We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Vacation at the Ocean Reef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off now for summer!
Ranked #25 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mini Vacation at the Ocean Reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I just returned home after spending a few days at the Ocean Reef, Myrtle Beach. our stay there was very enjoyable and relaxing. The facility and staff were very exceptional and made our stay extremely satisfying. We have no reservations in giving the hotel a 5 star rating and plan to stay there again. I wish to add that we have stayed at this hotel at least 5 times and we have always been pleased with our stay at Ocean Reef.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor for a shorter elevator ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Y, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Larry C,

Thank you for writing such an excellent review, but more importantly, for choosing the Ocean Reef for the fifth year! We are proud to be able to accommodate such valued guests each year. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back for your sixth!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    667
    382
    130
    67
    42
See reviews for
583
296
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Good food, indoor and outdoor pool and heated inside. reat rooms. Clean and smells good. The bar was great and the help and all the staff did a great job looking after us. I know you will have a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Y, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear DejGastonia,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Ocean Reef Resort! It certainly makes our day to hear we were able to help provide a memorable vacation. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currituck, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Two-bedroom suite, 4-day golf trip with 35 or so folks. No breakfast coupons (supposed to be included), not much help from front desk, and we had to chase coupons down for two days before resolved. Bad ceiling leak in bathroom second afternoon - first call to front desk resulted in a quick visit and a 'no big deal' response from staff. Later that night while asleep, we were awakened and ousted from room, and then were moved to a 1/2 sized room. THAT room had a bad shower/bath faucet leak (I'm talking loud, running water). Called front desk again the next morning and were told it would be fixed while we were out that day. Maintenance disassembled the valves, then left everything unassembled and lying on bathroom floor (no shower after a long hot day of golf). We called AGAIN and somebody put the thing back together, but did not fix it (no parts, he said). Upon checkout, I tried to get the Gen Mgr but could not. Wrote email to Gen manager and her boss. She responded politely that she would investigate, but her boss never bothered at all. That's the last we've heard from the mgr and never heard from the MyrtleBeachHotels guy.
Ocean Reef is a decent place for an aging resort - basically clean, great ocean views, and hourly staff is outstanding - but maintenance and gen processes leave a lot to be desired, and mgt may or may not be responsive (they weren't for us). A little disappointing to us given the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Walksomemore,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Ocean Reef Resort. Our staff takes exceptional pride in their work and customer-service and we'd like to apologize that we weren't able to make your stay a satisfactory one. We appreciate comments from valued guests like you because it continuously helps our team improve. If you would like to speak further about your recent stay please don't hesitate to correspond to any member of our management team - we are here to help. We hope to see you again at the Ocean Reef Resort!

Sincerely,
Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shohola, Pennsylvania
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The ladies at the front desk that I have dealt with were very nice and pleasant. There names were Selena and Crystal. They made my father and I laugh. They were very nice and respectful, and they helped with everything we needed. Never had any problems with them at all. The house keeper lady was great as well. Her name was Rhonda. The only problem we had was with the main office, one of the ladies were very nasty I didn't know her name. Overall my stay was pretty great. Thanks to the girls at the front desk. The person who was the main cleaner which was not Rhonda, did not leave anything we needed, left everything for Rhonda to do. Rhonda took over and kept and very nice and clean. They should have more people like her that look out for the vacationers.

Room Tip: The floor was 11 and it was ok, but had an odor. I like oceanfront they are nice. It is always good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Katherine K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an excellent review of your stay at the Ocean Reef Resort! We truly appreciate the recognition of the staff members you've been in contact with - we are always striving to provide the utmost attention and service to each and every guest. It is thrilling to hear that these employees made your stay a memorable one. We can't wait to see you back at the resort soon!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights didn't want to leave rooms were beautiful view was outstanding the staff was wonderful Selena at reception and Maggie our dining room waitress and Lulu at the banana boat bar were great. We will definitely be back what a great place and perfect location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mary M,

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Reef Resort as your road trip destination! Our staff works exceptionally hard to ensure each and every guest receives the highest level of customer service. Your praise will certainly be passed to each department! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The stay was wonderful. Great rooms, service, amenities and the bar has the best white Russians ever (ask for the vanilla ice cream mix) !! The rooms were very comfortable and the service was better than ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Howie203,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your wonderful stay at the Ocean Reef Resort! Our staff takes exceptional pride in knowing we've made our guests vacation experience comfortable and one to remember. Let us know when you're booking again so we make sure to have plenty of the vanilla ice cream mix for your White Russian!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the ocean Reef Resort and it has never disappointed. So much to do there from 2 pools (indoor and outdoor heated), hot tubs, a lazy river, a gym, and right on the beach. The breakfast buffet doesn't disappoint either...So many other attractions at myrtle beach as well. Selena was a great help at the service desk. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen Y, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Zmann6687,

Thank you very much for taking the time share your wonderful experience at the Ocean Reef Resort. We're thrilled you were able to take advantage of all the resort has to offer and that we could make your stay a memorable one. Our staff takes great pride in our customer-service, and Selena will surely be notified of the difference she made in your stay! We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,

Stephen Youngerman
Asst. Front Office Manager
Ocean Reef Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.