We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Heated Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
35% off!
Ranked #13 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Sanford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Heated Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We go several times a year to the Ocean Reef, sometimes as a couple, and sometimes with our children and grandchildren. The rooms are comfortable with great views. The front desk is outstanding. We love the heated pools, hot tubs and lazy river. We were swimming in the outdoor pool in December.

Room Tip: Get an efficiency in the South Tower high up for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear KathyJ26,

Thank you for your great review and for choosing Ocean Reef Resort as your vacation destination resort! It is a pleasure to see all of our returning guests and we particularly enjoy seeing new generations enjoying our resort! We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    814
    463
    148
    71
    43
See reviews for
708
329
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We've stayed here twice, two different floor plans. The Queen's Parlor is by far the best room I've stayed in at the beach. There's more balcony room than we could possibly use and the views are amazing! Everything was clean and maintained. GREAT for a couple's getaway! The price was fantastic and the parking isn't a pain like other hotel's at Myrtle. There's several Jacuzzis both inside and out. The WI-FI service is WAY faster than other hotels...even got WI-FI service sitting out on the beach! Cannot say enough about this hotel!

Room Tip: The Queens Parlor is the BEST if you like big, roomy balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear amandaS,

Thank you for your great review of our resort! We strive to provide all of our guests with an enjoyable and relaxing enviroment and we are happy to have succeeded! We look forward to seeing you and you family in the future..and you are right, the Queens Parlor room is definately worth the amazing view!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in December. THIS is avertir clean and quiet resorts. We rented a condo.
It is not high end luxury but you get a great resort with very clean pools lazy rivers and spa.
The lobby is nice and the staff is very friendly.
Overall we will come back for sure this is worth while

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom condo by the side the street. Still you get 2 balconies and a patio door in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Lupi-Anna,

Thank you for choosing Ocean Reef Resort as your vacation resort. We appreciate your kind review and are happy that you were able to utilize the pools and other wonderful amenities we offer. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stay on the 12th floor at the end of the building on the South side! We stayed 12 nights and we found the hotel to be just okay, especially for what we paid for! The front desk people were great! The only thing that turn us off was room service, half the time the room was never cleaned properly, towels were forgotten, we asked the maids a few times about those issues and they seem not to care to much! The rooms were a little out dated just like the furniture. The pool area was nice for the kids, especially the water slides! Crowed at one point especially after lunch but that is expected. Any time you pay a lot of money you just want your expectation to be high! I'm not sure if I would go back, I paid 2700$ for a 1 bedroom condo, while friends of ours stayed at a nicer place and 2 bedroom condo for 2800$ for an Oceanfront view,The only Difference is that they were in South Myrtle! Overall is was just Ok,
Thanks Al from Montreal!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Albertodeiaco,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us here at Ocean Reef Resort. We apologize if you were dissatisfied with your stay. PLease know we take all of our guests issues seriously and the Dorector of Housekeeping has been notified of the issues incurred during your stay. Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The lazy river, indoor pool, and baby pool were nice, however, upon arrival in room #1022 at the Ocean Reef Resort, I could tell this room had been well used. We have stayed in 3 different floor plans three different times at this resort and have not had a room this unclean previously. There were stains on the well-used sofa, the TV in the bedroom had a glob of sticky the size of a baseball on it's screen, and there was a blue wet liquid on the lower shelf of the nightstand in the master bedroom. The oven had been sprayed with oven cleaner and the dried white powder from that spray was still in the oven that I was wanting to bake in. I had to ask for kitchen towels, detergent, and dishwashing liquid each of the 5 days we stayed here. One of the days I still received no kitchen supplies. One evening during my spouse's bath time, and as I was preparing dinner there was a knock at the door. It was the maintenance man at 6:30 PM wanting access to our room to check the AC filter. He had to wait a few minutes until my husband could finish his showering, get dressed, and go to the door himself. It was dark outside and I was not going to open the door to a stranger, especially after dark. I found these issues totally unacceptable. With a little attention to the details, the staff could have made this a great stay for us. Instead, it was disappointing for me to know this room was not up to par, nor cleaned to my standards. I did fill out the questionaire in the room and gave it to the front desk staff. I have heard nothing from that.

Room Tip: If possible, look at the floor plan for the entire resort because like floor plans are stacked atop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear mefopip,

On behalf of the Ocean Reef Resort, please let me apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. We strive to provide not only superior customer service, but an enjoyable and clean facility, and if there had been any issues with your room, this is certianly not our standard. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your stay.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
843-449-4441
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a King Suite Ocean Front with Jacuzzi, the room was OK for the price, disappointing was the Jacuzzi, it should be have been cleaner, it really would need a good scrub, special beneath the handles, other than that the room was clean, breakfast great, view awesome and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: If you looking for a great value hotel it's the spot to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our establishment. I am pleased you found the room accommodations to be satisfactory with your expectations. These rooms are located on the seventeenth floor of our oceanfront tower and offer some of the most breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean one will find in Myrtle Beach. I am very apologetic that your jacuzzi tub was not up the cleanliness standard embodied within the Ocean Reef's standards of excellence. This rueful information has been given to my Director of Housekeeping, and I assure you the matter has been dealt with both assertively and with the utmost of urgency. I am glad there were other factors influenced throughout your stay that seemed to make the overall visit here pleasant. We certainly hope you and your guests will continue to stay with us here at the Ocean Reef Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladson sc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and i had planned thanksgiving at the ocean reef resort.it was a very nice ,clean.we had excellent service.the food at the restruant was excellent.the lazy river was great.everything was excellent we have no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am absolutely delighted that you had such a great holiday with us at the Ocean Reef Resort over Thanksgiving. I hope you were able to take advantage of the wonderfully delicious Thanksgiving feast our Food and Beverage Directors offers each and every Thanksgiving. This has been a local's favorite for years and years, and will continue to into the future. We hope you and your family can make it back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.