We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates as low as $49
Ranked #11 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
New hampshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just got back from staying at the Ocean Reef. I love this hotel.
This was my 3rd time staying there. The front desk staff is excellent.
I stayed in an ocean front king parlor room. Simply loved it.
My room was very clean when I arrived and cleaned nicely every day.

Had breakfast at the hotel. Want to say Judy
and Brent are the best. They go out of their way to be helpful. I do wish
they they offered yogurt... more healthier choices would be great.

The pools are heated, very clean. The jacuzzis were very clean as well.
Grounds were nicely maintained

This isn't a plush hotel , but it is a great hotel. I would stay there again.

Only two complaints they don't serve dinner. Sometimes you just don't want
to leave the hotel. Beds are not comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear lovetotravelandread,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate hearing what a great time our guests had while staying with us. And especially thank you for acknowledging our staff! They work hard year round and simply are the best in the business with their superior customer service. We look forward to seeing your and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    593
    163
    76
    48
See reviews for
872
405
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My family stays at Ocean Reef every year for our family vacation. The amenities are great-there's something for everyone-lazy river for the kids, tiki bar for the adults, ocean for everyone. I love that they light the beach up at night so you can stroll whenever you want. The service is fabulous. We have never had an issue with this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Jennie F,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay! We are glad you and your family were able to utilize some of our amazing amenities and are thrilled that you had such a great time. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A special thank you to Patsy and Larry for making my stay very comfortable. This was my first stay and must say it will not be my last. The grounds and resort are well kept, staff is friendly and accomodations with the views a re outstanding. Will see you all next year.

Eileen from Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Eileen,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here and had one of the worst experiences Ive ever had. The first room we checked into we went to make a glass of water and all dishes in room were filthy (stuck on food, old beer in one of the cups etc). Then we unfolded the couch/sleeper and there were bloody sheets on them. At that point we went to the desk and explained how horrified we were with our room.. Did not recieve an apology, just a room move. Which would have been okay, but the next day the elevator broke. Mind you it is Mid-July and we were on the 9th floor. We requested we be moved to a lower level as we still had four days left of our trip-we were told it would cost more.
We ended up staying in our room, but the overall customer service was what prompted me to leave this review-the location was great but if you have any issues good luck

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Pug1241,

First, please let me apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay with us. We pride ourselves in our ability to provide an amazing atmosphere and our customer service, and we apologize that we did not meet your standards during your trip. Please note that since your trip we have made alot of changes, including renovated ocean front rooms. Our new Director of Housekeeping is constantly on the floors making sure his staff is following all of our standards so experiences like your do not happen. Our staff has been very focused this off season on making sure customer service is our top priorty, so again, we do apologize for any past experiences, but ask you give us another try with all these new factors in place. We know you will be pleased and we would appreciate the opportunity to erase your previous stay and have you leave with an amazing one.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a mom's night out, and spent the night here. IT WAS SUCH A PLEASANT PLACE TO SPEND OUR MONEY. Really. The staff was excellent and helpful, actually went out of their way. The pools are slightly heated for cold nights, which was great. And they have a few, so you never felt bombarded with people. Also, the Jacuzzi, or the 4!, were nice to just relax. I will definitely bring my husband and little girl here the next time for a family vacation. The have tons of stuff for kids/families! Only cons were: my balcony table was broken and 'placed' back together before my arrival, and the elevators are not exceedingly fast... but manageable.

Oh! I almost forgot, the balcony is separated from the next one over if you get ocean FRONT, and it feels SO MUCH more private. So nice.

Room Tip: The ocean FRONT, not VIEW, is definitely worth the WOW factor when you first walk into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Nicole D,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent getaway! One of the best things about our resort is that many different types of guests can enjoy us for so many different reasons! Whether you are enjoying a drink at our newly renovated bar, or relaxing in one of our many hot tubs ( glad you enjoyed!) your trip with a group of friends can be a relaxing getaway. But then bring your family, so they can enjoy one of our many pools, our waterslide or even our Kids Club, which will be starting in early June! We are appreciate your great review and look forward to seeing you and your family!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is an Amazing Place to stay. It's close to all shopping malls and access to the Beach. The staff is so WELCOMING. This is a TOP of the LINE RESORT. We purchased 3 bedroom, 2 baths, full kitchen and washer & dryer. It also comes with 4 salons, fitness center, sonna, lazy river and 3 swimming pools, and 2 play pool area for kids, Cafe, Adult size Chess and Checker sets, ping pong tables, hot tubs. Make me feel LIKE a KING in my on Little Castle. We will be back to stay again. When we have another get away weekend.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. It was Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Gene L,

Thank you for such an amazing review! We love hearing about our guests experiences and with reviews like yours, we know we are truly suceeding in providing not only one of the best facilities on the beach, but superior customer service as well. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

we stayed here in 2003, so I'm a little late with my review, but from reading others it seems like its still a great place to stay!
The room was great and not cramped, even for a family of four. Kitchenette was so handy for inexpensive breakfasts and lunches. Pool was a nice size and the entire resort was well maintained.
the absolute best aspect was the location. Still a Myrtle Beach address, but far enough away that we weren't bothered by loud partiers....and this was during senior week!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Peggy W,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! We are thrilled that we left such an impression on you during your last stay that you still thought about us after such a span of time! We would love for you to visit us again! We have put alot of new amenities, as well as spruced up the exsisting ones, that we would love for you to experience. Thankyou agaion and we do hope to see you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.