We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at Ocean Reef for a 5 night family vacation. We had a 3 BR penthouse suite - furnishings were basic but in good condition (large kitchen table, couch, side chairs, desk, tvs in each BR and LR). Plenty of living space. The carpet does look like it should be replaced soon but everything was very clean. I thought the beds were comfortable. The view was amazing - we were on the 15th floor. On arrival I noticed we were missing several kitchen items (ex. baking dish) - I notified the fron desk and items were brought up the next morning (as requested). All the staff we encountered were friendly and very professional. The pool area is a bit crowded and lounge chairs are very close together. We did not have a problem getting chairs but you needed to be by the pool by around 10am to do so. There are also a lot of lounge chairs in a grassy area overlooking the water - there did not seem to be any problem getting these spots. Very easy access to the beach - from what I understand the town rents umbrellas and chairs. I would suggest bringing your own if possible and consider bringing or buying beach towels - the ones supplied by the hotel are very small. We bought towels and a large beach blanket from one of the numerous places that sell them. The hotel has a lot of kids' activities - volleyball, 'giant' checkers and chess and ping pong and also a game room. There are separate pool areas for kids - lazy river, slide, water attractions. We did not eat at the hotel but saw a lot of people at the breakfast restaurant. You are also able to get food from the lounge (can get it to go - menu had burgers, wings, club sandwich, nachos, etc.). Any restaurant you can possibly imagine is down there. We bought groceries and ate in a lot but also went to Denny's, Greg Norman's and Landrys. Highly recommend you spend some time at Broadway on the Beach. We also went on a casino boat ride (Big M) - we had fun - it's 5 hours so a bit long if you do not gamble, (slots, table games, buffet). There are lots of places for mini and 'regular' golf. Husband played the Legends course and really enjoyed it. I would recommend Ocean Reef to others.

Room Tip: A bit pricier but the view from ocean front rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear AMackay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and you very accurately touched on all our amenities! Our team truly appreciates all your wonderful comments and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    527
    156
    73
    46
See reviews for
805
350
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A nice place for the family. Had a lot of fun at the pools, and lazy river. The only down fall to my stay was the TV's were out dated. Need to update the rooms. I know they are working on that. Would I stay again? Oh yes, one of the best on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a great view of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear BgJohnson1955,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Feedback from valued customers like you is greatly appreciated as we are continuously looking at ways to improve. Our team truly appreciates the wonderful comments and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ocean Reef was a great home away from home place to stay. We enjoyed everything there. Wish we had chosen an efficiency room but will know better next time. Plenty for the kids to do. Loved all the hottubs! We didnt even realize we had an exercise room til the day we were ready to leave! The landscape was exceptionally nice. Plenty of lounge chairs at the pools and in the yard. Great place to stay. We will definiately be back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Candace A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family comes to this resort every year for the past 11 years and every year it's a wonderful experience. The decor has been updated in the rooms since last year, the beach is well lit at night, the pools/hot tubs and hallways are always kept tidy. A wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear raeray999,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our team truly appreciates all the wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love ocean reef, I'm definitely coming back every year to stay there! The staff and my overall experience was amazing and I'll always keep coming back to stay at the ocean reef resort! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sarah P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thoroughly loved our stay at Ocean Reef! After much research of hotels and condos, we decided to book Ocean Reef and were so happy that we did. Our room on the 17th floor (which is the best floor!) was so spacious, clean and had updated furniture and a gorgeous view of the ocean. In fact the entire hotel looked clean. The restaurant is cute with a veranda and garden area where you can eat breakfast while being oceanfront. Our only complaint which is minor is that our housekeeper failed to give us sheets for the pull out bed a couple of nights in a row. But a simple phone call fixed that. And, if you're wanting to get beverages and food poolside, they tend to get a little swamped and you have to be patient for service. Other than that, we had a FABULOUS time! We will definitely consider Ocean Reef on our next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: !7th floor of the hotel is the best! Only 5 rooms on this floor, so very quiet and pretty with windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Heidi H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I read a few reviews on the hotel before booking and at first was a little apprehensive because of a few negative comments yet I decided the good comments outweighed the bad and I just knew that my boys would enjoy this place. I do not regret the decision at all, in fact it was a pleasure. The staff was always helpful and courteous and there were so many ammenities and easy access to the beach that everything was easy and fun. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.