We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big South Tournament” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
25% Off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big South Tournament”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved the service here. The rooms are a bit outdated and the ceiling is low in the bathroom. Great bargain. We booked a different hotel to come into town to watch my son's basketball team play in the Big South Conference Tournament. We didn't like the location of the other hotel so the coach told us about this hotel. We called immediately and they gave us a deal that included a breakfast buffet. We didn't even pay $200 for three nights for an oceanfront room (three night special they were having). They also rent condos (1, 2, and 3) It was so relaxing to sleep with the patio door open to hear the waves at night. I got to see the sunrise every morning. They have a concierge that will give you discounts for various activities throughout Myrtle Beach. We didn't want to stay the extra night after my son's team lost and this hotel was gracious enough to refund our money for the final night. I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in an oceanfront standard queen room on the 14th floor. The only problem I had was that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sugarbaby815,

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to host your sons team during the Tournament and we are glad we were able to host your family as well. You are correct in there is nothing like waking up to a beautiful sunrise and amazing ocean view! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    683
    191
    87
    50
See reviews for
1,008
472
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Although the property is a bit dated, we love to return almost every summer and still see some of the same staff at breakfast and the bar! We enjoy that the beach isn't too crowded, parking is fairly easy, and the great views! I work for a hotel developer, and have never understood why Ocean Reef does not have a return customer appreciation/discount or upgrade. As a frequent traveler, it means a lot when hotels let you know they appreciate your return visit, and that is most likely what keeps customers coming back! We are contemplating coming back this summer, but I am debating with my husband as I just have a hard time understanding the poor customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Amber M,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your last stay with us. Just to clarify, we do honor our repeat guests all throughout the year with numerous offers and chances to book at our property for some amazing rates with email alerts and flyers about specials that are due out. We choose to create amazing packages year round, as opposed to having a loyalty point program, as we find this more efficient for our resort to make sure everyone has a chance to enjoy our facility. Our staff welcomes all of our guests with warm smiles and are available 24 hours with any needs you may have, you have had an instance of poor customer service whle staying with us, I would be more than willing to speak with you and resolve the matter. Again, thankyou for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed in the penthouse suite last March, (sorry for the late review). Very clean (and I am a clean freak, it's a must!) and spacious. Wonderful view of the ocean and the sunrises/sunsets from the balcony. Tons of things to do in the resort, indoor/outdoor pools, lazy river, kids pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi all beautifully clean. Housekeeping does a wonderful job & arrive everyday very close to the same time. Not on the downtown strip so you will need to travel a little for restaurants and such or you can just walk a few blocks to River City Café. All together this is our fourth stay here and we have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra $ and get ocean front you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear casuke,

We thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We appreciate your choosing us as your vacation detination resort! We strive to provide superior customer service and amenities and we are thrilled you were pleased with your stay with us. We hope to see you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

While this property is a bit dated (decor), it delivers the fundamentals well. I stayed in a room with a mini kitchen, complete with compact stove, refrigerator and microwave. Also furnished with dishes, silverware, etc. VERY nice setup if you're looking to save money by not eating out all the time. Oceanfront room w/private balcony is the way to go! Priced well = good value. Good service.... they moved me when I gently complained about construction noise. This is a solo trip for me, but I'll bet families/kids would enjoy it here.

Room Tip: If you're going to be spending a lot of day time in the room, ask for a room away from renovatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear LadyBizWriter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We are glad you had a great stay with us, and you are right- the ocean front balconies is definately a favorite. We appreciate your patience while we completed some needed updates. We made it our priority to make sure our guests were not inconvenienced during their stay with us, and I am glad to hear that we were able to resolve your issue quickly. We do look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenansville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just spent the weekend with 10 Tweens(3rd-6th graders) from our church and we all had a great time! We stayed in a 4BR unit and we had lots of room! The staff was great--no problems at all. And there was parking for our 25 passenger bus. We enjoyed a great view of the ocean from 3 of the bedrooms. And we got to see it snow on the beach! Hoping to be able to stay here again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear AprilWT,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your group choosing our facility as its vacation destination and we are thrilled your and your group had an amazing time at our resort. We definately look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for three nights in mid-February in two-bedroom north facing unit.

Pros: Very clean. Beds comfortable. Everything worked. Nice view.
Cons: Walls to neighboring units a bit thin, and furnishings a bit spartan.

Advice: Took me a while to realize that all the lots across the street, including those across from neighboring hotel to the north, were parking for Ocean Reef. If check-in spots are full just park across the street and walk over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Hoffman522,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate all of the feed back our guests give us and use it to make the guests next stay just that more enjoyable. I do apologize if our staff did not direct you where to park upon check in. Our front desk staff's main job is to direct our guests so that any question they may have, we answer before it is asked. We also do give you a map of the area for future reference so that you can see the parking availability at the property. I do apologize for any miscommunication, but I do hope you had an enjoyable rest of your stay! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family has been coming here every year sometimes twice a year for 28 years. Our 2 sons have always loved it here. Our oldest son had his honeymoon here. Our youngest son was a baby & now he is graduating from med school and still loves it here. It is always clean & reminds you of a tropical island. The people are so nice here especially the ones that work in the Cafe du Port. They are like family now especially Maggie she is so much fun and always gives you the best service. Food is always good. We just went for a 3 day valentine day trip me & my wife. We got the best deal hotel & breakfast all 3 days. We will be back again maybe more than 2 times since we are retired now.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, MyrtleBeachHotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.