We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of summer vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates as low as $49
Ranked #11 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Bristol, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“End of summer vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My three sisters and I enjoyed staying last week for four nights at Ocean Reef. Room was clean, good service when we requested blankets and towels. We had breakfast in the restaurant our last day and we had the most gracious, sweet waitress named Maggie. We were so impressed and disappointed at the same time that we did not have breakfast some of the other days. Hopefully she will still be there since we plan to return next year! The only downside we had a parking ticket on vehicle when we returned to car to load. Don't park in the side parking!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Tracy H,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We also thank you for your recognition of Ms Maggie in our Café du Port! She is truly an asset to our resort and embodies what our resort prides itself on, our customer service! thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    591
    162
    76
    48
See reviews for
871
404
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean reef Resort for four days and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was exactly what we expected. Nice oceanfront with two queen beds. Everything was very clean. We enjoyed the game room, hot tub, and the view from our 10th floor balcony. ALL of the staff was very nice from the front desk to the housekeeping staff... We will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you and your family had a great time at our Resort and we certainly look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Hope, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Ocean Reed Resort from September 2 until September 6 and had an awesome time. Our room on the 17th floor was spectacular. The Banana Boat Lounge had some awesome drinks and the bartender on the 6th was AMAZING.

Upon arrival Crystal checked us in at the front desk and she was fabulous. Made us feel right at home from the start. Spoke with Ginger later in the evening and she was very helpful too! Very organized front desk!

Selena was in the little store one night when we went down and was also the host at breakfast. She was awesome!

Judy our server at breakfast was so kind and made us feel like we were at home. And the food was delicious.

Clean pool areas and insanely close beach access made it an awesome vacation.

Working in a resort myself I know how stressful it can be. You guys have mastered the art of customer service kudos to you. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear pdm909,

Thank you so much for such an amazing review! We appreciate hearing our guests experiences and I cannot say how thrilled I am out staff was part of what made your stay a memorable one. All of our staff goes above and beyond on a daily basis and I know they are reading your review and appreciating the recognition as well. We certainly look forward to your next visit and thank you again!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed from September 8 until the 13th. We had 8 people total, 2 kids, 4 and 8. The kids loved, loved, loved, all the pools and especially the slide! I wasn't impressed with the housekeeper who worked on Belinda's day off, but Belinda made up for that. :) We stayed in a 4 bedroom, 3 bath condo and it was great, all though I think we all complained about the beds. They really could use replacing. And the way the condo is configured, it isn't surprising that the walls are all scuffed up from the luggage carts. Maybe some smaller ones need to be had for the small entry rooms. The bartender downstairs wasn't too friendly and I saw him walk away from customers and go to the back room for a few minutes and casually stroll back out. I am frankly kicking myself for leaving him a tip. That was Thursday night by the way. Didn't catch his name. And Thursday 2 elevators were down at the same time. That wasn't much fun and made us late for parasailing, but they let the brave ones go ahead an parasail.
All in all we will certainly return. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear ccarpenter1963,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are happy to hear your family was able to enjoy our newest water amenity, The Lagoon Launcher! It has become a fast favorite among our guests. I do apologize if any of our staff was unfriendly. We pride ourselves on our staff and please know we will address the situation. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family on a future visit!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just got back from a 4 day trip to Myrtle Beach. While the hotel is a bit older, the folks do a great job of maintaining it. We appreciated the fact that the kiddie pool was in a whole different area from the other one. Therefore, us older folks were not listening to the "enthusiasm" of the wee ones. Loved the location and the Starbucks next door. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear jo6850,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay! We are glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful oceanfront pools and we certainly look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the third time we've vacationed here. It's a great resort, has everything you can possibly need. The oceanfront rooms have great views, it has a nice pool and lazy river, and the staff is very polite and accommodating. The breakfast buffet is delicious! Would not stay anyplace else in M.B.

Room Tip: We like the higher rooms for the view, stayed on the 15th
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear NJKeywest,

Thank you for such a great review! are thrilled you and your family had sucha great time and we certainly look forward to seeing you on a future stay!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from a long end of summer weekend here, and here's my two cents' worth: The location is great, well north of the boardwalk/pavillion area so it's very nice and quiet. Check-in was quick, and the staff were polite but professional. Parking deck is a little tight, but not the worst I've ever negotiated. The views (1th floor) were incredible! Pool area is pretty good sized, lazy river a little small maybe and only one hot tub that I saw but the water park area looks like fun for the smaller crowd. Breakfast buffet was okay, not great but not bad with good variety of items available and price was decent. The rooms themselves are spacious, and tastefully decorated. The separate shower could have used some new tile and grout work but no complaints about it. The only gripe I had was the bed was very hard. Overall I would give the place a 3 1/2 or 3 3/4 star rating: Few things that could maybe have been a little bit better but I did enjoy my stay there.

Room Tip: There are both "ocean view" and "ocean front" rooms available and there is a dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Khu455,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are glad you and your family had a great time, and we appreciate your feedback! We look forward to seeing you on a future stay!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.