We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoy being here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates as low as $49
Ranked #12 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“We really enjoy being here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the second time coming to Ocean Reef! The staff is second to none here and very kid friendly too:)
The rooms are average (decor maybe a little dated but the view makes up for it.) the rooms are big for a large party are just a family of 4. We usually get the condo rooms witch I highly recommend. The swimming area (pool) is very nice for all ages. I would say they need a life guard to regulate the ages for the kiddy pool area though to keep the older kids out. The breakfast buffet is very good with a very pleasant staff. The only thing I don't like is the room walls are thin so think twice about doing the deed in these rooms. The also need a type of security here to, to help control the singles crowd. They can become very loud and nasty aka vomit in the elevators. But I would highly recommend this place to anyone. The good times out way the small stuff I listed above. I will continue to come here with my family. Please, if you are looking for a big condo type room with a fully equipped kitchen and a great view, then try out this place.
NOTE; I am in no way connected to the staff or business of Ocean Reef Resort just a very pleased reoccurring customer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We apologize if any other guests disrupted your stay with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with superior facilities and customer service, and hearing your stay was disrupted is something our staff does apologize for. Please note we do have rules in place for our swimming areas, and we have a full time pool attendant available if at any time our guests are inconvenienced. We do hope the rest of your stay was amazing and look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Cystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    604
    167
    77
    48
See reviews for
884
416
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Ocean view rooms are just as good as ocean front rooms. Condos are terrific! Had everything we needed to enjoy our weekend! Great beach access and outside pool nice temp-even in March! We had a fabulous time. This was our second time here. We love the property. Will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a great review! Ocean Reef certainly has an amazing vibe to it that brings back guests year after year, some up to 30 years! We are thrilled you and your family had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Second year staying at Ocean Reef in Myrtle Beach, SC. Good news/bad news situation.
First, the bad news. Rooms are dated, need painting and repair (the ceiling was peeling and the carpet had holes), and the living room sofa needed a good cleaning. However, the good news is it's a great location (central), a great breakfast buffet, welcoming staff, and a good selection of room configurations to fit everyone's needs. They had a reasonably priced golf package, but I may look at other venues for next year's trip before deciding on going back to Ocean Reef.

Room Tip: Look at the Ocean Reef website and click on Accommodations to review the wide selection of room type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us here at Ocean Reef! We strive to provide our guests with superior customer service and facilities, and we are happy to say we are in the process of some amazing and refreshing upgrades! This past month we have transformed our ocean front units to amazing works of art! We are also in the process of putting in a new bar area, so that our geusts can sit oceanfront while enjoying a light snack or beverage during their stay. We so hope you will give us one more try. We listened to all of our guests opiniosn adn feel we are creating a warm, family enviroment with refrshig and updated facilities that will wow you on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were taking an extended weekend for spring break. I had originally booked at a different resort and started looking into hotels that offered good inside water features for my 7 and 9 year old kids (since it was going to be cold and rainy most of our trip). I stumbled upon Ocean Reef and they were offering a special. I changed our reservation the day before we came down and saved over $450.00 on our 4 night stay. I increased the size of our place and had a second bathroom. We booked the 2 Bedroom Condo. The area was large and was plenty big for our family of 4. The furniture was a bit dated, but overall was nice. The resort does serve a buffet style breakfast which is decent but not included with the price. The kids loved the inside pool, lazy river, and play area. I loved the indoor hot tubs and the outside hot tub. Very Nice! Front desk staff not very friendly and check in took 15 minutes, which I thought was excessive. Parking is across the street and covers a couple blocks span. Kind of a pain when returning late and can't find a spot. Otherwise, our stay was good and I recommend Ocean Reef!! Great Find!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We appreciate you and your family making the decision to make us your destination vacation spot and I am glad we were able to offer you one of our extrememly reasonable packages! I am sorry to hear if one of our staff members did not make you feel welcome. This is not our standard and unusual gien our staff is one of the best on the grand strand. Please note, expecially if you are checking in when we have a busy day, check in can take up to 15 minutes, just because we want to give all of our guests our attention and make sure they are knowledgable of what we have to offer here at OCean Reef. We do look forward to seeing you and your family!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This isn't a shiny new resort, but it is very clean and the staff is the friendliest anywhere!

The rooms are big and have lots of extra pullout beds if you have extra guests. The one thing our room did not have was a coffee maker but there is coffee downstairs and a Starbucks next door.

Breakfast buffet is a steal at under $10. We grabbed wings and burgers at the bar while watching the games. You must go see Mac. Great bartender.

This was an incredible value in my book

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello and thank you!

We appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy some of our amenities, including our oceanfront bar and Mac He truly is one of the best in the business! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent a week at this resort, along with other Canadian snow-birds, during early March, 2013. We came by bus and rented no cars while in Myrtle Beach.
The Ocean Reef is on a gorgeus beach and most of its rooms and condos have unobstructed ocean view. Close to the hotel are some nice, safe residential areas, in case visitors get tired of walking on the beaches. The hotel is a large, modern building, accomodating 100s of tourists. It has a large restaurant, the Cafe du Port, which serves bearkfast only, for a reasonable price, but can be used for other, special functions as well involving meals. The hotel also has several pools, much to the delight of younger visitors. All pools were over-heated in my opinion, but that is OK for kids who want to spend hours in them. There is a large variety of accomodations. We had a one-bedroom condo in the hotel's "22"-stack. These units are the furtherst from the hotel's main areas and their bedrooms are the most likely to be quiet rooms in the resort. The ocean view from these units is limited, they overlook the parking lot of the neighboring building -- and you have to get near the balkony (there are 2 of them) to get a real ocean view. The higher up you're the better the view.
A stay in the Ocean Reef is an invitation for an epicurean experience in dining. There are four restaurants in easy walking distance (we liked Martin's the most), and almost half-dozen others if you're willing to walk a little further (10-15 minutes). Alas, there is no major food-store similarly close for the disappointment of those who like to eat in, taking advantage of the unit's fully-equiped kitchen. Of course this is not a problem for people with cars or those willing to spend money on taxis -- or go for long walks carrying heavy parcels back.
We found the staff friendly, but on two occasions we were given wrong information at the desk -- involving minor matters.
Being Canadians we missed our usual Canadian channels on the TV (we had a TV in each of our rooms). And I missed the BBC news service, the best in the English-speaking world. But, we appreciated the movie channel.
All-in-all, we liked Ocean Reef. It is a heaven for snow-birds, as well as for kids of all ages. We were really sorry that our pre-schooler grand-kids couldn't join us -- but this had nothing to do with the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel's website offers excellent floor-plans of all the rooms and suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear professor30,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us! You are right! We have some of the most beautiful beaches in Myrtle Beach and there are many amazing eateries in our area, including our own ocean front Cafe du Port! We look forward to seeing you again next year, and hopefully you will be able to bring your grandkids on your next visit, we know they would enjoy our new water park!


Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey outside of Philly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We took the kids and mom, and everyone enjoyed themselves. The pool, lazy river, ocean, water slide and beach was enough to keep everyone happy. The full balcony that came off the master bedroom and the living room was a bonus. We weren't too far from anything, but you have a car anyways so it really doesn't matter.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite and from our bed we could see the ocean. Decor could be viewed as bit dated, but it is Myrtle Beach. Nothing bad to say about this place, but make sure you book early. Front desk was very helpful as well. Move us from a 2 bedroom to 3 bedroom upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Bundles456,

Thank you for your amazing review of our resort and staff! We are glad you enjoyed your room and expecially the beautiful view from our 3 bedrooms condos! Please note we are continuously working on updating our facility, so we do hope to see you and your family in the future so you can see our continous efforts in keeping our facility one of the best on the Grand Strand.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.