We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst vacation ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Jonathan Harbour
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jonathan Harbour to your Saves list
Jonathan Harbour
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2611 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worst vacation ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

the room was disgusting. the tile floors were all sandy like no one had ever swept. there were hair balls in the bath tub, the kitchen was moldy, the pull out bed had springs coming out of it. i thought i was going to die it was so bad. something accidentally got spilt in the bed so we took off the sheets and we found multiple red splotches on the mattress and splatter marks down the side of the bed and on the floor next to it. either someone spilt chili there or someone was brutally murdered on the bed in my hotel room.

Room Tip: run away quickly you might be the victim of fowl play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beatrixlestrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
alma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a last minute decision to not camp out, my son looked this place up online and we checked in.

My son is 14 and loved the fact that our room was more like a very small apartment and he had his own room.

This wouldn't be up to my standards but since my son loved it, I was happy to be there with him.

The rooms are OLD. Very outdated. The bathroom wasn't as clean as it could've been and the towels were rough, small, and worn.

The elevators were also old and nasty. I felt like the elevator wasn't safe from breaking down. The price was low though and so you can't really expect much. Also, we don't spend much time in the room anyway, so it's ok.

The beach was nice but to get a drink you had to walk next door to where there was an outdoor bar. Although the beach was nice, it wasn't a pleasant view walking to it. We'd have to walk through the pool room to get outside and it wasn't a nice area. The pool was very small and dirty also....

If you are looking for a place with a kitchenette at a reasonable price, this might work for you. Just do not expect much because it looks and feels low end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirosebud54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great time at Jonathan Harbour in Myrtle Beach. The building is old and some of the rooms are aging. Our suite was clean and very comfortable. It has 2 large flat screen tvs, stove, fridge, sink, microwave, and a dinning area in the far room. The pool and hot tubs were kept clean and everything functioned properly. Best of all, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The price was excellent as was the maid services. Since it was on the south side, it was quiet and there was no issue with parking. The beach behind it was nice and more open. We would love to go there again. There are newer hotels but age does not matter when it is clean and friendly. I would say the worst thing we encountered was a dripping bathtub faucet. Thank you for the great stay at Jonathan Harbour!

Room Tip: Room 207 was clean, comfy, and all furnishings were good. Had 2 large flat screens too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It was a horrible smelly room. We bought febreeze. The people were nice but we couldn't relax in the room bc it stunk the whole time. There were hardly any towels and the pool is small and the area around it is tiny

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aqualee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is the ABSOLUTE WORST hotel in all of Myrtle Beach, The place is nasty, it smells dingy. Also is located directly NEXT to a boarded up fenced off ABANDONED hotel. The ceilings were leaking, after the Air Conditioning unit was leaking water all over the floor upon arrival to the room. had to wait 1 hour for the hotel manager to "wake up" when attempting to get another room

Coffee Maker... Of course no coffee.. Horrible experience

In closing I believe this place should be condemned like its sister motel left of the main entrance

Room Tip: Don't bother... Go somewhere else.. Run away quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lancaster T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

After reading reviews I didnt know what to expect, while the rooms were older they were clean and everything worked as it should. The man at the front desk was great and I was able to check in at noon. If your looking for a 5 star resort pay more but if you just want a room on the beach with a kitchen this is a great choice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildcatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I advise anyone planning to stay here to reconsider quickly this is the worst hotel ever...I dont think there is even enough room HERE to give you all the faults within this DUMP..to begin off with my stay here was on July 27th 2012 and I have never been so humiliated in my life.I booked this for my church group and none of us slept the entire night we were so disqusted frightened. The beds were dirty, the rags, washclothes and linen were filthy brown luckily we brought our own the elevator buttons were missing we had to take the stairs the mildew and spoiled clothes smell hit you before you even get to the office and your room some guest had bugs in their bed.. basically these are the most unclean and unsanitized rooms I have ever seen or been to the carpet looks and smells as if all the dogs have urinated and made fecies everywhere The pictures of this hotel are misleading bet yetter false advertisment this hotel should be shut down by the board of health the staff Glen and John are very rude, obnoxious,and inconsiderate they do not want to hear your complaints and could care less because they already taken your money and could care less about how you feel they will make you prepay (DON'T DO THIS) so you have no choice but to stay or lose your money whatever you do please be aware and look at your contract if you decide to stay in this dump they will put on your contract more days and nights than you requested and than charge you more money when you get there do not stay here or give them any money in advance because if you do than expect FILTHINESS..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CONCERNED C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#93 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#103 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#111 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regency Towers
Regency Towers
#12 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
#58 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#98 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonathan Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Harbour

Address: 2611 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jonathan Harbour 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Jonathan Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan Harbour Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing