We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off now for summer!
Ranked #25 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first stay at Ocean Reef so we weren't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room recently refurbished with modern décor. When we arrived, we discovered one of our comforters was dirty. We called the front desk and they delivered a clean comforter. The view of the ocean was wonderful and we enjoyed many evenings on our balcony. Housekeeping staff was very friendly. We encountered one person at the front desk who wasn't very outgoing, but she wasn't rude either so we just thought maybe she was having a rough day. Overall, our stay was wonderful and we would definitely return to this resort if were to return to Myrtle Beach in the future.

Room Tip: Request an oceanfront room. These rooms have been refurbished recently and the small increase in pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear hdb1225,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We strive to provide the best possible vacation with us and appreciate you had a great time and that out staff was accommodating.

Please let me know if you have any further questions or comments. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    381
    130
    67
    42
See reviews for
581
296
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blountville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Again we had an awesome vacation here at the Ocean Reef Resort!! My only complaint was that when I booked my room it stated Queen size beds when they really were full size beds. The hotel has underwent some renovations and was extremely clean. Breakfast at the restaurant was good and our waitress Maggie was awesome.(she deserves a raise) Everyone from the front desk, maintenance,maids was extremely friendly and helpful. Will be back next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear tnnursemom,

Thank you for such a great review! We appreciate our guests letting us know about their stay! Thank you for taking the time to mention Ms. Maggie- she is truly an asset to our team.

We look forward to seeing you and your family during your next stay!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Older property with 2 newer towers ( less than 10 yr old ). Ocean front rooms recently redone in blues, greys and browns. Condos clean, crisp and refreshing with ocean views. Have stayed many times and many different times of the year. Front desk always great, restaurant ocean front and great staff as well. Bar and pool bar in season. Indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs with long partial outdoor lazy river (indoor in winter) and newer kiddie pool play area with tube slide. Has meeting, exercise and small gift shop area. Great area in north part of Myrtle with easy access to HWY 17 and the quietness of the northern part of myrtle. River City 2 doors down, K & W blocks away as well as Outback, Sams Corner and Flamingo restaurants among others. Minutes to all major attractions including Carolina Opry and Restaurant Row in North Myrtle Beach and Tanger Outlets at 17 & 22. Broadway, Barefoot, Sky Wheel not to far away. They also light the beach at night which most hotels don't which is an added plus to see the waves at night or stroll the beach or shell hunt at tide. A true gem in Myrtle Beach !

Room Tip: Ocean front typical of hotels - with fridge etc - great for 2 or 4 - If family or privacy desired go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear J F,
Thank you for such an outstanding review! We are thrilled you had a wonderful time with us and were able to experience some of our amazing amenities! There is nothing like a delicious signature drink from our newly renovated pool bar while you enjoy one of our multiple water amenities or just want to sit and soak in the beach view! We look forward to seeing you on a future visit!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment we checked in the team at Ocean Reef offered excellent customer service. This service continued our entire stay. Great family resort, clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Monique D,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us! We appreciate all of our guests feedback and we thank you for recognizing some of hard working staff!
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snellville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a great time staying at this resort. Our room over looked the pool and the beach! We loved it we were able to set up our umbrella in the morning and keep an eye on our stuff from our room! we went from the beach to the pool for both days we were there and everyone had a great time. Can't wait to stay there again next year.

And the front desk girls, Amanda and Crystal were great telling us where the good places were to go, directions they were great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paintsville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in room 915- a 2 queen oceanfront parlor. This room looked to be recently remodeled- the décor was modern and very clean. The room was spacious and had a full size refrigerator, stove, and microwave. It also featured an extended OF balcony and a second balcony that was side ocean view and street view. The beds weren't the best but I have slept on worse. I didn't see any bed bugs anywhere. The room was very clean and the maid (Amelia) was super friendly. We took advantage of the lazy river and kiddie area- both were a hit for me and my 4 year old son! Last year we stayed here in a regular 2 queen OF room- and I must say that this larger room was a better choice- especially when you stay 5 nights like we did. The elevators were fast. Don't think you are going to check-in earlier than the posted time of 3pm, though. Check-in was easy and check-out even easier. This hotel is great for families and the lifeguard on duty on this portion of beach was very strict and didn't play around! I felt very secure! The only issue was the bath tub faucet leaked all night-so the door had to be shut and the water never seemed to get really hot. There was also some rust stains on the tub, obviously from the continuous running water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Hannahs2008,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! You are so tight! The Parlor rooms are definitely some the top requested rooms of our resort. The spacious room is a hit with the room length ocean front balcony and the extra bonus side balcony, allowing views up the Grand Strand.

We are glad you and your son were able to enjoy our amazing pool amenities! We hope he had the opportunity to go down our waterslide a few times!

We look forward to seeing you and your family on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latonia, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had booked our room over the internet and we were not informed about a couple of things until we went to check in. First, your stay is nonrefundable. If you book a room for 5 days and decide to leave after 2, you forfeit the money for the remaining 3 days. They also put $100.00 hold on your credit card, in case of room damage. It can take up to 10 days for them to remove the hold. The parking was horrible. We ended up parking across the street in the parking garage. It was a real pain when it came time to load the car to leave as there were no spots in the 15 min.. loading and unloading zone.So we had to take our bags across the street to load the car. We noticed that some of the cars in the 15 min. loading and unloading were there for a couple of days. So much for their 15 min. zone.The pool bar was expensive $8.50 for a cheeseburger and the frozen beverage I bought was $8.00 and you couldn't even taste the strawberry rum in it. Soda's were $2.50 and were mostly ice. The pool was always crowded and chairs were hard to come by.Lots of towels on chairs that never seemed to be touched.The resort is far away from the boardwalk.I was really disappointed with OceanReef and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Leah H,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We apologize if you did not enjoy your stay, and we would like to address a few of your issues.

When you book your stay on our website, we want to make sure you are aware of our policies prior to you booking your room. Before you are able to reserve, there is a paragraph we ask you read that explains the early departure policy, as well as the $100.00 security deposit policy. We also ask that you click this box before proceeding, just so you are aware and there are no surprises. I do apologize if there was any miscommunication, but we do our best to communicate all this information before a guests books with us. In regards to us releasing the security hold, we actually release the security hold immediately upon check out, your wait is due to the time it takes your banking facility to release the hold on your account.

The pool is a popular gathering place for the guests of our hotel and we appreciate that families are able to enjoy themselves. We apologize if you were not able to enjoy it to the fullest, and I will make sure to follow up with the Food and Beverage Director in regards to your concerns about the bar area.

Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions or concerns. We do hope you will give our facility another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.