We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
35% off!
Ranked #13 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

While this property is a bit dated (decor), it delivers the fundamentals well. I stayed in a room with a mini kitchen, complete with compact stove, refrigerator and microwave. Also furnished with dishes, silverware, etc. VERY nice setup if you're looking to save money by not eating out all the time. Oceanfront room w/private balcony is the way to go! Priced well = good value. Good service.... they moved me when I gently complained about construction noise. This is a solo trip for me, but I'll bet families/kids would enjoy it here.

Room Tip: If you're going to be spending a lot of day time in the room, ask for a room away from renovatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear LadyBizWriter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We are glad you had a great stay with us, and you are right- the ocean front balconies is definately a favorite. We appreciate your patience while we completed some needed updates. We made it our priority to make sure our guests were not inconvenienced during their stay with us, and I am glad to hear that we were able to resolve your issue quickly. We do look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    820
    467
    149
    71
    43
See reviews for
715
329
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenansville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just spent the weekend with 10 Tweens(3rd-6th graders) from our church and we all had a great time! We stayed in a 4BR unit and we had lots of room! The staff was great--no problems at all. And there was parking for our 25 passenger bus. We enjoyed a great view of the ocean from 3 of the bedrooms. And we got to see it snow on the beach! Hoping to be able to stay here again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear AprilWT,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your group choosing our facility as its vacation destination and we are thrilled your and your group had an amazing time at our resort. We definately look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for three nights in mid-February in two-bedroom north facing unit.

Pros: Very clean. Beds comfortable. Everything worked. Nice view.
Cons: Walls to neighboring units a bit thin, and furnishings a bit spartan.

Advice: Took me a while to realize that all the lots across the street, including those across from neighboring hotel to the north, were parking for Ocean Reef. If check-in spots are full just park across the street and walk over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Hoffman522,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate all of the feed back our guests give us and use it to make the guests next stay just that more enjoyable. I do apologize if our staff did not direct you where to park upon check in. Our front desk staff's main job is to direct our guests so that any question they may have, we answer before it is asked. We also do give you a map of the area for future reference so that you can see the parking availability at the property. I do apologize for any miscommunication, but I do hope you had an enjoyable rest of your stay! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family has been coming here every year sometimes twice a year for 28 years. Our 2 sons have always loved it here. Our oldest son had his honeymoon here. Our youngest son was a baby & now he is graduating from med school and still loves it here. It is always clean & reminds you of a tropical island. The people are so nice here especially the ones that work in the Cafe du Port. They are like family now especially Maggie she is so much fun and always gives you the best service. Food is always good. We just went for a 3 day valentine day trip me & my wife. We got the best deal hotel & breakfast all 3 days. We will be back again maybe more than 2 times since we are retired now.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from three nights and enjoyed this hotel again. The rooms and hotel seem to be very clean. The people at check in were very friendly. The staff at Cafe du Port were always so pleasant to greet you and cater to your needs. Sometimes the hotel offers specials which include buffet breakfast each morning which I would recommend. One small suggestion would be to replace bedspreads more often which most hotels need to do as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront. Condos are on side but with very good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Zooland,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here on tripadvisor.com! We appreciate hearing our guests experiences and are thrilled we were able to help make this stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILMINGTON
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend a get away weekend where we could sit and watch the ocean. The 17th floor of Ocean Reef was perfect. All windows facing the ocean. The room was huge, beautiful and so comfortable. We had nine sets of towels! The hot tubs and lazy river were well taken care of. We will return often!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Deborah H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.com! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy all of our wonderful amenities and hope you had a chance to enjoy a long soak in our hot tub after a day of sight seeing and enjoying the beach! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Service is top notch. Rooms are clean. We have been staying at ocean reef for 8 years now. Food is spectacular. Kids love the pool activities. Love looking out over the ocean. We have tried a few others but none compare with the outstanding amenities provided us at ocean reef. It is certaintly advantageous that the price is always affordable, no matter time of year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Yalchy67,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of us on tripadvisor.com! And I completely agree, there is nothing like looking out over the ocean while relaxing on one of our oceanfront balconies. It does a great job relaxing you! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.