We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% savings for spring
Ranked #14 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great family place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Ocean Reef is very family friendly. Adults and children = enjoyment! This was our 2nd visit and no hesitation to spend another visit. The accounting/bill needs some work for accuracy at checkout.
Nina

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Nina S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Feedback from valued customers like you is greatly appreciated as we are continuously looking at ways to improve the guest experience. Our team can't wait to welcome you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    627
    175
    80
    50
See reviews for
923
437
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Ocean Reef was a great place. We were referred by friends the stay very summer. It was perfect for our needs and I think that is the key -what your needs are and what you expect out of the hotel. It seemed exceptionally great for multi-generational family vacations as well as families with young children. Our children are 12 and 14 and although they didn't utilize the kids club Ocean Reef had terrific kids activities and just the right amount. For our aged children we loved that we could have both the beach and the pool at our finger tips. We thought the location to main attractions in was also perfect - we could go north or south to any of the main attractions and be there in just minutes!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Audrey C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates all the wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a great resort for young families but it has a few pitfalls.
1. Horrible WIFI service - so frustrating, but the signal is just way to weak.
2. Loud - Afternoon DJ at the pool just a little too much for me.
3. Pool was overcrowded at peak times.
Overall though this place is a good bang for the buck if you have young kids. The staff was excellent for our visit. No real service complaints, room was clean and sufficient.
Although, if you are vacationing as a couple and don't need a lazy river and a beach bar and just want a quiet, clean, well managed place, I'd recommend the place next door called the Schooner. Our kids are starting to outgrow the Ocean Reef, so next year we are gonna try the Schooner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Sabre11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! Feedback from valued customers like you is very important as we are continuously looking at ways to improve the guest experience. Our resort is very family friendly and we concentrate on having a family atmosphere. We do hope you will try us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Everything was excellent except for the resort fees that get put on your bill at the end of your stay. They should let you know when you check in that part of the $100 credit card hold is for marketing and resort fees.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear JennyM143,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! Feedback from valued customers like you is very important as we are continuously looking at ways to improve the guest experience. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We recently stayed at Ocean Reef for a 5 night family vacation. We had a 3 BR penthouse suite - furnishings were basic but in good condition (large kitchen table, couch, side chairs, desk, tvs in each BR and LR). Plenty of living space. The carpet does look like it should be replaced soon but everything was very clean. I thought the beds were comfortable. The view was amazing - we were on the 15th floor. On arrival I noticed we were missing several kitchen items (ex. baking dish) - I notified the fron desk and items were brought up the next morning (as requested). All the staff we encountered were friendly and very professional. The pool area is a bit crowded and lounge chairs are very close together. We did not have a problem getting chairs but you needed to be by the pool by around 10am to do so. There are also a lot of lounge chairs in a grassy area overlooking the water - there did not seem to be any problem getting these spots. Very easy access to the beach - from what I understand the town rents umbrellas and chairs. I would suggest bringing your own if possible and consider bringing or buying beach towels - the ones supplied by the hotel are very small. We bought towels and a large beach blanket from one of the numerous places that sell them. The hotel has a lot of kids' activities - volleyball, 'giant' checkers and chess and ping pong and also a game room. There are separate pool areas for kids - lazy river, slide, water attractions. We did not eat at the hotel but saw a lot of people at the breakfast restaurant. You are also able to get food from the lounge (can get it to go - menu had burgers, wings, club sandwich, nachos, etc.). Any restaurant you can possibly imagine is down there. We bought groceries and ate in a lot but also went to Denny's, Greg Norman's and Landrys. Highly recommend you spend some time at Broadway on the Beach. We also went on a casino boat ride (Big M) - we had fun - it's 5 hours so a bit long if you do not gamble, (slots, table games, buffet). There are lots of places for mini and 'regular' golf. Husband played the Legends course and really enjoyed it. I would recommend Ocean Reef to others.

Room Tip: A bit pricier but the view from ocean front rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear AMackay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and you very accurately touched on all our amenities! Our team truly appreciates all your wonderful comments and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

A nice place for the family. Had a lot of fun at the pools, and lazy river. The only down fall to my stay was the TV's were out dated. Need to update the rooms. I know they are working on that. Would I stay again? Oh yes, one of the best on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a great view of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear BgJohnson1955,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Feedback from valued customers like you is greatly appreciated as we are continuously looking at ways to improve. Our team truly appreciates the wonderful comments and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Ocean Reef was a great home away from home place to stay. We enjoyed everything there. Wish we had chosen an efficiency room but will know better next time. Plenty for the kids to do. Loved all the hottubs! We didnt even realize we had an exercise room til the day we were ready to leave! The landscape was exceptionally nice. Plenty of lounge chairs at the pools and in the yard. Great place to stay. We will definiately be back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Candace A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.