We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family resort but......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates as low as $49
Ranked #11 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good family resort but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just returned from a 7 night stay in a 3 bedroom at the end of July.
My only real complaint was that the resort needs to enforce its own rules.
Many people using the pools did not stay at the resort. They were walk ups from the beach or they came from next door at the Schooner. This was very frustrating as a shortage of towels and lounge chairs poolside.
The other thing that I hated was that people were saving chairs at 7am but never showed up at the pool till noon. Maybe this is am American thing that is accepted, but it seemed like people only cared about themselves .
Other than that everything else was fine. The room was clean and spacious, the beach was great.
We went for breakfast one morning and it was OK ( book at the front desk) . Our host (Maggie) was excellent. Parking was across the street, we didn't have any problem.
We paid $ 305.00 per night.
I would stay there again but never during a peak month.....just too busy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    604
    167
    77
    48
See reviews for
884
416
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We just returned from staying for a week at the Ocean reef..we had a 2 bedroom suite (living room,kitchen and dining area) on the 11th floor..Rooms,kitchen were updated,big and very clean! Both balconies had an oceanview. We never had to "fight" for seat at the pool..The breakfast buffet was very good and every staff member we came in contact with was very delightful and helpful. My 10 year old loved the waterslide and pools. We had a great vacation at a very nice resort.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to a larger room/suite like we had..It was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The room we were in was on the 15th floor oceanfront . Room was very clean. It had 2 Queen beds, frig, mircrowave and small range. Average size room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers.

The view from the balcony was great nothing but beach and ocean, however, every other floor the balcony is enclosed so you have to stand on the balcony to see the beach. I did not know this next time I would ask for a open balcony so you could just sit on the balcony and see the beach which would be a even floor number.

The only things about the room that needed attention were the door needed painted, the sliding glass door was a very difficult to shut, and the air conditioner smelled a little one day but that went away.

The pool area was clean but VERY CROWDED and it seemed that people would put their towels down on the lounge chairs and tables early morning to save them but not use the chair all day.There is a sign that if the chair is not used in 30 minutes they would remove the towel but I never saw that happen. We really did not use the outdoor pool because we go to the beach for the ocean not the pool as we have pools at home.

The whirlpools and lazy river were nice, however, there wasn't any supervision by staff or parents. We were on the lazy river and kids were just in there not on tubes just swimming under our tubes almost flipping us. If you are in the lazy river you should be on a tube it is a lazy river not a kiddie pool.

The staff I encounter were very helpful and pleasant.


All in all I was satisfied with the Ocean Reef and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Our drive from cincinnati was about 12 hours. The hotel has great curbside. Parking is across the street which isn't that bad but it was hard to find a space at times. We especially loved the area. It is in a very nice residential area with other hotels nearby but the main strip is about 10 minutes south, if that. I wouldn't want to stay at a hotel in right in the center of it all though. We were no more than 10 minutes away from all the attractions we visited. The beach was great. It got crowded but it was still nice. The pool and waterpark areas were great for the kids and hubby and I loved the hot tubs. I definitely recommend this hotel for kids but if you don't have or enjoy noisy kids it may not be for you. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel was ready even though we got there 3 hours early. One of my goals was to not wish I had picked a different hotel once we got there and even though we drove by several while there, we were extremely happy with our choice. We will definitely return to ocean reef.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston, ny
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

we just got back from a 5 nite stay at the reef resort in myrtle beach 7/22-7/27. we paid $145 a nite for our room with an ocean view. heres my review
Pro's: $145 a nite for an ocean view, cant complain about that. has a kitchen with a full size fridge, stove and sink. safe in the room. staff at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. had to call down to complain about noise around midnite right outside our room and within a couple of minutes the people were dispersed. had a DJ from 1-5pm everyday playing music and games for prizes ( drinks and small cash ).

Cons: room was a lil dated, carpet needs replacing, bathroom was small, tv reception was spotty, elevators were hit or miss, either you got one right away or waited 5 minutes, lever on sink broke as soon as i lifted it up to turn the water on, towels were very scratchy, not soft at all and with the sunburn we had, did not help matters at all.

Overall, i would not stay here again. i would probably book another hotel maybe the Landmark or Indigo which were in the same price range. we still had a great time, weather was great, water was warm and like i said for $145 a nite, you really cant go wrong. maybe were just used to the All inclusives in Mexico and D. R. that we normally go to on vacation, that we have been spoiled a little bit
but just giving you all a heads up, you get what you pay for.

if you do stay here, do not buy food or drinks across the street. they charged me $4.03 for a 1/2 gallon of low fat milk and were about to charge $1 per banana until i told him to take it off the bill. couple of days later went down the street to the Food Lion and paid normal price for milk, lol.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

It is hard to keep an oceanfront hotel up to par. This hotel does an average job. The tub area needs to be updated. Actually the entire room could use an update. The pools were great, although smaller than the pictures. I thought the room too expensive for what we got. The breakfast at the hotel was reasonably priced and okay. The elevators were small for such a busy hotel. It was okay. Probably would not stay again. For the price we paid, I want something a little nicer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We are a family of 6 plus we brought 4 additional family members. Here are my pros/cons:

PROS:

- Room was nice
- Kids loved the pool, lazy river, water slide, hot tubs and beach.
- Poolside bar/grill was nice.
- Beach was clean
- Staff was pleasant. Shout out to Mary our housekeeper. She was awesome!!

CONS:

- We had to wait for luggage carts during check-in & check-out.
- Pool grill is only open from 12-3pm
- Restaurant prices are obscene. $16 for a bagel, 3 sausage links & an OJ...Really?!??!!

This is a nice place for a family with young children. Couples & families with older kids may want to keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.