We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NASTY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Save Saved
You added Jonathan Harbour to your Saves list
Jonathan Harbour
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jonathan Harbour
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2611 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NASTY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The pictures online must be from when it just opened. The site is VERY MISSLEADING! The carpets were stained, the bedding was GROSS and it SMELLED. The smell made me sick just standing in the room. Will NEVER go back to Jonsthan Harbour. They made me pay a nights fee which I do NOT think was right since it was FALSE ADVERTISEMENT. WILL FIGHT THAT! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    21
    16
    55
See reviews for
64
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We checked in on July 3 and originally was scheduled to check out on July 6 but the hotel was so nice we decided to stay an additional day so we stayed until July 7,2013. Janice at the front desk was so pleasant she answered any and all questions and even recommended things to do. She was very nice and kind throughout our entire stay. Anthony was sweet as well. You can tell they really care for the people that stay at there hotel. The room was very nice and clean. It was so much more than I had expected. It was clean and well decorated. I loved it and my children loved it. This will be the hotel I stay at on every visit to Myrtle beach. Retina S.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor ocean view a great view and it was over looking the pool which allowed me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We rented a sideview suite and was disappointed as soon as we opened door. Needs upgraded furniture and televisions. Rooms needs basic amenities such as safe, iron/board and blow dryer. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. 4 positives...the location is great, the shower pressure and temp are excellent, the air conditioner is wonderful and the ice machine are awesome. The pool is too small buy serves its purpose. If all else fails this is a place to come if you want cheap and you aren't used to nice surrounds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Dirty sheet and towels kept under stair case. Abandoned building next door...what an excellent view.
Both hot tubs roped off with caution tape. The only soda machine in the building was out of order.
Check out was at 11:00, we were out about 11:30 after being yelled at by cleaning lady and a phone call by the front desk.
Laundry per load $2.50.
Smelly trash right next to our room.
When anyone would flush their toilet you smell it like rotten eggs.
Leak from upstairs dripped on my wife in the middle of the night.
We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. Room was Ocean front efficiency with Awesome view. The sheets was clean, air condition cold, water hot. Over all Average with needs of updating furniture. Pool was dirty, 1 hot tub broken and the other needed drained and refilled.
Door had molding missing at bottom causing whistle sound when the wind blew. Reported to manager 1st night who did not have repaired.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We got an OF room for $95 on a Saturday night! Awesome rate! Our room was clean and spacious. My bed was super comfy and clean as well. Parking across the street but that was no big deal. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have stayed at JH many times over the years...It is becoming a bit worn. Our room was 313. It had been updated some, but the carpet was most likely the same carpet that was there 20 years ago. I would not have been comfortable with a toddler being on it. I did not see any bugs or mold. There was a chair on the balcony that was broken and dangerous. The building next door is under renovations so it was a bit noisy. JH pools are very small and only 3 to 5 feet deep so it does not offer much to teenagers. Parking is across the street, but did not seem dangerous. The lot next door is public access to the beach and I saw several people come from the lot into the JH pool. You must take something to block the light and have privacy on the bedroom window. There is a light at every window and no curtain to block the light, only a cheap blind that can be seen through when people walk by. The advantage is, this is not just a hotel room it is a bedroom, a sitting room and a separate area for the kitchen. It is quite on the south end of town, and not much of a crowd. We did not allow housekeeping into the room while we were there. Upon arrival, there was hair on the headboard and in the batting of the comforter. We continue to stay here because of the space in the rooms and the fact it is only 5 floors so you don't have to worry about being ocean front in a tower with only a view of the ocean and no view of the beach. Will we stay here again? Yes. My only real concern was the carpet since I carry my own covers and cleaning supplies anyway, no matter where we stay. One more thing...the beds are hard as rocks, but I always carry a mattress foam with me too.

Room Tip: 313 was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jonathan Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Harbour

Address: 2611 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jonathan Harbour 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Jonathan Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan Harbour Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.