We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Oceanfront Parlor Room!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Paintsville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Get the Oceanfront Parlor Room!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in room 915- a 2 queen oceanfront parlor. This room looked to be recently remodeled- the décor was modern and very clean. The room was spacious and had a full size refrigerator, stove, and microwave. It also featured an extended OF balcony and a second balcony that was side ocean view and street view. The beds weren't the best but I have slept on worse. I didn't see any bed bugs anywhere. The room was very clean and the maid (Amelia) was super friendly. We took advantage of the lazy river and kiddie area- both were a hit for me and my 4 year old son! Last year we stayed here in a regular 2 queen OF room- and I must say that this larger room was a better choice- especially when you stay 5 nights like we did. The elevators were fast. Don't think you are going to check-in earlier than the posted time of 3pm, though. Check-in was easy and check-out even easier. This hotel is great for families and the lifeguard on duty on this portion of beach was very strict and didn't play around! I felt very secure! The only issue was the bath tub faucet leaked all night-so the door had to be shut and the water never seemed to get really hot. There was also some rust stains on the tub, obviously from the continuous running water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Hannahs2008,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! You are so tight! The Parlor rooms are definitely some the top requested rooms of our resort. The spacious room is a hit with the room length ocean front balcony and the extra bonus side balcony, allowing views up the Grand Strand.

We are glad you and your son were able to enjoy our amazing pool amenities! We hope he had the opportunity to go down our waterslide a few times!

We look forward to seeing you and your family on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    541
    156
    74
    46
See reviews for
823
361
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Latonia, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had booked our room over the internet and we were not informed about a couple of things until we went to check in. First, your stay is nonrefundable. If you book a room for 5 days and decide to leave after 2, you forfeit the money for the remaining 3 days. They also put $100.00 hold on your credit card, in case of room damage. It can take up to 10 days for them to remove the hold. The parking was horrible. We ended up parking across the street in the parking garage. It was a real pain when it came time to load the car to leave as there were no spots in the 15 min.. loading and unloading zone.So we had to take our bags across the street to load the car. We noticed that some of the cars in the 15 min. loading and unloading were there for a couple of days. So much for their 15 min. zone.The pool bar was expensive $8.50 for a cheeseburger and the frozen beverage I bought was $8.00 and you couldn't even taste the strawberry rum in it. Soda's were $2.50 and were mostly ice. The pool was always crowded and chairs were hard to come by.Lots of towels on chairs that never seemed to be touched.The resort is far away from the boardwalk.I was really disappointed with OceanReef and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Leah H,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We apologize if you did not enjoy your stay, and we would like to address a few of your issues.

When you book your stay on our website, we want to make sure you are aware of our policies prior to you booking your room. Before you are able to reserve, there is a paragraph we ask you read that explains the early departure policy, as well as the $100.00 security deposit policy. We also ask that you click this box before proceeding, just so you are aware and there are no surprises. I do apologize if there was any miscommunication, but we do our best to communicate all this information before a guests books with us. In regards to us releasing the security hold, we actually release the security hold immediately upon check out, your wait is due to the time it takes your banking facility to release the hold on your account.

The pool is a popular gathering place for the guests of our hotel and we appreciate that families are able to enjoy themselves. We apologize if you were not able to enjoy it to the fullest, and I will make sure to follow up with the Food and Beverage Director in regards to your concerns about the bar area.

Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions or concerns. We do hope you will give our facility another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Always have a great time each and every time we come to the Ocean Reef Resort. I would like to say that also a young woman by the name of LILI who works at the pool is a outstanding and hard working young woman. She was in housekeeping in 2012 & was a pleasure to talk to then. This year when she saw us as always, sweet and right away came over & remembered me. Please pass this on to the general manager .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear myra p,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay, and thank you for taking the time to recognize one of our associates, Lili! This is Lili's 3rd year with us and we agree she is an asset to our company. We hope you had an amazing stay and we look forward to seeing you on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varnville, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My new husband and I stayed at Ocean Reef on our honeymoon on the recommendation of my brother and sister-in-law. I'm a real stickler when it comes to cleanliness and service and Ocean Reef met my standards easily. Our standard double room was clean and comfortable. Any requests we made to the Ocean Reef staff were handled professionally and promptly. The cafe inside the hotel served a wonderful breakfast and also has a great staff. I regret that I can't recall names of those who helped make this a fabulous trip. Also, we were so close to many activities and the concierge was very knowledgable. We even stayed an extra day and hated to leave. We are going back for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear TracyandDanny,

First let us congratulate you on your recent marriage! Our resort is a perfect couples getaway and we hope you had the opportunity to experience some of our amazing amenities, including our newly renovated poolside bar!

And I could not agree with you more! The breakfast buffet is amazing with so many choices and delicious food. And starting your day with an amazing breakfast sitting in our ocean front restaurant, just a perfect start to the day! We look forward to seeing you next year on your anniversary! Please let me know if you have any questions or comments!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is our third stay at Ocean Reef. We love staying here. This resort is always very clean and up to date. The stretch of beach is beautiful and our kids love the play area and lazy river. Definitely one of the nicest and most luxurious resorts in Myrtle Beach. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Michelle T,

Thank you for such a great review! We appreciate the opportunity to not only welcome back our return guests, but to be part of the memories you build with your family year after year. We are glad the kids were able to enjoy the lazy river and water park area! We do hope they had a chance to go down our new water side a few times! It is a must for the kids!

Thank you again for allowing us to host your vacation and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just returned home after staying at Ocean Reef Resort in Myrtle Beach, SC. The stay was awesome, just a few things were not right. The beds were like laying on the floor that was the only problem we had. Other than that, very spacious rooms very awesome staff that was on hand for all my questions. We would differently stay with Ocean Reef again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear wfmaree,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We are thrilled that you had a great time and that our amazing staff was able to assist you and answer any questions you may have had. If you ever have any issues during you r stay, please do not hesitate to contact the front desk. We appreciate the opportunity to correct any situation that may be causing your stay even the slightest unpleasantness. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, West Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I’m embarrassed to say that my review is for a Myrtle Beach vacation in September 2012. I kept meaning to write this, but procrastinated.

My family stayed at Ocean Reef in September 2012, as we have done many years before. Ocean Reef is our home away from home. As usual, everything from the reservation process to the check-out process was so simple. This was the first year I brought my grandson with us, and Ocean Reef went above and beyond to accommodate him. We had never brought him because he has cerebral palsy and doesn’t travel well. We didn’t think he’d like the water, heat, sand, or anything about the beach. However, my husband and I started going to Myrtle Beach in 1980, and when our children came along, of course we took them and they fell in love with the beach as well. So, my family decided we had to give Gavin (7 yrs old) the opportunity. Myrtle Beach PD provided a “beach wheelchair” which he loved, but which is really large. Ocean Reef allowed us to keep it in their lobby the entire time we were there (with the exception of one day when an employee put it outside in a shed, and it took us forever to find it and retrieve it). However, the manager was as appalled by that as we were and made sure it never happened again. As usual, our 3 bedroom condo was immaculate, with the exception of a smear in the bathroom, which they immediately cleaned when we pointed it out to them.

Every resort will have something unexpected happen, but the quality of the stay is determined by how the staff addresses it, and Ocean Reef has always been wonderful!

We have reservations for the end of June this year, and so far, the reservation process has been excellent. And they have already offered to arrange for Gavin to have a wheelchair, which is great because we were all wrong about how he’d feel about it. Third generation has also fallen in love with Myrtle Beach!

See ya soon Ocean Reef!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Debbie R,

Thank you for such a great review! We strive to provide superior customer service at every opportunity, but most of all, we want to make sure all of our guests are able to enjoy our amenities and facility. We tell our staff all the time, situations will happen, but how you deal with the situations will determine if a guest will choose us again, and your experience and comments proves this. We appreciate you and your family choosing us yet again, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

We are looking forward to your visit, and please do not hesitate contacting me if you have any questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.