We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off now for summer!
Ranked #25 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I had looked on tripAdvisor and from reviews decided to go to Ocean Reef. we didn't have a reservation we just walked in and asked for a ocean front room. They allowed us to see our room before we paid for it. We loved the size of the room and the view.
We feel we now have a place to go when we want to get away to the beach. Everyone there was friendly and helpful. The house keeping lady spoke to us in perfect English. That hasn't happened in a long time.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Paul C,

We appreciate you taking the time to tell everyone about your first stay with us here at Ocean Reef Resort! Ocean Reef is not only located in one of the most beautiful areas on the Grand Strand, but we also boast many amenities that we know give our guests an array of choices to make their stay with us a great one! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    667
    382
    130
    67
    42
See reviews for
583
296
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having stayed at Ocean Reef before we went in knowing what to expect, a relaxing weekend. However this stay surpassed all of our expectations. We upgraded a bit this time due to the fantastic winter rates to the largest 4 bedroom / 3 bath unit. I called ahead of time to try and confirm a room on a higher level for the view. The front desk attendant that took my call was very knowledgeable and was able to get us on a higher floor. This particular room had recently been repainted and was in top notch shape for our stay. The kitchen was spacious enough to prepare meals and a dinning area to enjoy them. Three of the four bedrooms had access to the generously sized balcony. The living area featured a wall mounted LCD television and leather recliner that quickly became my choice of seating. We are looking forward to returning to Ocean Reef this spring as it has become our choice for accommodations in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: The 4 bedroom oceanfront unit we stayed in was an angle view. We all felt that this did not subtract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed there over the warm....warm weekend. Great service the rooms were clean,everyone we came in contact with (staff) great. They mention the dry saunas took us some time to find..lol. (Im male men don't ask directions..lol. They are in the bathroom next to the weight room.

Room Tip: Nice place to eat...Big Daddys tried the ribs...fell off the bone...thinking about them now..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear BillnBre,

Thank you for your review! You picked a weekend where the weather was cooperating and the views from the hote, while always amazing since we are right on the beach, were spectacular! We appreciate you mentioning our staff, as they do work hard year round to make sure our guests can enjoy their stay with us with no worries! We look forward to seeing you and your family inthe near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

New it was going to be great the minute the Front Desk person greeted me. Halls, elevators and room were pristine. Loved the option of kitchens, including in room washer and dryer. Convenience of restaurant Bar. Indoor and outdoor pools with lazy river and awesome slide. Very friendly and attentive staff. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Tim D,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Ocean Reef Resort! We take pride in not only our facility but our staff as well. We are thrilled you had a great stay and do hope to see you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We just spent our 5th year at Ocean Reef Resort in Myrtle Beach at New Years. We stayed in a 4 Bedroom Condo. Loved it. The condo is spacious and accommodating for family and friends. We enjoyed playing games around the spacious dining table and a great New Year's Meal. The staff did a great job from reservations to housekeeping. The unit was clean, well stocked. We had a problem with the wireless internet reception and Craig assisted us pronto and we were again connnected.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Janice Y,

Thank you so much for the amazing review of us here at Ocean Reef Resort! We strive to provide superior customer service to all of our guests, and we are happy to know we played a part im making your vacation an enjoyable one. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely, Crystal VanderSchans Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We often visit Myrtle Beach between Christmas and New Year, and during the week following Easter. We've almost always stayed at another resort property, so this was our first time at Ocean Reef. It was better than where we usually stay. We had a 2-bedroom condo in the south tower for a week, with a great view of the ocean. The kitchen was spacious and well equipped with the essentials and a full size refrigerator. The master bedroom was large and had a king bed with a bath, dresser, TV, and a closet. The other bedroom had two full size beds, TV, closet, and dresser. The sofa in the living room has a fold-out bed (which we didn't use). The condo had a compact stacked washer/dryer (which we also didn't use). Everyone on staff we encountered was open, friendly, and helpful. The only negatives were the bedroom TVs were not flat screens and the breakfast buffet was pretty basic. Nonetheless, we are already planning our Easter visit to Myrtle Beach and will be staying at the Ocean Reef.

Room Tip: I think all rooms open to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear kenbrand,

Thank you not only deciding to book with us here at Ocean Reef, but giving us such a great review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you and your family in the future! Please do not hesitate to contact me with any additional questions or comments.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This visit we opted for an oceanfront King Suite. We were on the third floor as there were no upper floors available at check in. The view was tremendous. The kitchen was too small to actually cook in. We had brought our cooked meals from home and only needed to use the microwave. The fridge was a small kind without a freezer and there was no dishwasher. It's ok for a few nights but not a week unless one wants to eat out all the time. The room and bath were clean and reasonably comfortable. The plumbing needs assistance however as the toilet keeps running and making noises. The shower handle just kept turning around several times before hot water appeared. Also a great deal of water still came out the tub spout when the shower was on and the tub filled rather quickly. We had a rain storm and the porch leaked from the unit above making the carpet wet. You could actually seek where small chunks of ceiling had fallen in the past. There were cracks and signs of previous repairs. I didn't care for the night I was awakend at 11:30 by some young people running in and out of the surf and back to the jacuzzi. I've never seen security here but perhaps that is because we only visit in December. The staff was very pleasant upon check in and check out. I would stay here again but would like to try something a little more updated without an updated price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear love2wander12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us here at Ocean Reef Resort. We value all of our guests feedback, expecially our repeat guests such as yourself. Please know our staff is always more than willing to address any issues you have during your stay so that we have the opportunity to resolve them in a timely manner. We do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us, but we do hope to see you and your family in the near future, as we would love the opportunity to show you how amazing an Ocean Reef Resort stay can be. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any additional questions or comments.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.