We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our favorite Fall-Spring Resort in MB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Sun & Fun Bonus
Ranked #13 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is our favorite Fall-Spring Resort in MB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our last visit was in August after most kids were back to school and we are going back in December. We love the rooms and the housekeeping staff are always very helpful. The indoor pool area is our favorite thing about this resort for the cooler weather. They have a nice little kiddie swim area indoors for the times its too cold to be outside.

The one drawback to the rooms for us are the concrete walls on the balcony that block my toddler's view of the ocean. She wants to climb on the chairs to see over the wall. Of course we never allow her to do this and watch her like a hawk. If it was a wall with bars she could see in between the bars and wouldn't feel the need to climb.

The children's pool area is great for little ones except for that new slide which is too fast for my 2 1/2 yr old. She loves slides and was going nuts to go down this one. She went once with me holding her and it scared her to death. Its a cool slide for kids maybe 6 and up but kids that old aren't likely to be in the shallow outside kiddie area. I wish they would make a smaller slide for the younger ones.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I'm so glad you were able to make it back here in the "off-season" and enjoy yourselves as you normally do. We definitely have plenty of indoor and outdoor water amenities to keep children and adults of all ages having fun the entire time you are here. I want to share with you that not all rooms have closed balconies. To make the building aesthetically appealing from the outside, the floors alternate with open and closed balconies. With that in mind, the next time you reserve a room with us, please make sure you request one of the open balconies with one of our vacation specialists. We definitely want to make sure your little ones are safe while utilizing the oceanfront balconies. We hope to see you and the whole family again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    877
    505
    155
    72
    44
See reviews for
772
337
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent value and good service. Room was clean and comfortable. The food provided for our Friday evening reception and Sat. breakfast and lunch was excellent! I will consider Ocean Reef Resort for a future stay. Excellent location on north Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Ocean Reef from your most recent conference in Myrtle Beach. We have hundreds of rooms that can accommodate the largest of groups, while still giving that personalized experience to our vacationers. Our conference rooms is perfect for small and large functions, any time of the year. I will be sure to share with my Food and Beverage director your kind words regarding the food provided for your functions. He and his department work very hard to provide the best dining experience possible for our guests. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 23rd anniversary in Sept, for 5 days. I was impressed by our room, which was very clean and situated ocean view just like we wanted. My only complaint, it not being the hotels fault, was that I wish it was located a little nearer the "action" of Myrtle beach. It was out first time to to SC and wasnt quite sure as to where to stay. The beach was wonderful and clean, as was the pool. The breakfast buffet was cheap and very good and fresh. If you do not have a car for your outings, plan on walking or waiting(long long wait) for the public transportation. All in all we loved our stay and I would stay here again if I couldn't get something a little closer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I am so happy you had such a great time on your first trip to South Carolina! We are located on the Northern part of Myrtle Beach Our location offers a little quieter experience while still displaying the beautiful ocean-scape. That aside, we are still are so close to the local attractions, restaurants, and all other options vacationers may want to see while visiting. Please come and see us again on your next trip to beautiful S.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We had another great stay at Ocean Reef for a quick weekend away. We have stayed at Ocean Reef previously and returned as we knew it was a good hotel for a good price.

- clean. Lobby, pool, room all were clean and kept in good shape even though overall property is on the older side. Did find past patrons laundry in the dryer...c'mon cleaning crew!
- staff was all very friendly. Easy check in, quick, and up to room in no time.
- amenities were good. They were working on winterizing the pool to make it an "indoor" pool. Pools were heated so overall not too bad.
- don't know why, but I always find it funny when hotel rooms still have tube tv's. Really not the end of the world, and this may be each units owners responsibility. Would not deter us from staying again.
- would LOVE if they would put up a parking garage. This is one thing we have really started looking for in hotels in MB. They have the room for it across the street, just need to put it in. Parking in the evenings can be a little hairy, and sometimes very hard to find a spot. Would feel car is safer in a garage.

Overall a very good stay, and we would probably stay again in the future. We do like the northern area Ocean Reef is located in. Very quiet with less traffic and hustle/bustle.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at the Ocean Reef Resort, and I'm glad that we were able to give you another good family vacation with us. We know our guests travel far distances to come stay with us, and we do our absolute best to get them through the check-in process as efficiently as possible. I sincerely apologize about finding another guest's personal items left behind in your room. There is no excuse for that, and the housekeeping department has been notified of their unsatisfactory work. We have recently put up the pool enclosures at the resort, making the pool, hot tubs, and lazy river indoors and awfully warm and exceptionally perfect for the cooler months. Please know that we do have a large parking garage located diagonally across the street from the resort. I love knowing that you would consider staying with us again. We hope you can make it back to the beach in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent Columbus Day weekend at the Ocean Reef Resort and had a great time. We needed a 2 bedroom condo and I really would have liked to have had a ocean front but they only have ocean view 2 bedroom condos. But we still a a decent view of the ocean. I will be going back there every year from now on.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor. Request a higher floor when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am glad you were able to spend the holiday weekend at your new home away from home. While we do offer Oceanfront accommodations, the Two Bedroom condo is not one of those options. But as you stated, the view is still worth the trip and offers more than a good vantage point. We look forward to having you back year after year, holidays or even just for long weekend getaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wonderful time at Ocean Reef resort!!! We had a direct ocean front room(#311). What a beautiful view!! Looking directly at the ocean in the morning was a great way to start the day. My 2 sons really enjoyed the facilities at the resort also. Wonderful location and the staff was very nice and helpful. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit Myrtle Beach in the future.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the best because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am delighted you had such a wonderful time here at the Ocean Reef Resort. Our Oceanfront accommodations have such a wonderful view, and the fact that your two sons were able to enjoy their time here also is a huge plus! I will share this review with my staff and express to them your kind words regarding their customer service skills and willingness to help. Please come back and see us again, we would love to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The resort is on the beach and the rooms looking out to the ocean have a beautiful view day and evening. The rooms need attention and are so dated that you feel that they have had the same bedding and furniture since 1960! Bathrooms are also in need of a major change.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am so glad you found the views from our resort rooms to be breathtaking! We are in a wonderful part of Myrtle Beach, with easy access to all the surrounding amenities in the area. Please know that in the coming months the resort staff and management alike will be conducting some necessary updates to the guest rooms, as we do every year around this time. We hope that you are able to come back and see us and the changes very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.