We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumpy Start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off now for summer!
Ranked #25 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Inman, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bumpy Start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our vacation this year at the Ocean Reef had quite a bumpy start. First of all, when we completed our pre-check in (we were early), nothing was said about a problem with the condo. When we picked up our keys later in the day, we were told we could only be in the unit for one night "since the owner was returning." We were not at all happy about having to move all of us since basically we couldn't even unpack. With us was our grandson who has a medical condition and must keep on a very strict schedule regarding dietary and medical needs. We were told that we would be moved by the staff the next morning between 11:30 and 1:30. Well, of course 1:30 rolled around and we had not heard anything. We had been told just to leave everything packed and that the staff would move our stuff and we would only have to pick up the keys. We were uncomfortable leaving our things unattended, even in the room. Long story short, we were told two different units to move to and lots of confusion ensued. We basically had a full day of our vacation spent sitting around. The desk personnel didn't seem concerned and we were not getting any straight answers.

However, Crystal (one of the managers) appeared on the scene and made everything right. She did an outstanding job of assisting us and was very apologetic regarding our being inconvenienced. She went above and beyond and completely out of her way to make sure we were taken care of. She even provided compensation for our troubles. I can't say enough to anyone that if you are having problems at this property, contact Crystal. She did an outstanding job!

The rest of the vacation went smoothly. We have been staying at Ocean Reef pretty consistently for about twelve years. We like the property and the location. Even though it was so crowded due to the time of year, everything was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a condo on a higher floor. The south tower is right above the pool and can be pretty noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear RuthAnn52,

First please let me apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We always want our guests to have a fantastic vacation from start to finish and we apologize there was disruption in yours.

I did want to clarify - the room you were originally due to check into had a maintenance issue that we were not able to resolve for that evening. We did have another unit available, but the home owner of the unit was checking in the next day, so that caused us in asking you and your family to relocated to a new unit the next day. Having stayed with us for so many years, we hope you know this is not standard and something we would not have asked you and your family to do unless it was our last resort.

It was my pleasure to assist you and your family. After you had explained your grandsons needs, I truly wanted to make the transition smooth and make sure you were situated for the rest of your stay. I do hope you and your family enjoyed the rest of your stay and I sincerely hope to see you and your family on your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions or comments. Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    667
    382
    130
    67
    42
See reviews for
583
296
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

So many things wrong with this place, I don't know where to start. First off the check in is horrible. They have two people working with a huge line of people waiting to check in. The whole check in process is extremely slow. The parking is also horrible. Good luck trying to find a spot. Once we finally found a spot and got to the room, noticed it was terribly outdated. Some of the lights didn't work, rust on the lock to lock the door, no actual closet to hang things up ( there is a space to hang things but its pointless since they smash the mini fridge in this area and you can't hang things), the safe on the wall has no way of locking so you can't lock up any valuables, the beds are hard and pillows are stiff, if you take a shower while the next room over is taking a shower your shower gets extremely hot or extremely cold. Not enough chairs by the pool, they are all taken by late morning. The breakfast buffet food was not that great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear thedude0824,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I do apologize that you had some issues and we always look at our guests comments as opportunities to improve in areas of our service.

Please note on a daily basis there can be up to 200 guests checking in. While we have the desk staffed for this volume, once 3pm arrives everyone does try to check in at the same time which can cause a wait. We do our best to expedite the process, but we also need to make sure our guests get all the information needed to make their stay a great one. Part of the information packet we do give at check in includes the note to come to the desk if you a re in need of a safe key to secure your valuables. The safe was not broken, you just needed to obtain the key for it. Part of the packet also explains our parking. Our parking spans over 3 blocks and includes a parking garage. While we understand you may not be able to get a parking spot directly across the street, we do have ample parking for our guests.

We do apologize if you were dissatisfied with your stay, but we do hope you would stay with us on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Kind, patient, & thorough staff! From the time of check-in Amber & Crystal at the front desk were beyond wonderful! We do miss the grill outside & Amber at the kids area (she always remembered my daughters name)! Crystal V. (Management) was also very helpful with information & information! Selena is very informed for recommendations of the area & so sweet!! Maggie at breakfast buffet is great!! This is our number 1 choice at myrtle beach because it meets our needs & fits our family perfectly!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Banic77,

Wow! Thank you for such a great review! The staff here at Ocean reef works hard to make sure our guests have a top rate facility to stay in during their vacation and that we deliver superior customer service at every opportunity. Every staff member you mentioned ( thank you!) are perfect example of this.

We are thrilled you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first stay at Ocean Reef so we weren't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room recently refurbished with modern décor. When we arrived, we discovered one of our comforters was dirty. We called the front desk and they delivered a clean comforter. The view of the ocean was wonderful and we enjoyed many evenings on our balcony. Housekeeping staff was very friendly. We encountered one person at the front desk who wasn't very outgoing, but she wasn't rude either so we just thought maybe she was having a rough day. Overall, our stay was wonderful and we would definitely return to this resort if were to return to Myrtle Beach in the future.

Room Tip: Request an oceanfront room. These rooms have been refurbished recently and the small increase in pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear hdb1225,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We strive to provide the best possible vacation with us and appreciate you had a great time and that out staff was accommodating.

Please let me know if you have any further questions or comments. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Again we had an awesome vacation here at the Ocean Reef Resort!! My only complaint was that when I booked my room it stated Queen size beds when they really were full size beds. The hotel has underwent some renovations and was extremely clean. Breakfast at the restaurant was good and our waitress Maggie was awesome.(she deserves a raise) Everyone from the front desk, maintenance,maids was extremely friendly and helpful. Will be back next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear tnnursemom,

Thank you for such a great review! We appreciate our guests letting us know about their stay! Thank you for taking the time to mention Ms. Maggie- she is truly an asset to our team.

We look forward to seeing you and your family during your next stay!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Older property with 2 newer towers ( less than 10 yr old ). Ocean front rooms recently redone in blues, greys and browns. Condos clean, crisp and refreshing with ocean views. Have stayed many times and many different times of the year. Front desk always great, restaurant ocean front and great staff as well. Bar and pool bar in season. Indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs with long partial outdoor lazy river (indoor in winter) and newer kiddie pool play area with tube slide. Has meeting, exercise and small gift shop area. Great area in north part of Myrtle with easy access to HWY 17 and the quietness of the northern part of myrtle. River City 2 doors down, K & W blocks away as well as Outback, Sams Corner and Flamingo restaurants among others. Minutes to all major attractions including Carolina Opry and Restaurant Row in North Myrtle Beach and Tanger Outlets at 17 & 22. Broadway, Barefoot, Sky Wheel not to far away. They also light the beach at night which most hotels don't which is an added plus to see the waves at night or stroll the beach or shell hunt at tide. A true gem in Myrtle Beach !

Room Tip: Ocean front typical of hotels - with fridge etc - great for 2 or 4 - If family or privacy desired go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear J F,
Thank you for such an outstanding review! We are thrilled you had a wonderful time with us and were able to experience some of our amazing amenities! There is nothing like a delicious signature drink from our newly renovated pool bar while you enjoy one of our multiple water amenities or just want to sit and soak in the beach view! We look forward to seeing you on a future visit!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment we checked in the team at Ocean Reef offered excellent customer service. This service continued our entire stay. Great family resort, clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Monique D,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us! We appreciate all of our guests feedback and we thank you for recognizing some of hard working staff!
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.