We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely suprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Affordable Family Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Affordable Family Resort to your Saves list
Affordable Family Resort
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2300 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Cheraw
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nicely suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After reading all the reviews I have to admit I was scared but when we arrived the room was clean and it didn't smell. The staff was very friendly and helpful not rude at all. For the price and what we got we where nicely surprised and will be staying there again when our family returns to myrtle beach!!

Room Tip: choose a higher floor on the water slide side so you can see more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    12
    10
    29
See reviews for
48
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a great motel with very friendly employees especially the manager Glenda Ammons. The room was nice and clean and did I mention free wifi? The also had 3 slides which were free and nice the lifeguard was very friendly much better then other hotels/motels I have stayed at. The location is also great your 200 yards from the beach. Overall this was a great stay and I would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I'm confused by all the supremely negative reviews? The name of the place is Affordable Family Resort and I would describe it as "affordable" and "family friendly". It's one of the few places on the beach that accept pets. Unfortunately, with that comes carpets and furnishing in pretty rough shape. Just worn, not dirty. It was a spacious room with a king size bed in the bedroom and a large living room. The size of the room actually dwarfs the already small, box style TV's. There is no ice machine on property, but there was a functioning ice maker in the freezer. The kitchen is equipped to easily make a meal, but it was just a wet bar to us. Cups and spoons? Check! Overall, it felt clean and accommodating.

Bottom line: It is an average motel, but for $100, you will not find anything nicer than this for you, and your dog, in June, 200 feet from the ocean.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for something off the ground floor so that the entire hotel is walking past the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Had to find something late at night after a horrible experience at a different place. They had an opening so we booked it. It is an okay place for the money. Could be a little more updated but clean, staff was nice and everything worked.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Came up for a family vacation for three days and booked this room at the last second. I checked in earlier that day but wasn't able to get into the room until later that night, after the office had closed. The room felt dirty. Being a housekeping manager at a major tourist resort in Florida, I always inspect my room. I found cobwebs all in the ceilings, mold in the bathroom around the sink, trash still on the floor. I'd post pictures on here if I could...

When I checked the bed, the sheets hadn't been changed and had blood stains on them. I checked under the mattress and found bed bugs. I checked the bed in the other room, luckily there was nothing, I took my chances and slept on the top of the bed because those sheets had also not been changed. The following morning I went to their front desk and showed the attendant the photo that I took of the bed bugs. She asked if I wanted to change rooms...really. She called in the housekeeping manager, she seemed to take it seriously. I was upgraded to a "nicer" room and asked if I could get the first night comped, she said that she didn't have the ability but the owner would be in the following day. The nicer room was slightly larger, that's about it.

In talking with the owner about what happened, she said they weren't going to do anything else since they already upgraded my room at no charge. Personally knowing how to handle and treat a room after they find bed bugs, I asked what they do. The owner said they'll keep an eye on it for a few days and then it it back in service. Unacceptable...this was room 414.

Avoid this place at any cost...

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed there for for four nights, had no problem originally until Sunday when we went to claim our free tickets to Family Kingdom and was told we had to pay $18.00 for them. We were told if you stay five consecutive night the tickets would be free. They owner's son called me a LIAR and told me if I didn't like it I could check out. Then he dismissed me by throwing his hand up in the air and walking away from me. I have never been disrespected like that before in my life. Asked for maid service the day before, maid came in left the towels on the table, made one bed and left. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven J, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Quest was explained to that Affordable Family Resort does not combine discounts and/or any other offer. They got a discount for staying x number of days. They also wanted Free passes, an offer we promote during the summer. One of the members in this suite was not happy that they could only get one or the other not both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Rooms are Clean and no it's not a 5 Star Resort,but the staff is Friendly and the best Price for 3 Queen Beds and a Kitchen in it and 2 Bathrooms.Plus they stock the place with silver ware and dishes and pots and pans for you to use and the House Keeping staff comes around every morning to see if you need anything and it has 1 Big Pool and 1 Huge Kids Play Pool and 2 Free Water Slides..and its only across the street from the beach.If you don't want to spend a huge amount on your room and have more money to spend on fun times..this is where you stay..Our Family will definately be staying here agian!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Affordable Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affordable Family Resort

Address: 2300 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Affordable Family Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything located on one city block between 23rd Ave South and 24th Ave South. Now even closer drive to Airport since the extension of Harrelson Blvd. Less than 2 miles from Myrtle Beach Internation Airport. Just accross street from ocean with serval condos we manage in the building in front of us. We check and inspect all complaints. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Affordable Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Family Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affordable Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.