.
The biggest complaint was extremely worn uncomfortable balcony furniture. The condos are
privately owned so all different. We enjoyed the condo and the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Forest Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Forest Villa Resort

Address: 5601 N. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Forest Villa Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Expedia so you can book your Ocean Forest Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Forest Villa Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Forest Hotel
Ocean Forest Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Forest Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.