We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quarterdeck/ Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtle Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Myrtle Beach Resort to your Saves list
Myrtle Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5905 South Kings Highway, P.O. Box 3936, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-3936   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Holiday Special - 25% off
Ranked #89 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Quarterdeck/ Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have a great time at the Quarterdeck when I am there.
Excellent food and the staff are great. If you want an unusual drink Michael will make it.
Great entertainment and wonderful people to meet.
Rooms are great and there are a lot of things to do for the very young or the more mature.
I have been living here since Oct. 1st and have had an excellent time.

Room Tip: I have been in rooms with different views and no matter where you are it is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing Manag... M, Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Ahhh.... Finally a great review from one of our winter renters! Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback. We here lots from our weekly and nightly renters, but not too much from the winter monthly renters. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    104
    61
    45
    81
See reviews for
247
47
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Not worth the time, energy or money. Starting with booking, we were charged $40 extra dollars per night after booking for 'resort fees', we stayed in February and none of the 'resort amenities' were even open. Checking in took more than 30 mins as the front desk staff was to concerned with having their payroll hours cut and gossiping about the staff. At one point one of the staff was 'to tired' to come to the front desk to assist with the line of check ins. Then the 'rules' started... No smoking even on personal balconies and they make you sign a $1000 waiver to charge your credit card on their personal discretion. We were told the maids are trained to search for cigarette ashes and in their words not mine, are very militant about searching and they WILL charge your card. However brochures at the front desk and booking information online, say different.
The room- very old, no hot water, toilets wouldn't flush, a mouse died in the heating vents and stunk the entire condo up. Shower head is only 4 1/2 (at max) feet off the ground, be prepared to duck.
To top everything off, our guests were told them were only permitted to stay on property till 12:00am or else their car would be towed. As a group in our 30's, this was extremely insulting. We felt as if the security was 'watching' us and they were just waiting to charge us the extra $1000 to scam us out of money. Will never stay here again and the best part of our vacation was leaving.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilivewhereuvac, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience here at Myrtle Beach Resort and would love the chance to speak with you directly in an effort to possibly provide a better vacation.
Our rules may seem "militant" to you in regards to smoking or more aptly, not smoking in the condos or on the balconies, as well as the stringent security measures that security takes in regards to visitors. However, these rules and penalties help us to continue to provide a secure and pleasant environment for our guests as we have been able to do for quite some time.
As was explained to you at check-in, we are indeed on a much reduced staff at the moment due to the slower season. We do ask our guests to bear with us during this time as most days are not as busy in regards to the call volume as they were on the day that you checked in. We apologize if the process of checking in took longer than it normally does.
We do try to make sure that our guests are very aware of the penalties if they do break the rules, as we would much rather them follow them without incident than find it necessary to charge their card. Since the policy went into effect we have only had one incident in which we have had to charge that amount, and it was a blatant case of disregard for the non-smoking policy.
In regards to the visitors parking, they are welcome to stay with you overnight if they are part of your party, or if they register as guests, or even park outside of the security perimeter. We are committed to maintaining a safe environment for all of our guests and if all guests were allowed to have vehicles at such late hours it could disturb others, as well as yourself.
We truly appreciate all feedback, as it helps us to grow and learn, and in return become better aware of our guests concerns and needs.
It is again our sincere hope that you will contact us directly in an effort to provide you with an experience and clear understanding of our rules to avoid any conflict, but instead to provide a safe and secure stay for you and our other guests.
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend at The Myrtle Beach Resort last September and cannot wait to go back. We rented our suite thru the resort and was pleasantly surprised by the great service. We had a beautiful view of the ocean overlooking the Quarterdeck bar where we spend our nights trying most of the menu, including the "bam bam shrimp" which was the best we've ever had. The entertainment was a perfect fit to our trip, Bobby Dean was a great host! Our bartender Michael was so nice and made our nights extra special. We have been to several resorts over the past few years and I can now say we found our new "home" away from home. We are looking forward to spending our next vacation with our new Myrtle Beach Resort family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilivewhereuvac, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us as well as for taking the time to let our future guest and friends know just what a hidden gem MBRV truly is!
It sounds as if you really enjoyed some of our greatest assets, the unrivaled views from our highrise, the Renaissance Tower, and our charming oceanfront bar and grille, the Quarterdeck. In addition to the wonderful staff and food they offer fun for all with Bobby Dean doing karaoke and other fun musical entertainment. He is rather entertaining all by himself and has quite a following. We are very glad to have him with us and will certainly pass along your great feedback.
We love reviews such as yours, as we truly want our guests to feel as if they have spent a week with friends when they are here.
We look forward to your return trip and would love to hear from you as we are offering great specials as we speak.
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed in 5 seasons building 6 on the third floor. Not one thing was wrong with the room or our stay. Already booked our room for 2014. The room was clean and well taken care of. Thank you for all that you do see you later this year.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilivewhereuvac, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you Shannon J for such a wonderful review!
We at Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations are trying our absolute best to raise the bar in 2014 so that our guests will always be repeat guests. We know that as a small business in such a large industry that you could have stayed many different places. But you didn't,you chose us. For that we thank you and we do that by giving you the best memories possible.
We are thrilled that you have already booked your next stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in the high rise main building. Three bedroom 2 bath oceanfront. Unit was clean and we totally enjoyed the week we had to enjoy the sun. We have stayed at the resort different times over the years and it is just as good as the first time. They have made improvements to the property and the owners do a good job of updating and upkeep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilivewhereuvac, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us here at Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations and for taking the time to share the experience with others as well.
We would like to take the time to thank you for your business as well as to invite you to visit with us again int he future. We are working towards making great strides in 2014, raising the bar for our owners as well as our own standards and exceeding expectations in the year to come.
We have been hard at work not only around the resort itself, but also in many of our managed condos to make this year one to remember. It is great to see from your review that these efforts are being noticed.
We have lots of great updates and renovations underway throughout the Resort right now and will continue to improve-Please come join us and watch us grow!
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked this studio in the renaissance tower for the thanksgiving weekend. This studio was pretty okay for 4 adults and a toddler. It could sleep in 6.There was a full bed.. a sofa bed and two bunker style cemented beds(probably for teens).This studio faced the ocean and had a beautiful sea view. The kitchen was small but workable. We cooked for 3 days. The studio had the basic amenities like dishwasher, microwave, cooking range, refrigerator and tv and cooking utensils. But did lack things like coffee filters, kitchen towel, rice cooker. We had to use the same towels for 3 days. Though we were given an extra set of bedsheet. You could walk to the beach. Very nice access to the beach for couple of miles. You could feel you are at the spa if you opened your balcony door and slept in the room. The studio was airy but since we went in the winter time we really had to turn up the heat. Great studio for the price we paid. There are some nice beach restaurants down the building that you can see from the balcony. There's also a camping trailer park and a small play area with swings for kids one block away from this building that you can walk to. They have a clubhouse which is not very great. Just a pool and a sauna room and a small seating area. They also have a Jacuzzi which is not very great as well. There is also a gym inside the building if you want to get your exercise... but my recommendation would be A RUN ON THE BEACH.

Room Tip: I would suggest spending the extra bucks on the oceanfront apartment/studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilivewhereuvac, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your business as well as your great review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Our studios are a wonderfully economical way to get the best of what the Renaissance Tower has to offer-an amazing view for literally miles! They are indeed compact and best suited to couples with one or two small children or business travelers who do not want to live out of a microwave all week.
We do our best to keep an up to date inventory on the dishes and cookware in the condos and I have passed your suggestion for a rice cooker on to the housekeeping department, as feedback is how we grow to better serve you.
Also, for future reference, we can and do happily provide additional towels or housekeeping services at a nominal fee.
Being a Vacation Rental Company we try to give our guests a higher level of privacy, while being easy to reach if needed. With that being said,we can custom fit any additional housekeeping needs you may have during your stay, from a complete clean and new linens to just an extra set of towels. Just call us as early as possible in the day, or if at all possible arrange these services upon booking or check-in so that we can plan ahead and better serve you.
We at Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations thank you for your patronage, as well as for taking the time to tell our possible future guests about your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
MBRV Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Back from our 3rd stay at Myrtle Beach Resort and as usual had a great time!! The landscape is beautiful and there is so much to do right at the resort! It rained three days while we were there but my daughters still got to swim in the indoor pool. We stay in a beautiful condo in building B and love it! It's close to Murrell's Inlet, Georgetown, Brookgreen Gardens, Pawley's Island, etc. and not far from Broadway at the Beach, the boardwalk and hundreds of other attractions! You can sit and watch the ducks and swans or enjoy the beautiful beach. There are play areas, ball courts, swimming pools, etc. We always enjoy being there. It is a very secure area. Now it is like a home away from home to us!!

Room Tip: We stay in Building B, but all the buildings look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilivewhereuvac, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for staying with us, your repeat business is incredibly valuable. We are always thrilled to hear positive feedback as it lets us know we are on the right track!
More than anything we would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know about Myrtle Beach Resort Vacations and that you enjoyed your experience.
We do pride ourselves on the fact that we were indeed one of, if not the first, self contained resorts built in all of Myrtle Beach and have set the bar for any others following behind.
With our sprawling 33 acres of lush, landscaped privacy, sports for all ages, and numerous eateries and pools, both indoors and out, we are sure to have something for all ages.
Our home owners have truly stepped up to the plate this year and last with upgrades, remodels, and condo improvements that are sure to please.
We hope to see you again soon and once again thank you for your patronage and great review!
Sincerely,
Myrtle Beach Resort Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myrtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Resort

Address: 5905 South Kings Highway, P.O. Box 3936, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-3936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myrtle Beach South Carolina Vacation Rentals and Myrtle Beach Condo Sales The 33 acre gated oceanfront Myrtle Beach Resort offers privately owned vacation condo rentals with nearly 700 feet of white sandy beaches and crystal blue waters directly on the Atlantic Ocean. In addition to 24 hour gated security, we offer a lazy river water park featuring a 375 foot lazy river and wet deck, four outdoor pools (one beach front), two indoor pools, three health spas complete with steam rooms, saunas and jacuzzis, combined with four of the Grand Strand's finest lighted tennis courts, a basketball court, and Free wireless internet access to offer every guest a vacation to remember. Top this off with The Quarter Deck Oceanfront Bar and Grill and The Galley for pizza and ice cream and we have all you need without ever leaving the grounds! Myrtle Beach, SC has been selected the "Best Family Beach" by the Travel Channel. Amusement parks, water parks, restaurants, live entertainment, museums, nature preserves, and outlet shopping combine with over 100 golf courses to provide options sure to please every family member. You will find events and entertainment all year long at The Myrtle Beach Resort. In addition, during the summer months the resort has a Children's Activities Program to help keep the kids entertained without leaving the comfort of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Myrtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Mrytle Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtle Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.